We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radfords on the Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radfords on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Warm and really welcoming hostess.. Clean and cosy room with all the necessary amenities. Generous breakfast basket. Our room had a view of the beautiful garden overlooking the lake Very very central to town and cafe's etc. and great base for exploring the area. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntipodeanFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear AntipodeanFrankie,

We appreciate your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay here at Radford's. We are delighted that you had a fantastic time whilst visiting this special part of New Zealand and that you take away with you some fond memories.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    113
    25
    8
    0
See reviews for
126
332
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The managers here have really paid attention to detail when it comes to this hotel. We had a two bedroom apartment the beds were so comfortable we even woke up thinking we were at home. What hotel offers you a pillow menu? There was a chocolate by the bed each night and the whole unit was spotlessly clean, just can not fault. On arrival we were offered to push bikes to ride around the town which is a great way to see Te Anau. I could go on with positive comments so don't hesitate to book this accommodation.

Room Tip: Our room was on the bottom floor though I think any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgjholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Manager at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear kgholiday,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and recommending our complex to future guests.
We are so pleased that you had a great experience whilst staying here at Radford's and were able to enjoy the use of the bikes to take in the sights of Te Anau.

It was an absolute pleasure to host your lovely family. Safe travels and enjoy the rest of your time here in New Zealand.

Kind Regards,
Shelley Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

First i'd like to say thank you to the manager kerri for her brilliant hospitality, she was more then willing to get us on the best day trip to Milford Sound and made the whole experiencing of choosing our cruise and booking it for us whilst checking in, saved as plenty of time (and money).

However, the rooms were what i'd call basic and dated (two bedroom apartment) also nearly every room had a lock on the door except the bathroom, which became a problem.


I'd rate the service a 5, the rooms a 3. (out of 5)

Room Tip: The room we had didn't look like the websites images, makes sure you know exactly what room your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Jacob3388,

Thank you for taking the time to place your review. It was my pleasure to be able to help you with your Milford Sound booking. I would like to offer an explanation for you thinking the room was different to what you had booked, all of our two bedroom units are decorated the same however I am wondering if you seen photos of our studio units which are decorated differently on our website? however these photos are all under the correct categories on our website. If this is not what has happened would you please be kind enough to call me on free phone 0800 782 972 so we can rectify this issue so the same thing doesn't happen for any future guests. We really appreciate this feedback and we hope that the rest of your holiday has been wonderful.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was an amazing place to stay, we couldn't rate it more highly. The rooms were beautifully appointed with little touches that made the whole experience even better.The bed was super comfortable and the spa bath was huge. Breakfast was provided in the kitchen that was a welcomed surprise. Unfortunately the weather prevented us from seeing many of the sights with the Milford road closed but this didn't damper our experience because Kerri and her husband were the perfect hosts and we felt like it was a home away from home. Thank you so much to both of you and to your beautiful kitten for making it a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckerve_987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Ckerve_987,

Thank you for your kind words. We love hearing that our guests have had a fantastic experience whilst staying at Radford's. We do hope that you are able to visit again sometime in the future to experience the spectacular Milford Sound and to catch up with Dexter Dude the cat!! (who loved the attention he received whilst you were here).

You were both such a pleasure to host and we do hope the rest of your trip went well.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

By ordering the breakfast, our refrigerator and kitchenette were stocked with eggs, milk, juice, muesli, yogurt, and more. Best of all, in New Zealand, REAL COFFEE! For a plunger. (No artificial sweetener, so we had to nick it from restaurants.) The room was modern, clean, and tasteful. Our sliding-glass door offered a view of Lake Te Anau, so we took it.

Kerri, one of the proprietors, and her daughter was superbly friendly and helpful. Kerri even lent my wife a parka for our rain-drenched tour to Milford Sound, which she had booked for us. She was quick to respond to questions ("Are you sure you have a hair dryer?") by e-mail and she spent time advising us on places to see in town.

One morning, their friendly, fluffy, white cat was draped across the counter. If you're smart enough to stay in Te Anau for your Milford Sound trip, rather than making the slog from Queenstown (a pretty God-forsaken city anyway), there's no reason to stay anywhere else but Radfords.

Room Tip: Upstairs probably offers better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear RobinM,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Radford's. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and we were only to happy to share our local knowledge with you both. Great feedback about the artificial sweetener, we are always looking for ways of enhancing our guests experience.

We hope the rest of your holiday has gone well.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Absolutely amazing place to stay. The attention to detail that the staff go to is impeccable.
When we arrived it was absolutely freezing, only to find that the heater in our room had been on awaiting our arrival and was warm and toasty.
Simple, yet stylish touches make Radfords a great place to stay... Down to the chocies that are placed on the bedside table. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear LauraR,

Wow, thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Radford's we pride ourselves on delivering an excellent stay for our guests and it is so nice to hear that our guests appreciate these special touches.

We hope your holiday continued to be as great as your stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very welcoming and friendly service, Room was Stunning, clean, warm and inviting. We stayed two nights and wished we could have stayed longer but ..... the thunder and lightening the first night was enough to put anyone off. But this only added to Te Anau's beauty and ever changing vista. Thanks so much, we will be back again - from two satisfied Dunedin-ites

Room Tip: Definately would choose the bottom floor, they had double spa baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Marie T

Thank you for your great feedback for your recent stay, it it very encouraging to hear you had a great experience . It was unfortunate that you had to encounter the Thunder and lightening while you were here but as you mention Fiordland is known for it's extreme weather and this does add to the beauty and ever changing vists that we experience every day.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for staying with us.

Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radfords on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Property: Radfords on the Lake
Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Green Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords On The Lake Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing