We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radfords on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great motel”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spent one night at Radfords after a trip to Milford Sound and before hiking the Routeburn. We had made reservations for dinner and the Glowworm tour. As soon as we arrived, Kerri offered to call and change the times of both our dinner and tour to make better use of our short stay in Te Anau. She also recommended a great restaurant for an early breakfast and quick lunch, and checked us out for the next morning so that we could leave quickly. It was wonderful to have her make our lives so easy when changing schedules can be a hassle to do on one's own. The suite was roomy and immaculate with a gorgeous view. All our activites were steps from the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cop83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your kind words. Its our priority to make sure our guests have the best experience possible while staying here at Radfords Motel so to hear that we were able to make your lives easier by changing the bookings around makes us very happy that we are providing a great service for our guests. We do hope to see you again one day soon.

Compliments of the season to you and your family.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    124
    28
    8
    0
See reviews for
135
363
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights in number 7. Fantastic place with a view to die for. Room was spotless and well appointed. Kerri was a fantastic and helpful host. Great personal service - certainly not a number here! Glad we decided to stay in Te Anau rather than day trip in for Milford tour. Wished we had time to stay longer. Enjoy the laid back, chilled out atmosphere. Grab a pie form Miles Better Pies or some blue cod and chips from the caravan on the water front and soak it all in. Also a bottle of chilled wine and a takeaway pizza from La Toscana eaten on the deck outside the room watching the sun go down!

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. It was our pleasure to make sure that your stay here was enjoyable and relaxing. We are very passionate about this wonderful area that we live in and love to share our knowledge of Fiordland with our guests so they can make the most of their time in Te Anau. We trust that the rest of your holiday is going well and hope you have a very Merry Christmas.

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We only spent one night at Radfords Lakeview Motel. The reception was excellent, as was the checking out the following morning. Amazingly friendly people, who made us feel welcome right from the start. The room (like all rooms in this motel) has a lovely view of Lake Te Anau. The room was comfortable, and we had a good night's sleep before we went on our way to Invercargill. When we go back to Te Anau (to go on the Milford Sound trip) we will most definitely stay at Radfords again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schalk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your very kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in one of our 4.5star units and that you felt welcome at our complex. You were an absolute pleasure to host and we look forward to hosting you when you come back to experience Milford Sound.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our stay here was a very pleasant experience, the hotel has it all. A very warm and friendly welcome on arrival, an immaculate room with great decor and attention to detail with all the extras, we didn't want to leave. The room had good views over the lake and it is only a short walk into the town. Wish we could have stayed longer but we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Manager at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about us and your kind words. Te Anau is a beautiful town with so much to offer and we enjoy being able to share it with our visitors. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a very nice stay here. Wish we could stay longer, we drove from Queenstown and arrive Te Anua around 5:30 to join the Glowworm Caves Tour.
Had a nice chat with the host. She recommended us to join Trips and Tramps for Milford Sound the next day ! We like small tour instead of those coach tour. The guide is very knowledgable. It's a fantanstic trip, the weather was very good and we did the Routeburn Track - it's so spectacular !
Back to the hotel, u just got everything u need with UNLIMITED Wi-Fi. Unlike other hotels/ motels in Queenstown or Christchurch, they might just charge you if you exceed certain limit. Never happen here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here and that you had time to use our unlimited complimentary WI FI. We loved hearing that you had a great time with Trips and Tramps and got to experience the Routeburn Track which boasts truely amazing scenery.

We hope to be able to host you again one day.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

There's nothing amiss here. Amazing hospitality, very comfortable in all aspects, and superb location. Can't imagine a better place in town. If you're looking for homogenous chain hotels, this isn't for you. But if you want a family atmosphere, gracious and welcoming hosts, a thoughtful and tasteful decor and room, you won't find as great a mix as exists here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triangleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to host you both. We are so pleased that you found your room to be comfortable and enjoyed our close proximity to the town centre being just a short walk away.

We hope that you are enjoying the rest of your holiday and look forward to hosting you both again one day soon.

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Way beyond my expectation. Love almost everything there. Nice view, clean, fully equipped kitchen , very warm set up with details which is different from many other NZ hotels.

Kerri is very helpful. Wish I could stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChanChiYin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Your comments are most appreciated. We are delighted that you found our units to be different to other places you have stayed. We strive to make sure our units are comfortable for our guests and by prividing the little extras such as flowers, candles etc our aim is to exceed our guests expectations and provide them with a unit that they can relax in and take in our amazing views of Lake Te Anau.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Radfords Lakeview Motel.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radfords on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Property: Radfords on the Lake
Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Green Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords On The Lake Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing