We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We had five adults and the room was still spacious. It was Clean, had free wifi and plenty of parking. It was a short walk from town centre and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Not many TV channels, but when on holiday that's not a big issue.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    63
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
56
85
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our family of five, including three young adults, found this accommodation very comfortable. We had a two bedroom apartment which was very spacious. The main bedroom had a queen and single bed (great for dumping our clutter) and the second bedroom had three single beds all well spread out. A long bench provided room for all the girls' things. The bathroom was huge. The kitchen was well equipped and included a coffee plunger (which we consider important). The lounge/dining was roomy and had opening doors onto a little patio with outdoor setting. What a beautiful place to eat and enjoy the peace and quiet! Close to town and very friendly management. A trampoline is provided for younger ones in the open garden. A short walk to the lake for more beautiful scenery. This motel does not have lake views but is quiet, spacious, clean and well equipped. Would recommend. If it had two bathrooms, I would have rated as excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravellersdandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed at the Explorer Motel for 3 nights from the recommendation of a friend in Wellington and was not disappointed. The Motel has all different styles of accommodation, my friend and I had 2 large rooms, one with the queen bed and the other room had 3 singles. There was a well equipped kitchen with everything you need to cook yourself meals, so there was no need to eat out. The owner was so helpful and could help me with whatever was needed. Great laundry there to use and we found that Te Anau was a delightful area to stay, so clean, fresh and beautiful scenery. The Explorer was just across the park from the shopping centre. Here again all the shopkeepers were so helpful and friendly. I will be telling all my friends to come down here and to stay at the Explorer.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are extremely large and beds comfortable but I am sure other rooms are large as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beverley e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed 2 nights at Explorer Motel and Apartments, while exploring the Southland region. It was a great base for our family of 5. We took two rooms side-by-side, which suited our teenagers, and gave everyone some room to breathe. The motel is an older style but very clean and comfortable. The manager was extremely helpful suggesting local attractions and dining options. The motel is a short walk from the lake and the shops. While it lacked the spectacular lakefront views, it also lacked the spectacular lakefront prices. Great value for money and very comfortable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The only thing lacking is lack view but that comes at much greater expense. Room spacious, clean, well stocked with comfortable bed. Owner very helpful organised our coach trip ( including pensioner discount) and flight and gave us tips on eating out. Would return there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 940Janetw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

The positives = very spacious apartment opening via a french window on a large garden (table + chairs in front of each room) and a kids area. Parking convenient just in front of the room, independent kitchen, large bathroom, clean room. Well located = 5' by foot from the center of Te Anau or lake shore. The owner is nice and helpful.
The negatives : absolutly no pressure in the shower making it difficult to wash my hair, hair dryer so cheap I almost did not manage to dry my hair, outdated furniture, beds not really comfortable, poorly equipped kitchen (no colander, no vegetables peeling knife,..)
Not sure I would return

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a older property that has been largely upgraded. We had a huge room, excellent firm bed which provided a good quality of sleep. There is also a large communal room on the second floor with a kitchen and an assortment of DVDs. The hostess is fun, accommodating and all knowledgeable. You can also book your Milford Sound cruises through her as she is an official agent. We had a nice stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelreview77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Motel & Apartments

Property: Explorer Motel & Apartments
Address: Corner of Mokoroa and Cleddau Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#12 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorer Motel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorer Motel & Apartments offer warm spacious apartments with spectacular mountain & park views,free wifi and friendly service. All apartments are self contained with the choice of studios or one and two bedroom apartments. We can accommodate singles, couples, families, corporate travellers or small groups. We have a movie/games room & communal kitchen with an extensive range of equipment (i.e. rice cookers, woks & hotplates), as well as a laundry with washers and dryers for guests use. Explorer Motel & Apartments is set in a park like gardens with guest BBQ area, it is a great place for relaxing in the evenings, after a long day visiting Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound or Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Explorer Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Te Anau
Comfort Inn Te Anau
Explorer Motel & Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing