We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radfords on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2007

Booked Radfords at the iSite in Queenstown, and I must say it was one of the nicest places we stayed in NZ. We were there for three nights while doing the Glow Worm Caves, Milford and Doubtful. I think it is definitely worth the trip from Queenstown - and a very easy and pretty 2 hour drive - rather than doing day trips from Queenstown.
We stayed in a luxurious and very spacious 2 bedroom apartment, with extremely comfortable beds and TVs in both bedrooms. The bathroom was lovely and clean with a great shower.
The manger Irene was a sweetheart and turned on the heating for us so the unit was warm for when we got back from our trips. 2 Laundries on site so we could get all our washing done. A brilliant place where I would definitely stay again.
Te Anau is VERY VERY quiet in August - the town is definitely NOT buzzing, but we ended up at The Ranch every night, and had lovely meals every time. Bailiez also looked nice and had a delicious lunch, but it didn't seem open in the evenings. Do watch out for that - quite a few places close down for the winter. Very glad we did Doubtful Sound as well as Milford. We saw wild dolphins, seals and penguins and it was much more peaceful, although I wouldn't have missed the dramatic beauty of Milford either.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cath53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 625 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2007

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit for 2 nights at the end of June 2007 on our way to Queenstown. The unit was clean, modern and spacious with a proper living area and a kitchenette. It looks straight out to the lake and the scene is quite lovely. It was their low season so it was quiet as well. The staff there (especially Irene) was very friendly and most helpful. Booking our tours and giving us directions around town.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank captk2071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

Fabulous lakeviews,extremely spacious and clean rooms.
The motel manager,(Lynn,i think),was extremely helpful in looking up information and updating us on road conditions to Milford Sound.Booked our glow worm caves trip and boat cruise on Milford Sound for us.
Excellent hospitality and friendliness here.
This motel was a highlight on our South Island trip.Nowhere else did we find the rooms so spacious at this price, and hosts so friendly.
Definately highly recommend.Will be back

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank steasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2007

Stayed here overnight before heading to Milford Sound. The motel manager was very pleasant and helpful and was able to book a spot for us on the evening boatride to the local glowworm cave right when we checked in. We had a 1 bedroom suite with a nice kitchenette area, very clean and nice view of the lake. We travel with a toddler and there was a nice park, shopping and restaurants within 5 min walking distance. All in all a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank bihagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

Wonderful spacious well appointed studio room, with fantastic views of the lake. The owners/managers were helpful and patient - we managed to break the washing machine but he just kept smiling. We snuck away in disgrace.

Great place to stay in you're planning a coach trip to Milford Sound.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosies_mumLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

We had a very enjoyable stay for 2 nights at this motel in a lovely setting. All the rooms have a lakeview, typically at an angle. We were upstairs. The rooms are fairly basic, but large and with all the facilities you really need. The rooms have large glass areas making them very light and airy. The owners are very friendly and helpful and provided us with extra mugs for tea for our visitors without being asked. There is a good choice of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. The ferry terminal for the glow-worm caves is similarly only a few hundred yards away. The motel has a laundry room

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaiBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2007

just returned from a month in NZ and 3 nights in Te Anau. Stayed at Radfords and was very happy with the room. We had a large two bedroom on the first floor. It was very clean, modern, and we liked the location.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Malthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 22 in Te Anau
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radfords on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $196 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords On The Lake Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing