We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radfords on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This motel ticks all the boxes and more.My wife and I spend three nights in March 2014 while visiting Te Anau and immediately you can tell that Keerie and Steven paid attention to detail..The location is perfect,immediately across from the lake and walking distance to the town centre and popular restaurants.We were attracted to the curb appeal of this property.
Guests with mobility issues can enjoy accommodations with designating parking. This review would not be complete without acknowledging Keeri for her exceptional customer service skills.
She is knowledge and very helpful in assisting with your travel needs and offered great suggestions.I almost forgot the nice chocolate on the night table.Sweet!
Cecil
Calgary.Alberta

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Cecil & Arlene,

Thank you for your glowing review.
We are extremely lucky to be situated so close to the lake with just a short walk to the town centre. It was our pleasure to advise and book your activities and we are so pleased that your enjoyed your time with us and we hope that our paths will cross again in he future.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards
Kerri, Steve and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 640 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

A great place to stay in Te Anau, nicely located on the lake front, but still within walking distance of the town centre. Spacious room, with a good kitchenette, and a spa bath (which I never took the time to use, sadly). The living room has a table and a coffee table, which is handy. Guest laundry can be used. It's not cheap, but still worth it. Ask Kerri at Reception to book you on Fiordland Private Tour's Milford Coach Tour - I'm very grateful for her recommendation, which made for an amazing day!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schumi3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Schumi3006,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Radford's Lakeview Motel. We are delighted you found your unit to be comfortable and enjoyed your time spent here.
It was our pleasure to book you on a small bus trip to Milford with Ray it is really nice for the driver to have a day off and sit back and relax and take in the sights whilst enjoying an informative commentary along the way.

We hope the remainder of your travels have gone well.

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Excellent location on the lake front and a few minutes walk into town.
Happy, smiley, friendly, efficient reception. The studio room was very clean, a bit on the small side as there was no room inside for table and chairs, but there was a breakfast bar to perch at. The table was outside. Very comfy bed, good wi-fi, loads of TV channels, easy parking. Upstairs room preferable as you'll have a view of the lake rather than the car park.
A good base to see the region, especially the fabulous drive over to Milford Sound.
Easy walk around the lake to the bird sanctuary to see the ultra rare flightless Takahe.
Really good place to stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs for a decent view of the lake/.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stationmastershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear stationmastershouse,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Radford's.
We appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly service we love to share our local knowledge with our guests so they can make the most of their time here in Fiordland. Regarding the studio room they are a comfortable compact room, however if we had been advised on arrival that you would prefer a larger room we would have been more than happy to show you what we had available at the time should you have wished to upgrade. We do hope this hasn't clouded the time you spent here and hope that we are able to host you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Kerri and Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here around one month ago, for two nights. We loved it - possibly our favourite place to stay on our three week tour of NZ. After a night in a not-so-nice hotel in Te Anau around the corner, it was such a relief to stay here.

Firstly, the place itself - our room was amazing (as far as we could tell, all rooms are identical) - large living/kitchen area with a very comfy sofa - stylishly decorated too. Our bed was REALLY comfy, and the bedroom was spacious, as was the bathroom. We were tired after some long drives and activity packed days, so we made use of the DVD rental facility in the reception area (if there was one thing I would improve, I'd recommend you get more Lord of the Rings DVD's!). The person that booked in us as we arrived (blonde girl) was warm and welcoming.

Secondly, the location is great. You're right opposite the lake, with only a very quiet main road in the way (we noticed no road noise). Also close to town (5 minute walk to the main street), but very quiet for a good night's sleep.

Finally, I wanted to end the review with a thank you. I'm a massive Welsh rugby fan, and on the morning we left, Wales were playing France in an important 6 Nations match. In order to watch the match, we needed to arrange a late check out. The people running the place agreed without any fuss, on the condition that we stripped the beds and emptied the trash for them. Deal. Thank you so much.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobciral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear mobciral,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback.
We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed one of our newly refurbished units we are receiving wonderful comments from guests. Regarding the rugby game - this was absolutely our pleasure for you to have a late check out so you could finish watching this, we try and accommodate all requests where we can.

We enjoyed hosting you both and trust the remainder of your holiday went well.

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

You have to stay here. I mean it. Not kidding. Seriously. Just book it now or you will regret it. My husband and I went on a 3 week epic New Zealand trip for my 50th birthday. This was the highlight of our stay. Not only is the location spectacular but Kerri is second to none as a hostess. We stayed 5 nights, 2 in a groundfloor studio with spa and then upstairs in a one bedroom executive. Both were gorgeous and looked like something out of a decorating magazine. I wanted to move in permanently. The rooms are angled so that you have gorgeous views of the lake. Kerri booked three tours for us and all were fantastic. We saw Milford and Doubtful sounds as well as the Glow worm caves. The tour guides were all fantastic. The town is within walking distance of the motel. It is really cute also and worth a longer stay. We took several local hikes that Kerri recommended as well which were fabulous. Take some great raingear for the Sound trips though, mine gave up the ghost it rained so hard! Kerri was very patient and helpful with my frequent email questions and when we finally met in person I felt I was greeting a good friend. You'll love it here.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, one of the newly decorated/remodeled rooms, they are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear ToriM,

Wow thank you for your glowing review. We are so pleased we exceeded your expectations and were the highlight of your time spent in NZ! We are receiving fabulous feedback on our newly refurbished units and are delighted our guests like them as much as we do.

We would love the chance to host you lovely people should you visit Fiordland again.

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights & probably had the best room on the 1st floor facing the lake. Really well furnished in a modern and comfortable style. Staff very helpful & willing to book up restaurants and make useful suggestions so that we enjoyed our time.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TShYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear THSBYorks,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Radford's. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I agree that particular room is a favourite with guests being just a stones throw from the edge of the beautiful Lake Te Anau. We are more than happy to help with recommendations and thrilled that they met with your expectations.

We hope you are enjoying the remainder of your time here in New Zealand.

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Staying at the Radford was like staying in someone's guest house. Lots of extra touches - a little milk in the fridge, fresh flowers, a small makeup mirror in the bath, etc. The furniture was a step above most places and it was super clean! Kerrie's restaurant choices were perfect. And ... she even did my laundry!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Barbara G,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the little extras in your unit. We pride ourselves on maintaining all our units to a high standard for our guests comfort and enjoyment. We do hope you return another time to further explore the Fiordland area.

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#9 of 22 in Te Anau
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radfords on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $169 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords On The Lake Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing