We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and inviting”

Alpine Centre Cafe & Bar
Ranked #23 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: New Zealand
Description: Alpine Centre Cafe is located just on the outskirts of town. We offer a booking information desk to assist you with your trip into Fiordland. Hot & Cold cabinet food as well as a cafe menu. Complimentary WIFI with purchase.
Restaurant details
Description: Alpine Centre Cafe is located just on the outskirts of town. We offer a booking information desk to assist you with your trip into Fiordland. Hot & Cold cabinet food as well as a cafe menu. Complimentary WIFI with purchase.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and inviting”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed in Te Anau for a few days and visited both the cafe for breakfast and the bar for drinks. Great atmosphere in the bar out front; warm and friendly staff (Elizabeth) out back. Very reasonable prices for food and the best coffee! They have a wood heater so it was very cosy on a cold day. They even have hot showers available for budget travellers.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LewSue280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware parents who have kids with allergies”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We were driving back from Milford sound late in the evening headed to Queenstown. Decided to stop at the alpine centre for a coffee break we purchased a few items from the cafe and down to enjoy it my daughter who is three is allergic to eggs, gluten, nuts and dairy, these can cause sever anaphylaxis and we carry rice crackers till we can get her a home cooked meal. We were told that we couldn't consume food that wasn't bought at the cafe. We left and sat in the cold outside to finish drinking the coffee so we could be together as a family. This was a very humiliating experience for us.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cillabritto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineCentre, Manager at Alpine Centre Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience at the Alpine Centre. As Manager, I have spoken to all my staff who were on evening shifts last week (as I am unsure of the day you visited) and they advise me they were not made aware of any person with allergies requiring their own food. We are very accepting of such conditions as my own step daughter is gluten and dairy intolerant so we do understand the difficulties faced with this.

I acknowledge we do not allow outside food to be consumed in our café (as would most other establishments), but for instances such as your 3yr olds allergies, we are more than happy to accommodate such requests when they are brought to our attention.

Again, my apologies for your experience and I will personally ensure my staff ask such questions in the future to avoid any confusion going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Amazing quality and service”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were looking for a nice meal in Te Anau, and after reading other reviews went here. We weren't disappointed. This place had exceptionally good food, fast and friendly service at a reasonable price. Plenty of choice with food and drinks with a nice wine list. Our special request was met with an obliging smile... Best food in Te Anau that we experienced.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good food and ambience”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Visited with family. The food was very good. Nice kids menu selection too. The prices were reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kippford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent service and food. If your feeling hungry go here as the portions are very generous and the staff could not be more helpful and attentive. Comfortable surroundings and good ambiance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David and Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Centre Cafe & Bar also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Alpine Centre Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing