We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff friendly and helpful, good location, facilities clean and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Located near shopping facilities and lake Te Anau. The views from our upstairs apartment were good and the rooms clean and comfortable.
MJ the owner was pleasant and very helpful.

We had pleasant stay and I would recommend this motel to visitors.

Tony L

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 204 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. On arrival we were greeted with wonderful, friendly staff who were very helpful and knew a lot of good information about the area and activities you can do. Rooms were tidy with everything you needed. Close to the lake and restaurants. We had a lovely view of the snowy mountains from our room. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Te Anau!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at explorer motel and loved it,the service was excellent ,and they made us feel most welcome.t The room was spotless,and had everything we needed including a fantastic view.Also very helpfull with advice on things to do in the area,a great place to stay ,Yours truly Mark & Annie.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at the Explorer Motel & Apartments (Comfort Inn) for two nights. Management was very helpful and courteous. Rooms were very clean and well set up. The views looking out through the large glass doors were beautiful. I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to any traveler

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ M, Manager at Explorer Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you for your kind words - it was a pleasure having you stay with us. Glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed one night and have to say that it was a very positive experience. The room was spacious and very comfortable and modern. The new management were very welcoming and friendly. I thoroughly enjoyed ny stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ M, Manager at Explorer Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Many thanks for your kind words Mike - look forward to hosting you again next time you are down this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed two nights great price short walk to town very lovely people pleased we decided to stay here and not take notice of the terrible comments on this site as the new owners where so lovely and helpful would recommend this place to any one GIVE IT A GO!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJ M, Owner at Explorer Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

It was a pleasure having you and your family here to stay with us. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank choueNRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#6 of 22 in Te Anau
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Motel & Apartments

Address: Corner of Mokoroa and Cleddau Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#12 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $85 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorer Motel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorer Motel & Apartments offer warm spacious apartments with spectacular mountain & park views,free wifi and friendly service. All apartments are self contained with the choice of studios or one and two bedroom apartments. We can accommodate singles, couples, families, corporate travellers or small groups. We have a movie/games room & communal kitchen with an extensive range of equipment (i.e. rice cookers, woks & hotplates), as well as a laundry with washers and dryers for guests use. Explorer Motel & Apartments is set in a park like gardens with guest BBQ area, it is a great place for relaxing in the evenings, after a long day visiting Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound or Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Explorer Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Te Anau
Comfort Inn Te Anau
Explorer Motel & Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing