We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place”
Review of Te Anau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Te Anau Lodge
Ranked #3 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing place”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for three nights in January. George's welcome and attentiveness throughout our stay was incredible. The house was beautifully furnished, comfortable and an oasis of peace. The breakfasts excellent, the muffins were to die for and the bedrooms very comfortable. If you want a base for Milford or Doubtful Sounds then this is the place to stay - you will not want to leave

Room Tip: We stayed in Mother Superior's room which was on the ground floor and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chasdi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    50
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
254
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The house is an old convent which makes this B&B a special place to stay.
The views are excellent an we enjoyed the hospitality of George.
Breakfast is nice with fresh delicious muffins baked every morning.
Free wi-fi.
Excellent location for a trip to the Milford Sound.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeta2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This converted convent has charm and beauty galore. Beautiful wood throughout, wonderful beds, great breakfasts and a reasonable walk to town if you don't want to drive. George is a warm, friendly host who made every effort to make our stay comfortable and homey. Rooms vary in size. We had the luxury of staying in one of the larger rooms that had both jacuzzi and a shower as well as a sitting area overlooking the lovely grounds and lake in the distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTMGJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

George makes you very welcome and is a very caring host and is well supported by Ben the chocolate Labrador who is everybodies friend. The lodge has a lovely guest lounge which serves complimentary wine/ beer/ tea/coffee and cakes. Breakfast is also excellent with George's speciality muffins always available. The rooms are perhaps a little small although well furnished and the bed was very comfortable. A possible concern if you are a light sleeper is noise transmission between rooms. The location of the lodge in Te Anua is perfect as a base for those who wish to visit either Milford or Doubtful Sound.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the first floor and not next to the guest lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevvynuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at Te Anau Lodge for three nights in January and received the best welcome and hospitality that we experienced during our three and a half week trip in New Zealand. From the moment we turned up (early!) to the time we left George and his team went out of their way to ensure that our stay was memorable. The building is unique and the individually cooked breakfasts were great. To wake up and smell muffins cooking was something I could get used to............ The peace, quiet and tranquility here at Te Anau was unsurpassable. The communal breakfasts and lounge with balcony overlooking the lake meant there were plenty of opportunities to swop stories/experiences with other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
homeless
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are looking for a great place to stay in Te Anau, this is it. George is a gracious host and very knowledgeable about the area. The rooms in this restored convent are great, but don't expect it to be the largest room you've ever stayed in, after all, it's a convent. The Red Cliff restaurant in town is also A+. We will be back!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

On our 4 week trip through NZ north and south islands we were lucky to find this place. Thank you, George, for this extraordinary stay in your beautiful house, thank you for the friendly welcome, for helpful advice to plan some special excursions in your region, for the fine breakfast table, for a well working WiFi, for playing the organ and for all the interesting conversations. We will surely be back at this lovely place, whenever we will be in NZ again. Droli & Andi Baumgartner from Switzerland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Droli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.8 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
1.0 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lodge

Property: Te Anau Lodge
Address: 52 Howden Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Anau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the genuine warmth of traditional hospitality in the relaxed and tranquil environment of our 1936 relocated former convent, in one of New Zealand's most scenic locations- stunning Fiordland.We proudly promote our 9 rooms as being a mix of historic charm, combined with modern convenience, luxury and comfort. Based on 7 acres, yet only 15 minutes walking time to Te Anau town centre you`ll enjoy our secluded location, and appreciate all activities in town with ease. Take time to enjoy the little additions we`ve provided to make your stay memorable. Enjoy a game of giant garden chess, listen to the water fountain in our pond while reading a book on our 2 person swing seat, soak up the sunshine in our private gazebo, curl up next to the fireplace in the Lounge Library, and enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the estate.Above all else you`ll find the level of interaction with your host, and the friendly staff, one of the most memorable aspects of staying in a Lodge this size.A unique accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Anau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Hotel Te Anau
Te Anau Lodge Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing