We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite!”
Review of Te Anau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Te Anau Lodge
Ranked #3 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Favourite!”
Reviewed June 30, 2008

On our 4 week trip through New Zealand Te Anau Lodge was our favourite place we stayed by far.
It is a beautiful old building (it used to be a convent) with lovely rooms and furnishings. There is a great library/sitting room with a fantastic collection of books and coffee and cake.
The library had stunning views of the lake and mountains.
The food was delicious - breakfast is held in the old chapel. We loved the still-hot blueberry muffins.
As other reviewers have noted though, it is the hosts who really made our stay special. Matt and Chloe are really kind and generous people and their lodge is very homely and full of warmth.
We thought that it was great value for money and will definately return on our next New Zealand trip.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_Greys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    50
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
253
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
337 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

This was definitely the best place we stayed during our 5 weeks in New Zealand. OK it is not cheap, but it is good value and is a house with lots of history and atmosphere. As we were the only guests Matt and Chloe made sure that we didn't feel lonely! The breakfast was incredibly fresh and good, lots of fruit and home baking. We loved our huge luxury room with 2 bathrooms (a free upgrade) and fabulously comfy bed. It was worth the effort to get out and see Doubtful Sound by kayak, and (on another day) to climb Mt Luxmore. Unfortunately we had booked ahead and couldn't extend our stay.

  • Liked — spacious rooms
  • Disliked — 20 minute walk to restaurants
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimbledon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Te Anau Lodge was a real surprise find for us. We hadn't booked accommodation in Te Anau and found the Lodge in a guidebook and turned up quite late in the evening unannounced.
Matt and Chloe welcomed us in as though they had been expecting us and gave us a beautiful room on the top floor with a spa bath and an enormous bed!
It is a beautiful old building full of native New Zealand wood and lovely furniture.They have a wonderful library full of great books which is also the main guest lounge where we spent much of our time taking advantage of some very yummy baking.
As another traveller wrote, Matt and Chloe are really lovely people and they really bent over backwards to look after us. My wife mentioned that she loved banana cake and the next day Chloe had baked a fresh banana cake for her. There were lots of small personal touches like that which made us feel very comfortable and at home.
The breakfast was fantastic- fresh fruit salad, and yoghurts and baked breads, and Matt cooked a super breakfast that was one of the best we had on our holiday.
We really felt that we had stumbled upon a magical place and ended up changing our plans so that we could stay there longer.
Although it cost a bit more than some of the places we stayed it was definately worth every cent.

  • Liked — The lovely atmosphere and great food.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgefcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

On a 2 week trip around NZ this was the most expensive accommodation we booked (including 4 star hotels) but reading the rave reviews we thought it may be worth it. However, we found it a tad disappointing. The lounge and dining room are nicely presented, as others have noted. Matt was amiable and obliging enough, although Chloe never appeared in spite of Matt dropping her name a few times.

We had a room with a good view and a spa. However, the "vintage" furnishings which another reviewer praised, we found to be just old second hand furniture which needs to be thrown out. We had an old, uncomfortable, unravelling cane lounge and foot stool which was broken and unusable, so we sat on the bed. There was no cupboard or wardrobe and besides the small bedside tables, minimal flat surfaces on which you could put anything (we lived out of our suitcase). A few hooks and shelves would not have gone astray. A large pot plant which we moved onto the floor, sat on the only other small, flat surface available. 2 small mirrors in the room were inaccessible because they were behind the cane lounge and chair. There was nowhere to put toiletries in the bathroom. The white towels have a grey tinge to them which is unattractive. If you don't mind these sorts of things then this lodge would be fine, but at the price, we expected a better standard.

  • Liked — It was warm.
  • Disliked — Poor standard of furnishings.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank loxmif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattd1975, Managers at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2008
Good Morning
firstly... we must say we are really sorry that you have had a negative experience at our Lodge.
We work extremely hard in a an attempt to ensure that all of our guests have a good time here and get to share in what we think is a pretty special place and it is extremely disappointing to know that somebody has left our Lodge feeling so dissatisfied with their stay here.
We have taken your criticisms into consideration and hopefully will be able to make a few improvements based upon what you have said.
Unfortunately Te Anau Lodge will never be everybody’s ‘cup of tea’ and whilst we feel that the majority of guests here do leave with good memories there will always be occasions when our guests do not share in our enthusiasm for the furnishings and decorations that we choose. We have tried to stay true to the period of the Lodge and sometimes ‘antique’ can be perceived as ‘old and worn’.
Whilst we do attempt to both personally meet and send time with all of our guests there are times when our paths simply do not cross. We also try to give our guests space to enjoy the Lodge and unwind without constantly being harassed and interrupted by ourselves. In our own experience there is nothing worse than an overbearing and disturbing B&B host. Unfortunately in this case this seems to have been perceived as neglect.
Once again we wish to sincerely apologise for what was obviously an unfavorable experience. As we mentioned we place huge importance upon the satisfaction and enjoyment of all of our guests and we are really sorry that this was not the case with yourselves.
Warm regards
Matt and Chloe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

There is very little one can say about Te Anau Lodge that hasn't been said before. We were in New Zealand for a month and it was definitely our best B & B. Nothing is too much trouble for Matt & Chloe. They are excellent hosts and have a knack of making you feel special. I have attached some photographs but they don't really do it justice. As an aside don't miss out on Doubtful Sound. It's a bit of a journey to get there but well worth it.

  • Liked — The hospitality of matt & Chloe & loacation for Fjords
  • Disliked — Distance from town ( just too far to walk)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CrowboroughArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2008

This is a great place to stay. I don't know whose idea it was to move the entire convent 100 kms (dismantled into only 4 pieces), and convert it to a B+B but it is charmingly and eccentrically successful. Its physically very beautiful, the location is great, but best of all, the service is lovely. Attentive without being intrusive, and with a lot of attention to detail. The library is fabulous- a really interesting collection of books, and with tea, coffee, wine and beer available at all times (I missed this in other places afterwards....). The rooms are super comfortable, and the food excellent.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcjlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed at Te Anau Lodge for two nights. Owners were SO WONDERFUL. This is the perfect launching spot for treking on Milford Track and traveling to Milford Sound (we overnighted in Milford Sound and then traveled to Te Anau). The owners were just the most wonderful and helpful people. The accomodations were BEAUTIFUL, and we arrived to find that we had been upgraded to a room with spa bath for no charge simply because their nicest rooms had not been booked for those two nights. We also arrived to find wine, beer and munchies in the common room! The breakfast was OUTSTANDING - best we had in NZ. Matt makes what you like for hot breakfast and the buffet was fabulous (fresh baked muffing, english muffins, granola, fresh fruit, etc.!) They helped with restaurant recommendations, and our guide for our Milford Track hike picked us up right at the Lodge! Seriously - this place is worth it.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BethC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lodge

Property: Te Anau Lodge
Address: 52 Howden Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Anau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the genuine warmth of traditional hospitality in the relaxed and tranquil environment of our 1936 relocated former convent, in one of New Zealand's most scenic locations- stunning Fiordland.We proudly promote our 9 rooms as being a mix of historic charm, combined with modern convenience, luxury and comfort. Based on 7 acres, yet only 15 minutes walking time to Te Anau town centre you`ll enjoy our secluded location, and appreciate all activities in town with ease. Take time to enjoy the little additions we`ve provided to make your stay memorable. Enjoy a game of giant garden chess, listen to the water fountain in our pond while reading a book on our 2 person swing seat, soak up the sunshine in our private gazebo, curl up next to the fireplace in the Lounge Library, and enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the estate.Above all else you`ll find the level of interaction with your host, and the friendly staff, one of the most memorable aspects of staying in a Lodge this size.A unique accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Te Anau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Hotel Te Anau
Te Anau Lodge Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing