We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charmingly eccentric, great service”
Review of Te Anau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Te Anau Lodge
Ranked #3 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“charmingly eccentric, great service”
Reviewed February 13, 2008

This is a great place to stay. I don't know whose idea it was to move the entire convent 100 kms (dismantled into only 4 pieces), and convert it to a B+B but it is charmingly and eccentrically successful. Its physically very beautiful, the location is great, but best of all, the service is lovely. Attentive without being intrusive, and with a lot of attention to detail. The library is fabulous- a really interesting collection of books, and with tea, coffee, wine and beer available at all times (I missed this in other places afterwards....). The rooms are super comfortable, and the food excellent.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcjlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    50
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
255
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed at Te Anau Lodge for two nights. Owners were SO WONDERFUL. This is the perfect launching spot for treking on Milford Track and traveling to Milford Sound (we overnighted in Milford Sound and then traveled to Te Anau). The owners were just the most wonderful and helpful people. The accomodations were BEAUTIFUL, and we arrived to find that we had been upgraded to a room with spa bath for no charge simply because their nicest rooms had not been booked for those two nights. We also arrived to find wine, beer and munchies in the common room! The breakfast was OUTSTANDING - best we had in NZ. Matt makes what you like for hot breakfast and the buffet was fabulous (fresh baked muffing, english muffins, granola, fresh fruit, etc.!) They helped with restaurant recommendations, and our guide for our Milford Track hike picked us up right at the Lodge! Seriously - this place is worth it.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BethC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

Matt & Chloe were extremely friendly and helpful without impinging on our privacy. Breakfast was superb, room extremely comfortable with great views. I especially loved the lounge with open fire, library, internet access and complementary drinks and snacks. I appreciated having an all-in price for the stay without lots of extras appearing on the bill at the end.
House seems modern from the outside, but inside has (old) wood panelling and beautiful wooden furniture.
Red Cliffs was indeed a very nice restaurant in Te Anau. I would also recommend a boat trip on Te Anau lake with Peter Kirker. (recommended by Matt & Chloe)

  • Liked — Friendly hosts
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TLH_52_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

This is a really neat place to stay. Te Anau doesn't have many "nice" lodging options so we found Te Anau Lodge to be a great find. We stayed in the Cathedral room and the other 2 in our party were in the room across from us and both had fantastic views of the lake/mountains and wonderful 2 person whirlpool baths. The rooms are very warm and inviting with vintage furniture that compliments the feel of this converted former convent. The common room on the second floor is wonderful with tons of books on New Zealand history and comfy couches and chairs surrounding a great fireplace. Yummy cakes, tea, wine, pop, and coffee (all complimentary) were waiting for us in the afternoon/evening. Breakfast was a feast! The chocolate banana muffins were to die for, and Matt was kind enough to let us take the left over muffins with us because we enjoyed them so much. Matt was also nice enough to let us leave our car at the property while we went on an overnight cruise in Doubtful Sound. He even invited us in for tea and coffee when we returned to get our car the following day. We could not have felt more at home or welcomed, Matt and Chloe were beyond accomodating. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in Te Anau.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicagotraveler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

Te Anau Lodge is a fastic stop. This is a great place to stop for a night or two and on the way to or on the way back from the Milford Sound. The B&B has a great view of the lake and a nice lounge to check your e-mail and relax. Matt and Chloe are fastastic hosts. The breakfast is great....mmmmm homemade chocolate/banana muffins. Te Anau Lodge is definitely a must stay. Also, try Red Cliffs for a nice dinner in town.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Baltimoooooron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

This is the most lovely building to stay in and the hosts, Matt and Chloe are the best. Lounge is upstairs and has fantastic views of the lake. Room was good plus Matt and Chloe did a barbie for guests which is well worth going to. Breakfasts were great and they work really hard.

  • Liked — Character of building and friendliness of hosts
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
376 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
1.0 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lodge

Property: Te Anau Lodge
Address: 52 Howden Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Anau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the genuine warmth of traditional hospitality in the relaxed and tranquil environment of our 1936 relocated former convent, in one of New Zealand's most scenic locations- stunning Fiordland.We proudly promote our 9 rooms as being a mix of historic charm, combined with modern convenience, luxury and comfort. Based on 7 acres, yet only 15 minutes walking time to Te Anau town centre you`ll enjoy our secluded location, and appreciate all activities in town with ease. Take time to enjoy the little additions we`ve provided to make your stay memorable. Enjoy a game of giant garden chess, listen to the water fountain in our pond while reading a book on our 2 person swing seat, soak up the sunshine in our private gazebo, curl up next to the fireplace in the Lounge Library, and enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the estate.Above all else you`ll find the level of interaction with your host, and the friendly staff, one of the most memorable aspects of staying in a Lodge this size.A unique accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Anau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Hotel Te Anau
Te Anau Lodge Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing