We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice little family owned motel in an excellent position”
Review of Alpenhorn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpenhorn Motel
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Great position walking distance from the town and lake. Nice rooms, our was emmaculate with good facilities. Owners are a mine of local information. Great place to stay and you could self cater.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 118 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2011

Good middle of the road accommodation close to the town centre. Our hosts Tony & Denise Austin were very helpful and booked our Doubtful Sound tour for us using Fiordland Explorer Charters which we can highly recommend. This tour company was one of the smaller ones doing the tour and was the main reason for our visit to Te Anau. We also recommend the Blue Cod fish & chips from the van parked on the lakefront in the middle of town.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJNZTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Alpenhorn Motel is in a great location, it is a short stroll to town and the lake front. We spent 4 nights in total here and really enjoyed it. Each day the room was lightly serviced, the room was very clean, can not fault a thing. Very friendly owners, with a wealth of knowledge of the local area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hailz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eine andere Unterkunft
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ursula20172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise A, Manager at Alpenhorn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nathalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 麗卿 林
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jordi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#9 of 22 in Te Anau
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 22 in Te Anau
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 22 in Te Anau
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Motel

Address: 35 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $89 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhorn Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpenhorn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhorn Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing