We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a religious experience”
Review of Te Anau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Te Anau Lodge
Ranked #3 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

George, our host's, warm smile welcomed us to this beautifully restored convent laden with beautiful woodwork. He went the extra mile when he played the organ and piano in the dining room. He was attentive to our plans to drive to Milford Sound and provided warnings of road closures during the unusually rainy early summer. His naturally hospitable nature underscored this most satisfying stay. We would stay here again if ever we return to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Te Anau Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 350 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a great place to stay this is. Small but beautiful. The hospitality is unmatched. The lodge is actually an old but modern abbey, breakfast is in the former chappel. The masterpiece is however the upstairs lobby with everything you need for an evening of relaxation with comfortable lounge chairs, coffee, beer or wine and the best muffins you could imagine. George is a great host who will leave you alone if you need it, but furthermore gives great tips on how to spend a good time in the area.

The rooms are small, very small. This will invite you to go to the lounge, which is a good thing. But when struggling with your suitcase, it is the only reason why I withheld a 5 star score. Otherwise it would be a 5-star, really!

Room Tip: upstairs rooms seem to be larger
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveledtoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband & I stayed with George 2 nights & had a fabulous experience. George is a wonderful host, very efficient & employs some lovely folks, including Ben of course (George's chocolate lab)! George pays attention to everyone's day activities, as well as evenings, including many suggestions/ideas & of course assistance getting it booked! The breakfast George & his staff served was very yummy, not to mention the great coffee. The extra touch with late afternoon/evening tea, beer, wine & desserts really added to the B&B experience....It also brought many of the guests together, sharing & exchanging their experiences on this trip!

I highly recommend Te Anau Lodge to travelers heading to Milford sound or Doubtful sound. I also highly recommend the drive to the Milford boat cruising site. The drive itself is well worth the 70-80 minute 1 way trip. In addition, there are some hiking opportunities, as well as numerous picture opportunities along the way!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femaletravelpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the lodge for two nights and had a wonderful time. George is a lovely host and works hard to make guest feel at home. Guests wandered into the upstairs living room for complimentary wine, beer and sweets and there were plenty of puzzles, books and dvds to keep one company. Our room was small, but clean. The downside to our stay was that every single step or conversation was amplified in the house because there is no noise insulation. Our second night we went to bed early and tried hard not to listen to a conversation upstairs in the living room that continued til well after midnight.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bickles27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Having had the lovely experience of staying at The Te Anau Lodge, I found that George's hospitality was amazing. He was very friendly to everyone that stayed and go's out of his way to make guests feel welcome and at home, and a very yummy breakfast and home made fresh baking. YUM!

Room Tip: My favorite room was the Kepler, sunny with a great view!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This lodge was a convent that was cut in quarters and moved to its current location The decor is all related to its origins as well as instruments because George (the owner/proprietor) plays multiple instruments and old instruments decorate both the inside and outside of the property (an "abandoned" piano sits outside the main building). George is wonderfully warm and friendly and makes you feel very welcome. He has vintage cars that he allows guests to borrow for trips into town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andycski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Don't miss this immaculate B&B. We had a great stay at the end of 45 days in NZ and George and Vani made us so welcome. Reconstructed convent with upstairs lounge with afternoon tea & homemade cakes on hand to chill out after a trip out or walk. We were in the Belfry room overlooking manicured gardens, the lake and mountains. More than generous breakfast spread each morning. Thank you George for all the home comforts. Brian & Carol

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, we would use any of them.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agony66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
500 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lodge

Address: 52 Howden Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: $155 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Anau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the genuine warmth of traditional hospitality in the relaxed and tranquil environment of our 1936 relocated former convent, in one of New Zealand's most scenic locations- stunning Fiordland.We proudly promote our 9 rooms as being a mix of historic charm, combined with modern convenience, luxury and comfort. Based on 7 acres, yet only 15 minutes walking time to Te Anau town centre you`ll enjoy our secluded location, and appreciate all activities in town with ease. Take time to enjoy the little additions we`ve provided to make your stay memorable. Enjoy a game of giant garden chess, listen to the water fountain in our pond while reading a book on our 2 person swing seat, soak up the sunshine in our private gazebo, curl up next to the fireplace in the Lounge Library, and enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the estate.Above all else you`ll find the level of interaction with your host, and the friendly staff, one of the most memorable aspects of staying in a Lodge this size.A unique accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Te Anau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Hotel Te Anau
Te Anau Lodge Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing