We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Words won't do our experience justice.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Words won't do our experience justice.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Janelle and Selby were fantastic hosts for our few days in the beautiful 'doorstep' to Fiordlands- Te Anau. On our arrival at the Bella Vista we were greeted with friendly, welcoming Selby! After a four hour drive in NZ's fabulous rainy weather, all we wanted was to be out of the car and out of the rain. Inside our room we found the warmth from the heaters already being on and to be given home made muffins as well! The room was clean, tidy and smelt like a new home! We were even more excited to discover how comfortable the beds were! It was fantastic to talk to locals - real New Zealanders who love and want to share their little piece of heaven. Janelle and Selby both enquired about our plans, which were out to Milford Sound in the morning. Janelle pointed out numerous things we should look for, then on our return asked what we'd actually experienced. It's always nice to be more than a number and Janelle and Selby made us not want to leave. Amazing hosts, Amazing location and an AWESOME experience. I guess it's indicative of us not wanting to leave, when we went to check out at 8.55 am and didn't actually leave until 10am.....
Thanks for everything and hopefully we'll be back soon to share some more fantastic winter hats!
PS Paws was also a fantastic touch... I miss him already... :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aveta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Aveta E,
Thank you for taking time to review your experience, Janelle and I are proud to have been part of that for you. It is clear to see on everyones faces after returning from a trip to either Milford or Doubtful sound that they have had a truely amazing experience.
Te Anau is such a great place to rest up and enjoy what nature has provided.
From us and the staff at Bella Vista Te Anau, safe travels and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    161
    43
    9
    7
See reviews for
74
304
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This has got to be the absolute best Motel experience we have ever had, and we have had many.
We arrived about 2pm to find the heaters on and some gorgeous home baking ( muffins ) greeting us, what a start. The rooms were awesome & we wanted for nothing, clean, fresh and so comfy. Janelle & Selby were amazing and a super lovely couple. Absolutely nothing was a bother. Their knowledge of the area is oustanding and they clearly love what they do. There were a few of us that arrived on motorbikes, only to find Selby also had a love for bikes. He offered to take us up on the bikes to Milford the next day,which we did, and it was out of this world,& scenery to die for.Thankyou for that.
We are now looking for an excuse to get back down there, awesome guys, thanks heaps.
P.S the cat "Paws " what a character, gorgeous !!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Paula F
Thanks for your review, it was my pleasure to find an excuse to take a ride into Milford Sound-any time. it was great to meet such a great group of like minded people and have such good weather for your trip.
Janelle is certainly becoming famous for her muffins and Paws loves meeting new people too.
We both find great satisfaction when people arrive as guests and leave as friends.
Come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Friendly and welcoming hosts, warm units and spotlessly clean, what more could you ask for?
Janelle and Selby would have to be about the best moteliers we have come across. We were welcomed with home cooked muffins and the heating was on in the unit (they also turned the heating on late afternoon of our second night's stay too!). Recently refurbished our unit was spotless, the bed was comfortable and the extra shelf in the bathroom was an added bonus. Janelle and Selby have sourced the best possible supplies for the units - the soft toilet paper was an unexpected luxury.
The real 'Gateway to Fiordland', Te Anau is an ideal starting point to tours of Milford and Doubtful Sounds and the Bella Vista is within a few minutes walking distance of everywhere we needed to be. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear reviewer
Thank you for your review. Since our arrival here 4 months ago we have embarked on a continue upgrade programme of the property and facilities, some are minor, such as our choice of superior toilet paper and some are more comfort focused such as the new level of comfort in our beds.
Its great that our guests are appreciating that we are trying to provide a happy and memorable experience for them. Janelle and I look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Janelle and Selby who are the proprietors of this property are very friendly, very warm and very helpful with their local knowledge. We arrived early afternoon to find heaters turned on in our rooms, and were presented with beautiful muffins fresh from Janelle's oven! They arranged our trip for the next day to Doubtful Sound and when our bus dropped us back to our accomodation, both were there to meet us to ensure we had a good day! We only stayed for 2 nights, but felt we were leaving friends as we said our farewells, and were again presented with beautiful muffins for our morning tea on the road!
Make sure you make the acquaintance of Paws the cat - if you don't he'll hunt you down! He's a cracker of a cat, real personality.

Room Tip: all rooms would appear to offer a good sleep and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear reviewer.
Thank you for taking the time to review the service you received while staying in Te Anau.
It is our priority to make sure that everyone who stays here has a great time to remember.
Doubtful Sound is just one of the greatest places to experience and staying in Te Anau is a great place to start from. It was our pleasure to be your host and we look forward to your return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I first stayed here years ago, and have been coming back every time I visit Te Anau or Milford Sound. I am one for luxury, and despite Bella Vista falling into the affordable motel bracket, it definitely suits me. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the management make you feel very welcome. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Bella Vista Te Anau. As new managers we try our utmost to give everyone a great experience. We are continually improving our motel to give everyone an unforgettable stay with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

As a family of 4 with 2 younger boys this was the best place we stayed on our trip around the south island. We had the joy of going on the trip into doubtful sound with them. They went out of their way to make things happen for us. Super friendly people can't wait to go back. Have told all our friends that go that way to stay with them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thankyou for your kind comments, Janelle and I are so pleased we were able to be part of the joy you had while staying in Te Anau. Doubtful Sound is one of those special places that not everyone has the opportunity to visit, but without exception, those who do, it takes up a special place in their heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lovely quiet and clean unit. Brilliant value for money. Hosts super friendly. Really delighted to receive a complimentary yummy banana choc chip muffin on arrival!!. As I was away out for the evening, and would be back late, my hostess offered to pop into my room and turn the wall heater on so it was warm on my return. Wonderful service. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selbya, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation.
It is our endeavour to make everyones stay with us an enjoyable one and look forward to your return another day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at a quiet location, adjacent to a park and the closest motel to the town centre, just minutes stroll from the lakefront. Bella Vista Te Anau Motel accommodation offers 18 superior quality units with kitchenettes and shower ensuites (3 with shower over spa bath).Te Anau is a beautiful picturesque township nestled on the shores of Lake Te Anau, which is the largest lake in the South Island, and the second largest lake in New Zealand. It is a great place to base yourself when exploring Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau
Bella Vista Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing