We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Converted 1920's convent with original features”
Review of Te Anau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Te Anau Lodge
Ranked #3 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
156 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Converted 1920's convent with original features”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Situated on the edge of town in extensive grounds, this is a quirky convent conversion with many of the original features from the 1930's. My personal taste is for something more modern.
The hosts were helpful and very obliging. The Lodge is nearly always full as it is on a recommended French itinery.
It is very well located for Doubtful and Milford Sounds. A car is needed for convenient access.
There is a chapel in the grounds for use as a wedding venue. The lounge has a good stock of books.
Breakfast was a bit of a shambles due to the number of guests and the lack of table clearing

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    50
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
253
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

I stayed at Te Anau lodge for 3 nights to be able to easily get to Milford and Doubtful sound trips. George and Margaret were wonderful hosts and very helpful. The location of the lodge gives a great view from the upstairs guest lounge where I spent my afternoons enjoying tea and cake. The breakfasts were wonderful and my early morning schedules were accommodated.

I have to rate this property less than 5 stars for the size and location of the room I had. The room I had backed up to the reception area and was right off the kitchen which meant lots of noise and activity. The reception phone started ringing early (6:30-7:00) and the kitchen activity started about the same time. This room is sold as a double but I am not sure where a second person could put their cases and not trip on the way to the bathroom. This was the most expensive place that I stayed but also had the smallest and noisiest room. If you really want to stay here I would recommend spending the money on an upstairs room to get away from all the activity.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hallowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

This is without a doubt one of the best B& B in NZ. We visited North and South Island in a 3 week holiday. Te Anua lodge had pretty much everything. Great hosts (Margaret & George). Good bedrooms. Fantastic breakfast. A lovely sitting room with tea and cakes and wine. There was even a place to practice golf in the garden. Superb!
I forgot to mention the views which were spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willyboy783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Margaret and George are fantastic hosts. The Lodge is a relocated Convent, a very interesting story is told regarding the move . The dining room was the chapel in it's previous life and is a beautiful calm, relaxing spot to have breakfast. George makes great scrambled eggs!!

The Lodge is a great place to stay, it is not too far to the town centre of Te Anau where there are some very reasonable restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Very comfortable bed too!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We have just returned from New Zealand & had a fantastic stay in Te Anau at Te Anau Lodge. We stayed in the cathedral room & the accomodation was lovely & very clean with fantastic views from our huge bedroom windows. I could not rate this place highly enough & we absolutely adored our hosts George & Margaret. What fantastic people !!! they really made us feel welcome & were a pleasure to talk to & what a great breakfast George makes , we felt extremely looked after. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerrieandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

An exquisite and charming lodge full of character and comfort. My friend and I were spoiled from the moment we arrived. George and Margaret are fantastic hosts, extremely welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfast in the chapel was delightful with George adding a musical touch on the piano and organ. George was a mine of information about the history of the lodge and the many options available to visitors in Te Anau. Margaret 's home baking was a treat. The rooms were extremely well appointed and individually decorated. All round a marvellous stay for Jenny and Di.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at „Te Anau Lodge” in January 2009.

Location:
The Lodge is located in Te Anau on a large private ground near the lake shore. It took us about 1.5 hours one way to drive to Milford Sound.

Lodge & Rooms:
The lodge is an old convent and was transferred to Te Anau from another part of New Zealand. We stayed in the Luxmore Room on the ground floor, with a large window towards the lake and grounds. Everything was very clean & tastefully decorated. The house’s and rooms’ furniture is mostly antique which gives the whole place a special, very lovely ambience. Breakfast is served in the old chapel, which is part of the building, and is excellent. We wanted to leave early for our daytrip to Milford Sound and the hosts offered any time for breakfast that would fit our needs –just perfect.

We can highly recommend staying here and would definitely choose this place again for a stay in the Fiordland region.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lodge

Property: Te Anau Lodge
Address: 52 Howden Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Anau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the genuine warmth of traditional hospitality in the relaxed and tranquil environment of our 1936 relocated former convent, in one of New Zealand's most scenic locations- stunning Fiordland.We proudly promote our 9 rooms as being a mix of historic charm, combined with modern convenience, luxury and comfort. Based on 7 acres, yet only 15 minutes walking time to Te Anau town centre you`ll enjoy our secluded location, and appreciate all activities in town with ease. Take time to enjoy the little additions we`ve provided to make your stay memorable. Enjoy a game of giant garden chess, listen to the water fountain in our pond while reading a book on our 2 person swing seat, soak up the sunshine in our private gazebo, curl up next to the fireplace in the Lounge Library, and enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the estate.Above all else you`ll find the level of interaction with your host, and the friendly staff, one of the most memorable aspects of staying in a Lodge this size.A unique accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Te Anau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Hotel Te Anau
Te Anau Lodge Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing