We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant motel....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radfords on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We had an overnight stay in Te Anau for our family of 5 during the April school holidays and chose Radfords Lakeview Motel purely on Tripadvisor reviews.

Even though our stay at this motel was limited to a fairly late aftertoon arrival and very early departure I would have to say we unanimously agreed it was one of the better motels we stayed in on our two week trip.

The unit was a two bedroom upstairs arrangement that was clean, bright, modern and comfortable. Beds and shower were fine. The view out over the lake was great and the motel is just a short stroll from the centre of Te Anau and the jetty where boat and Glow Worm Cave tours depart.

The owners are very friendly and were most helpful in suggesting dining options when tired travellers arrive with little clue or inspiration.

Te Anau is a very pleasant and picturesque town. There was nothing to fault or dislike about the town or this motel and we would be happy to stay again. Highly recommended for families from our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austin-Powers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 625 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2008

Stayed at the Radfords Lakeview Motel for two nights 3 and 4 May 2008. I had stayed at this Motel in 2002 under different management and found it a marvellous experience. This time was no different and the manager, Kerry, was both very helpful and attentive to our needs. We booked a Glow worm tour ( highly recommended) through the motel ( no extra charge) immediately upon arrival and within 90 minutes were on our way to see them. We had also booked our Milford Sound trip the next day through the motel and this also worked to perfection. Take about two to three hours by car as the views to Milford Sound are truly breathtaking. Ask at the local garage though about road conditions ( in winter the carrying of chains is mandatory - wonder how many people do this though!) as the road is somewhat notorious for black ice and sudden snow etc. We had no trouble driving there although the car was covered in ice at 9.00 am and the temp. was minus1 C.
We went on Mitre Peak cruises and they are very , very good - only small numbers of people ( we had about 30 on our midday cruise) and they go out of the sound into the sea. We also were incredibly lucky and saw 2 pods of dolphins - really stunning - and the skipper stopped engines and we drifted very close along side them - really a highlight!
The motel rooms are spacious, exceptionally clean and well equipped for warmth ( electric blankets a real luxury). A well equipped kitchenette and good bathroom was also a bonus. The rooms still looked fresh and the views from the balcony ( try and get a first floor room) are really stunning across the lake. We really enjoyed our stay and felt it a highlight of our New Zealand trip. Thanks Kerry you have a really quality property and I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

My husband, 2 children (12 & 9 yrs.), & I stayed three nights at the wonderful Radfords Lakeview Motel from 22 - 25 March. Our spacious 2-bedroom ensuite family unit was spacious and had lovely views of the lake and mountains. The unit had a kitchen and included coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and a small container of milk. The motel also had laundry facilities.

The location was marvelous with only a 5-minute walk by the lake to the town center and only a 2-minute walk to the Real Journey's Centre where we booked our glowworm cave tour. You can also pick up Doubtful and Milford Sound excursions from this Centre.

We had a couple nice meals in Te Anau; one of them at Kepler's Restaurant. The service and food were both very good. I would NOT recommend the Redcliffe Cafe where the chef will NOT cook your meal to your likings/specifications, though he should at the prices they're charging.

We also saw the "Ata Whenua Shadowland" cinema feature about the greater Fiordland region and really enjoyed it. Overall, we loved Te Anau and the Radfords Lakeview Motel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KailuaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights at Radfords Lakeview Motel - with an inbetween night on Milford Sound. The staff was exceptionally friendly and accommodating for our "split stay" - including the free storage of our luggage during the night on Milford.

The motel and grounds were very attractive, the accommodations were very neat and clean, and the views over Lake Te Anau were stunning! The room also proved to be the biggest accomodation we came across amongst the 9 different places we stayed in NZ. We took advantage of the washer / dryer down the hall to catch up on laundry - machines were free of people and quick to use.

From the motel, you can easily walk the 5 minutes into the heart of the little town's shopping and restaurant district, plus Real Journeys excursions depart just a block away (in case you've booked a trip thru them). You might consider a small pizza and a beer/wine from the outdoor patio of Naturally Fiordland (restaurant) in the center of town on a sunny day.

We would highly recommend the motel - and would definitely stay there again. Loved Te Anau!

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank livn247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

We stayed here for 1 night on the way to Milford Sound.

It is very much a motel in feel, no catering facilities at the motel although we found a good dinner and breakfast in the town of Te Anau, a walk of about 10 - 15 minutes.

A good professional greeting on arrival and show around the room. We were on the ground floor, right next to reception, a "disabled access" room.

The room itself: the front part consisted of lounge, another bed, usual NZ kitchenette affair, TV.
Nice touch to bring fresh milk in for the tea and coffee.

Back part of the room was a bedroom another TV (which is mounted too high up to view comfortably from bed) and bathroom, all OK.

A good quiet location, so a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

Very welcoming and helpful reception, thank you Irene!

Well equipped room with everything needed for a relaxing stay.

Excellent views out over the lake without excessive traffic noise.

The only minor grumble about our particular room was the very bright blue light from next doors illuminated sign which was intrusive despite the curtains.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reserved19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

We usually prefer to stay at a hotel, but booked at Radfords because it received better reviews than the hotel in town. It was an excellent choice! We had a bedroom and living room with small kitchen upstairs with view of the lake. Everything was very clean and in good working order, and the manager was very friendly. The location is along the lake, where all the other motels/hotels seem to be, also.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wineandwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radfords on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $171 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords On The Lake Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing