We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive for what it was”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radfords on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Arrived on spec and chose this motel for its location across the road from the lake, and only 10 minutes walk from the town centre. Very friendly and helpful reception, room was quite adequate, and we were directed to a couple of nice restaurants in the town - we chose Keplers. It was the most expensive motels on our 5 week tour of NZ by some NZ$30, and we didn't like the fact that if you are not outof your room by 10am, they charge you per quarter hour! We made sure we got out in time......Really this ought to be deleted as it leaves a bad taste and detracts from the overall experience.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 655 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2009

We stayed 2 nights here. The room were immaculate and comfortable. We were on the top deck and had a good view down onto the lake. Kerry on the front desk was very pleasant and helpful and advised where to have dinner each night. We used the laundry facilities here which were good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritintheOrient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We were quite disappointed with the place. Despite booking months in advance we were told on arrival that the only room left was unit number 1. Beware of unit number 1!

Firstly it does not really have a lake view. The only thing that you can see from the room is cars parked in front of your own window, and may be glimpses of the lake behind the cars.

Secondly the unit is one that is accessible. Therefore the bathroom only has a shower (and not a spa bath as they advertise on their sign). Also the floor is made of resin and we found that it smelt of hospital.

To be fair the place was spotless, and the fittings excellent. We slept well, but were hugely disappointed with the room itself.

Stayed: December 2008
3  Thank Jono_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

My second stay at the Radford, and will be back. Yes, the rooms have basic furnishing, but have never seen such cleanliness or better service. They apartments are very well stocked, excellent heating, good beds, lovely view and just a stroll along the waterfront into town. Kerri is on hand to book you in, to help with tour bookings etc. Our apartment had a double and single in each room, lovely for four women travelling together who do not wish to share a bed, but still wish to be together.
We tried the Italian restaurant on kerri's recommendation, had one of the best fish meals ever!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheddyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

The check in was great, the woman couldn't have been nicer. The room on the other hand was not consistently so. The entrance to our room was on the ground floor, and the entrance was literally patio sliding doors. The lighting and decor was so bleak and depressing, but clean nonetheless, with separate living/kitchen area from the bedroom. I think the whole apartment was handicap accessible, so the bathroom had the shower onto the floor thing with hospital style curtains. We also paid $10nz/pp to have breakfast left in the room, but it was just some slices of white bread, canned peaches, juice, and cereal without any milk, served on cafeteria trays. It's a basic bare bones place, not worth what we paid for.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank occasionaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Location: A short walk from the middle of the town, and as the name would suggest just across from Lake Te Anau.

Rooms: Par for the motel course. Quite basic with small TVs and a little kitchenette. Bathroom wasn't a bad size though. For the paranoid it might be worth noting that you might want to put valuables away or out of sight since we came back and found when the room was made up the curtains over the balcony doors (where you enter) were left open. However, New Zealand is very safe so I doubted whether to even mention this!

Service: The lady at the front desk/office was great! When we arrived it was raining and she asked if we wanted or needed any umbrellas during our stay, or for a walk into town. Offered to help us out with any bookings or excursions and gave handy restaurants recommendations.

Facilities: Wifi is available at a cost but we were at the end of the block facing the lake and could barely get a signal.

Summary: Quite a pleasant place, it isn't a luxury experience but then it doesn't try to be one. If you're looking for somewhere to be based whilst visiting Milford or Doubtful Sound then you'll do fine here.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OP2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in June '07 on our loop of the South Island. We enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Radfords Lakeview motel! The best part was the friendly reception and the owners were so welcoming and helpful. The rooms were absolutely spotless, with all offering a view of the Lake. Outside every room, there was a little table and chairs on the verandah - would be nice to sit out there on a nice summer evening! The rooms were well equipped with good heating, a small kitchen, TV, fridge. The bathroom was very clean and spacious. On the second night we splashed out on a spa room. Very nice! The beds were very comfortable and the towels were large and fluffy! I can't think of anything bad at all about this place, and would highly recommend it to anyone. If I were to go to Te Anau again I know where I am staying!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Perthkiwigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 22 in Te Anau
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radfords on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $165 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords On The Lake Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing