We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid - try the Lake Side instead.”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid - try the Lake Side instead.”
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Very small room with no view of anything. We found the owner to be surly and unhelpful. Despite having pre-paid for two nights we decided to find accommodation elsewhere and take the extra cost.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laton51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    167
    43
    9
    7
See reviews for
76
309
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

The room we stayed was a studio unit, was small but acceptable for 2 of us. The room was new and clean, and heating adequate. Was quite impress with the heating unit in the bathroom, keeps the bathroom warm. Most older motels' bathroom is freezing and taking a shower is definitely not a lingering affair. For asian used to much warmer climate, adequate heating in rooms is a must-have.

The paid internet service is reliable and fast, again a big plus for us.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

The studio room we booked was slightly cramped with a single and double bed, a microwave, some utensils and a TV. The motel is not located on the waterfront, which would be preferable given that Te Anau was pretty hot at the time we went (Feb 09). Further, the motel is a good 10-15 min walk from the city center/departure point for Real Journeys glowworm cave tour, so staying closer to the city center would also be certainly preferable if you prefer not to walk too much.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelExotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

I would recommend the Bella Vista if you're looking for a nice, clean, comforable and warm hotel room with no frills and fuss.

They appear to have strictly no check-in before 2pm so just be aware of that. I was very surprised because there wasn't that many people staying there and probably should have made an allowance for me (it was 12.30pm when I arrived) but it was made impossible because the person wasn't even there. I thought the man on reception could have generally been a bit nicer on the whole as I found him a bit unattentive during check-in and check-out, but nothing really terrible, just a bit odd.

Overall I was very happy. There was no road noise and I wasn't impacted by other guests, parking was free and I thought the location was good... close to the main area but not too close.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarlemRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Was everything we had previously experienced from Bella Vista'. Clean and as-you'd-expect rooms, professional and helpful staff.

Ideal for a one nighter and perfect for setting of to see the unbelievable Milford Sound.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnIIe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

The Bella Vista Motel in Te Anau is a very great value, high quality motel. The reason that I don't give it five stars is that it doesn't have the "upscale" feel that some other places offer, but I'd highly recommend it if you're looking for a clean, well-maintained place to stay. The rooms that we were in were of a good size, and ours had a well-stocked kitchen (with range, oven, microwave, etc.). The service at the front desk was great - when we checked in, she gave us a number of recommendations for restaurants in the area and helped us book the evening and next day's activities. Te Anau is extremely small, so everything seems to be within walking distance - The Bella Vista was a block off of the main drag.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooeythebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Very friendly & helpful staff. Basic rooms, but neat & tidy. 5 minute walk to town centre.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BazAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at a quiet location, adjacent to a park and the closest motel to the town centre, just minutes stroll from the lakefront. Bella Vista Te Anau Motel accommodation offers 18 superior quality units with kitchenettes and shower ensuites (3 with shower over spa bath).Te Anau is a beautiful picturesque township nestled on the shores of Lake Te Anau, which is the largest lake in the South Island, and the second largest lake in New Zealand. It is a great place to base yourself when exploring Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau
Bella Vista Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing