We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radfords on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent location and exceptional service.The best motel during a 12 day visit to the South Island.Stayed for two nights and received knowlegable suggestions for dining and touring.Clean,comfortable and large units.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aged65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Wow we are so delighted that your stay here at Radfords Lakeview Motel was the best on your holiday. We live in a beautiful part of the world and love to share our local knowledge with our guests so that they can make the most out of their short time in Fiordland. I do hope that we will see you back here some time in the near future as we would love to host you again.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    123
    27
    8
    0
See reviews for
133
360
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Friendly staff, very nice, spacious rooms that were super clean. Our room had a super king sized bed, very nice. Also had two twin beds which we didn't need. The Kitchenette was great and I enjoyed the table that looked out at the lake through the front sliding doors.
When we arrived, we were about an hour early for check-in but had no issue checking in (although spring is more of an off season), and we requested setting up a farm tour. We were accommodated last minute and departed on the tour in less than 10 mins! (It was great).
All in all, a very nice place to stay in Te Anau.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank droideka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious and clean units we have a dedicated team here that are very driven at trying to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible while visiting us and it is so nice to hear that this is appreciated by our guests. We are constantly trying to improve our units and the updating of queen beds to king and super king beds is our current improvement. Where possible we try to accommodate our guests if they would like to check-in early it was possible that day as the unit was cleaned and ready.
We are thrilled you enjoyed our farm tour this is a new product that we have recently started.

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I spent ~1.5 days in Te Anau during a holiday trip with my wife. Facilities - The room & the facilities were great. Everything looked newly furnished and the room was completely worth the price. Service - All our interactions with the owners were good. They were very knowledgeable about Te Anau and were happy to share the information with us. However, I expected them to extend the check-out time because the weather was very bad (heavy rains) and our bus did not depart till evening. I was also willing to pay upto 50% of the rent for late check-out. I was disappointed when my request was not granted. I am well aware that a room that is occupied till evening will most likely go unfilled for the night - however, I did not foresee too many people showing up in such bad weather. Location - As a general principle, I prefer to stay in a central location and save on travel time/ travel money. The motel has a very central location right next to the Lake, <10 minute walk from Intercity bus stop/ Main market.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aditya_Oli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We are pleased that we lived up to your expectations with regards to your unit, we are constantly improving our units to have that feel of a home away from home. We like to share our knowledge of Fiordland with our guests to enhance their experience in our area. Your check out time was extended at no cost to you however as that unit was booked out for the following night we required it cleaned by 2pm ready for their check-in. We also offered you free internet while you sat in our warm reception area which I do understand wouldnt have been as comfortable as your unit but this was the best we were able to offer with prior bookings held. We do apologise that we were unable to grant your request in this instance.
We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I love the setting of the motel .It is right on the lake front and has stunning mountain and lake views from every room. The room was share luxury the bed was beautifully made and as our first night of our honeymoon it was great to come in with chocolates made in a heart shape on the bed just topped off the night. Kerry is one of the best motel hosts in TeAnau. Well done Team from the Harringtons.

Room Tip: every room is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your first night as a married couple here at Radfords Lakeview Motel, we enjoy helping people celebrate special occasions and like to make this shown by the little extras - so the chocolates were our pleasure.
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Kind Regards,

Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed there 2 nights. Room nice and clean but way too expensive for what you get.
We checked out in the morning and went for a walk in town. returned to the car after 1 hour , asked to use the toilette but the owner would not let us! She sent me to the public toilette in town. What a shame!
That's the difference between pree sale and post service.
Lots of other motels in the area, adjacent to each other, why go to an expensive one when you can get same for more reasonable rates?!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tambarTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you were happy with our high standard of cleanliness and well presented rooms. We are very sorry that you couldnt use your room again after you checked out however the room had been cleaned and ready for the next guests arriving early by prior arrangement, due to this complex not being a hotel and no public toilet available we directed you to the closest open toilets. We apologise for this and we do hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Kind Regards,
Kerri & Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great spot by the lake, within walking distance to the main street where shops/restaurants are located. The room was great and the staff are very helpful, they lent us two bikes so that we could go for a ride around town, and some insect repellant when we went to Milford Sound. Also the cat is very cute.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shllyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are thrilled you have enjoyed your time here at Radfords Lakeview Motel it is our priority that our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are very fortunate to have lovely staff working here and they love to share their knowledge of the area with guests so they have the best experience whilst visiting Fiordland.

We look forward to your return one day.
Kind Regards,
Kerri, Steve & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Te Anau is a beautiful part of New Zealand, and our stay at Radfords Motel was a fantastic place to stop and enjoy the surroundings.

We visited Radfords for 2 nights based around a trip to Milford Sound, recently engaged they treated us to a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates, as well as a room right on the front with views across the lake.

The rooms are really well designed, making great use of the space, clean, modern and well appointed with a stove, microwave, fridge and cooking utensils. The bathroom & jacuzzi bath were also fantastic. The bed was a full kingsize and really comfortable too.

The room came with free wi-fi internet, which was really quick, as well as Sky TV and a fantastic DVD library & games - all of which came in useful when the weather came in and it poured down all day! Mountain bikes were also available for use FOC and are a nice way to view the lake and surrounding areas of Te Anau (which is very flat and easy to cycle on!)

Our host was knowledgable on the area and recommended lots of places to eat/visit while we were there. She also helped us to rearrange our Milford Sound trip and was very attentive and helpful.

I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beck533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Becky,

Wow thank you for your review, we are so delighted that you and your fiancee enjoyed staying here at Radfords Lakeview Motel we are incredibly lucky to live in such a beautiful place and love sharing our knowledge of Fiordland with our guests so they can make the most of what our region has to offer. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the little extras we provided to make your stay memorable on your engagement.

We wish you all the best for your future and hope we can welcome you back here for your honeymoon!!

Kind Regards
Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radfords on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Property: Radfords on the Lake
Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Green Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords On The Lake Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing