We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They need to upgrade mattresses and furniture.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radfords on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“They need to upgrade mattresses and furniture.”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We really expected more from this place for the price. Really underwhelming - staff were nice enough but nothing could make up for the horrid beds! They are visually sunken in the centre, when you sit on the couch you almost hit the bottom, they unplugged my phone that was charging while we were out of the room - not sure why? They say the beds are on wheels to help with cleaning but surely the customer comes first- this is really awful and I haven't slept on a bed with wheels since I was 5 in the 70's. This place would be fine if it wasn't so
overpriced. If it was a little cheaper I would have been more inclined to give it a better review. Upgrade your beds!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmdext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Manager at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to review our property.

You will be pleased to know we are currently upgrading our beds.
They can be quite a contentious issue as some like hard beds and others soft so it is definately a personal choice.

I apologise for the cellphone being unplugged. One of the cleaners may have unplugged the cellphone to use the vacuum cleaner and forgot to plug it back in.

We have noted your feedback about the beds being on wheels and will monitor this further. If there are more customers that find this an issue we will surely remedy the situation.

Thanks for your feedback and we hope the new King Size beds are to your liking, next time you come to stay with us.

Kind regards,
Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    124
    28
    8
    0
See reviews for
135
363
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Lakeview Motel and it was perfect in every way. Clean, comfortable accommodation with excellent facilities. We had great views over the lake and the apartment was convenient for the local restaurants and supermarkets.If you want quality and comfort then this place is fully recommended. Very approachable friendly staff complete the perfect picture.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klindsay1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in one of the bottom floor spa suites. Very nice accommodation and although expensive compared with elsewhere he stayed in the regions, seemed worthwhile compared with the other accomodation and prices in Te Anau.

We had no problems with noise from our upstairs neighbours, but we wanted a spa and the ground floor one was the only one available when we booked. The view would be better from upstairs too, but there was still a good view from the downstairs units unitil cars parked in front of them, generally later in the night when the sun was going down anyway.

The location is great, only a short 5-10 min walk to town and the many great restaurants. The cooking facilities were basic, but enough to cook some decent meals. The quality of the fixtures and furnishings was very high.

Overall we had a great stay and would certainly stay again. Maybe book further in advance to get the first floor spa room perhaps! The host was most helpful and gave plenty of advice about acitivites, Milford Sound and eating out.

Room Tip: Upstairs would be better to rule out the possibility of a noisy neighbour and get better views, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinchey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Manager at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
We really appreciate you reviewing our property and that you found our accommodation, service and location was of high standard, having lived in the area for the past 30 years we are able to offer local knowledge and make recommendation that suit our guests.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Te Anau again. Thank you for staying with us.

Kind Regards
Kerri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We had a decent size room (4) with a spa bath on the ground floor. The drawback with this room was that we felt it offered a lack of privacy. The room had a 32" LCD TV. video library $2/film, $2 for the washer, $2 tumble dryer, free wi-fi. Kerri was extremely helpful with local walks, Keplar Track ,Doubful Sound cruises etc The room upstairs had a stuck fawcet problem and ran for over an hour at about 7 in the morning with the ensuing noise prcblem. A plumber came within a couple of hours and sorted it out. Overpriced room possibly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnludkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Very good spacious accommodation. Comfortable beds (with choice of pillow) very clean, good temperature control, kitchenette, free wifi , cable Tv. KErri at reception was very friendly and keen to help, (she even loaned me her cold weather Parker for our trip to Milford sound). An excellent experience.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jec63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and felt that our Motel and Service meet your expectations We do appreciate that you have taken the time to review our facilities.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back sometime.

Kind Regards
Kerri
Radfords Lakeview Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

By category this is supposed to be a 4+ star place and the number one place in Te Anau to stay. If it is I wouldn't want to see the other hotels and anywhere else this is a two or three star place. The host iy lovely and friendly and wifi works well and the location gives a lovely view. But the rooms ars tiny and the whole place must have been built really cheap. Ou can hear evey word of your neighbours and when they go to their rooms they walk thers directl in front of your sleeping room with glass. The bathroom we had didnot have a bathtube and it's not made with ceramics but plastics. The kitchen area is tiny and there is no minibar available. For washing there is a (small) extra fee. For us the worst part where the beds. They are on rolls and we couldnot fix them and the matrace was awful. Both me and my partner hab pain in the back and found it very hard to sleep at all. For this quality the place is way overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackmage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the hospitality, the view and the free wi-fi. Regarding the issues you mention, we are sorry to hear you had a bad night’s sleep. We are in the process to replacing the beds to Super Kings, however I generally get very good feedback about the sleep quality, they are on wheels so make cleaning under them easier for staff and this does not normally cause any issues. The windows are double glazed and tinted, so does qive some privacy, but most guests love the big windows for the spectacular lake view.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip!
Kerri and Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We liked it here very much. The rooms are very clean and nice. The service was excellent, the reccomendations for things to do were perfect and overall this place deserves its high ranking!! My only caution is that I wish we had stayed upstairs instead of chosing a downstairs room. The family above us woke up EARLY and you could hear EVERYthing they did. Seriously, hearing them use the toilet first thing in the morning was not fun. But if you're not a light sleeper you'll have no problems. I'm just very picky in this area.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maradenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review our facilities and for your positive comments. We sincerely apologise that you were inconvenienced by the guests above you rising early. We do try where possible to put large family groups on the ground floor but sometimes this is out of our control and we do very much regret that your sleep was disturbed.
Kind regards Kerri & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radfords on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Property: Radfords on the Lake
Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Green Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords On The Lake Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing