We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great position” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed at the Bella Vista for two nights with my mum. We had a ground floor one bedroom apartment which gave us each some personal space at the end of the day. The room was very clean, warm and cosy and in a wonderfully quiet part of town adjacent to a lovely park. It is only a short walk thru the park to the centre of town (maybe 2-3 minutes) and the same down to the lake front. Great little town and a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo007Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi jojo007Sydney,
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us recently and that everything meet with your approval. I agree with you that Te Anau is a great place and our location is handy to the town centre and facilities.
We look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    156
    44
    9
    7
See reviews for
75
297
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We made the right choice to stay at Bella Vista Motel in Te Anau for a night before moving on to Milford Sound. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by hosts, Selby & Janelle. The room was spacious, cosy, clean, comfortable & location convenient. The heater was great. The muffins were nice. The icing on the cake was the affable Selby...we appreciate his sound and sincere advice about visiting & trekking Milford Sound when our son visits NZ in May next year. Selby gave us great tips on fine restaurants, the film on Fiordland, farmstay, interesting stopovers on drive to Milford Sound. He was patient and pleasant. We had a wonderful time & fond memories of Te Anau. Our family would definitely stay at your Motel and spend a longer time in Te Anau when we join our son for his holiday in May next year. Thanks again, Selby & Janelle for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IreneSoh-Foo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear IreneSoh-Foo,
Thank-you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Your kind words and recommendation of our service and facilities is our reward. It is always our pleasure to host all our guests who appreciate what we have to offer in Te Anau and that you take with you many fond memories.
Safe travels and a speedy return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night last week as a stopover to Milford Sound. The owner was super friendly and gave us great tips on where to eat. The room was newly refurbished with new carpet. And to top that off, the muffins were delicious!

Thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank navrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi Navrak,
Thank-you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our facilities and we are able to meet your expectations.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here overnight as a base for a trip to Milford Sound. We had not researched the hotels in Te Anau and booked through a tourist information centre in Queenstown. What a brilliant find !!! Janelle and Selby were fantastic, giving advice on road conditions, where to get snow chains, directions, restaurants what to see and do and a host of other info. The room was fairly compact but had all mod cons including a refrigerator, kettle, cutlery, crockery, and what a nice touch on arrival with freshly cooked muffins and a proper bottler of milk to take to our room instead of a packet of biscuits and UHT milk sachets normally found in this type of accommodation.

All in all this was a fantastic stay, made even better by the hosts.....Thank You

Room Tip: Tell Janelle and Shelby what you want, they will do their best to accommodate you. If you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi KentVictor,
It was our pleasure to host such appreciative guests. We are proud of our reputation here at Bella Vista and your gracoius comments are really appreciated by all the team.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Rooms are compact but very clean and ours had been recently refurbished. Friendly welcome with muffins. Good location two minutes from the waterfront and five from the town centre. Good venue for a trip to Milford.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Col07
Thank-you for reviewing your stay with us, we are glad you found our service and facilities to your satisfaction. Our motel complex is under constant upgrading and refurbishment and with the recent completion of new carpet and tiles, this adds an additional 'wow' factor.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Bella Vista for total of there's nights before and after walking the Kepler Track. From the moment I arrived, it was clear why this establishment is so highly rated. A warm welcome, fresh muffin, advice on walking and plenty of helpful tips for my stay in Te Anau. The location is excellent for access to both shops and restaurants and for the start of the Kepler Track. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Plenty of hot water and there are laundry facilities on the premises.

The Bella Vista is highly recommended!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Primros,
We appreciate the time you have taken to review your recent stay with us here in Te Anau. Your satisfaction with our services and facilities are our rewards as it was a pleasure to host you and share some of the beauty that surrounds us here. May you return another day.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Bella vista is a motel chain of low budget motels. We stayed in three of them arranged by our tour organizer while touring South New Zealand. All three were identically designed with two floors, outdoor corridors, postage stamp sized rooms.
The rooms are well equipped, but with low quality furnishings. All hotels were located in wonderful locations within walking distance to attractions, shopping, and restaurants. All have on site mangers/owners.
The Te Anau property was managed by Janelle and Selby. There was no request to large to too small for them. They bent over backward to make our stay comfortable and memorable. It was an easy walk to town through a lovely park. They both were very helpful with suggestions on what to do and see. In spite of the very small living space, it was an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor room so you don't hear people way around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi dogcabo,
Thanks so much for your recent review and comments. We have several types and room sizes, with different facilities available to suit our guests requirements. We are always happy to discuss your requirements prior to booking.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our location to your satisfaction. One of the great things about Te Anau is you can generally walk to all the facilities the town provides,
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at a quiet location, adjacent to a park and the closest motel to the town centre, just minutes stroll from the lakefront. Bella Vista Te Anau Motel accommodation offers 18 superior quality units with kitchenettes and shower ensuites (3 with shower over spa bath).Te Anau is a beautiful picturesque township nestled on the shores of Lake Te Anau, which is the largest lake in the South Island, and the second largest lake in New Zealand. It is a great place to base yourself when exploring Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau
Bella Vista Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing