We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place of our NZ trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radfords on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Radfords on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The best place of our NZ trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We are ending 20 days in NZ. We have been in more than 10 motels/ hotels etc erc.
Let me very clear. By far this is the best place we stayed. Location is fantastic and the area is so amazing, but the secret is the around the clock dedication of Kerry. She walks around and makes sure that every spot will be perfect. When you take care of small details- you get a jewel !!thanks for 3 wonderful days

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Zinger,

Thank you for your glowing review and we are delighted our motel, service and location met your expectations and proved perfect for your stay here in Te Anau. Should you ever return to Te Anau we welcome the opportunity to host you again. I trust the remainder of your holiday is just as enjoyable.

Kind Regards,

Kerri, Steve and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    121
    27
    8
    0
See reviews for
131
354
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Radfords is an excellent hotel! Great views! Squeakie clean! All the important amenities. Etc., etc. ... but it's Kerri, the owner/manager, who makes your stay such a wonderful experience. When you stay at Radfords, you feel like your staying at Kerri's house. She takes care of everything: reservations, suggested itineraries, not to be missed sights ... everything! Kerri is there for you ... not in your face ... there for you when needed. She's the greatest. Radfords is the place to stay in Te Anau!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Leigh S

Thank you so much for your comments, I am very fortunate have a very deciated and capable team that present this property in the very best possible way for our guests enjoyment and it is always our pleasure to hear our guests had an memorable stay.

We are very happy to share our 30+ years of living in this region with you to ensure you get the best out of your time with us and we hope that we can be of service to you should you travel. this way in the future.

Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve and all the Team at Radfords!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

From the minute we arrived until the minute we left we were extremely well and warmly looked after by Kerri and her lovely daughter. We were booked in for 3 nights but needed to stay an extra night due to our Milford Track walk being cancelled due to bad weather. Luckily we were able to do the amazing Humpridge Track. During this time our suitcases were securely stored at the hotel until our return. Our rooms were amazing - so clean and contained so many extras. They also all have views over the beautiful lake and mountains.The beds are so soft and have beautiful linen. The decor is very modern and the room even has a kitchenette. The fresh rose on the table smelt incredible. On the day that we sadly departed, our suitcases were driven to the bus stop for us! My husband and I travel quite a bit and both agree this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robrichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Robricelle

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and your kind words, you were both a pleasure to host and we hope that we get the opportunity to host you again for some of the other amazing walks we have here in Fiordland.

Although your planned hiking got disrupted due to the heavy rain you reviewed your options and took the opportunity to do the Hump Ridge Track, an awesome effort that you completed this in less than favouravable conditions on the first day but still really enjoyed your experience.

We hope the rest of your time in New Zealand went well and again thank you for staying with us.

Kind Regards

Kerri, Steve and Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Easy to find, excellent position, generous on-site parking, warm welcome, spotlessly clean, highly efficient room service, comfortable bed with quality linen.
We stayed in Room 12 which is upstairs and had an excellent views. The double glazing eliminated the limited amount of outside noise and the tinted windows gave a fair bit of privacy. The unit was well appionted, the Wi Fi access was more than adequate for checking mail and general browsing. It was quite expensive but overall we were happy we choose this motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Ted P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your motel unit and found everything to be to your liking. You were a pleasure to host and hope to meet you again.

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

It is a very welcoming hotel with a lovely view of the lake. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Kerrie James is a wonderful proprietress and had good suggestions on dining and activities in the area. As an aside, if you can not do the Milford Sound cruise (maybe because the road is closed), the Doubtful Sound cruise was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Debra B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our Motel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and also your trip to Doubtful Sound.

We hope to welcome you all back here in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI,INDIA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

i and my wife stayed at this motel recently on our honeymoon trip to new zealand. this was one of our best stays in newzealand. the recpetion is very helpful and kind enough to guide you through the main attractions of the town and nearby places. the motel is located right opposite the lake. Look no further when your are staying at te anau, radfords is a great motel. The rooms are well furnished and have all the modern facilities. As we where on a honeymoon we are truly thankful to radfords for making it wonderful and worth remembering.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamsTravelogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Saumya192

Thank you for your kind words and review of our Motel. We are delighted you had a wonderful time here and you have great memories of your stay with us. We do hope the rest of your time in New Zealand went just as well.

We welcome the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I recently took a trip to the South Island, and stayed at Radford's while we were in Te Anau. Overall, our experience was much better than we could have hoped for, the service level was incredibly high, the location amazing and the amenities perfect.

We were planning on walking the Kepler Track (a 3-day hike), which meant we needed a place to store our stuff for 2 nights. Kerri offered to lock our stuff up and let us store our car in their back lot while we were on the trail - it was truly a lifesaver.

In addition to great service, Radford's has a beautiful view of Lake Te Anau and a 5 minute walk to the town center, the location couldn't be better. Kerri was kind enough to direct us to the best restaurants in town, and we couldn't have been happier.

Finally, the unlimited free WiFi was fast and allowed us to video chat with our friends/family back home. The rooms were clean and attention has been paid to the details of the stay - lavender sachets on the pillows, etc.

For the remainder of our trip, Radford's is what we measured accomodations against. When we return to do the Routeburn track, you can bet we'll be staying at Radford's again!

Room Tip: If you're spending some time hiking, get a room with a spa-bath when you return, they're ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind feed back. We are absolutely delighted that you had the best experience while staying here and were able to relax in one of our luxury spa bath units and reflect on your Kepler Track walk.
It was a pleasure to be your host and we look forward to you both staying here when you come back to do the Routeburn Track.

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radfords on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Property: Radfords on the Lake
Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Green Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords On The Lake Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing