We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nicely finished rooms, great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

One night stay as a layover before the last dash to MIlford Sound. Host very helpful and gave good advice. The room was immaculate and had fantastic views. A standard lamp or sone more subtle lighting in the lounge/kitchen would go well. A good place to stay in its own right, not just as a staging post!

Room Tip: Better views upstairs- worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 444 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

We did a lot of research on where to stay in Te Anau. We were going to be there for three nights and wanted a nice place with a lake view, two bedrooms and a kitchen. We settle on The Fiordland Lakeview Motel. After choosing this Motel we learned that they also had a three bedroom house on the property and it was available. It was a wonderful choice.

The house was nicely set up with a large living room (lake view) and adjoining kitchen with eating space. The kitchen was well furnished and we cooked our own dinners every night. The bedrooms were all nice. The bathroom is divided so that one room has a sink, tub and shower and the other one has the toilet and sink. This was a great set up for four people.

They have a laundry facility there which was very hand.

Everyone at the reception desk was helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. We decided to buy a DVD about the Fiordland area and they provided us a DVD hooked up to the TV so that we could watch it while we were there.

This was a great spot and we highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chasemarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We recently spent a comfortable four night stay at this motel. The one bedroom apartments are on the upper floor, & have a front balcony overlooking Lake Te Anau. The location is around 1 km from the town centre , Te Anau is the best base if your aim is to visit Doubtful Sound and Milford Sound. The latter is far closer to Te Anau than Queenstown..Our apartment was comfortable and well equipped. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Upper floor one bedroom apartments are quite spacious and offer great lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The lady in the front office was extremely nice and helpful. Our room is very large and cozy, with a great view. The woman gave us loads of good advice and helped us make reservations. I would recommend this hotel and stay here again if presented the chance. The price for the room was very reasonable also. The kitchenette helps you save money as you can prepared some of your meals in it.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank wesley0063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The welcome we received on arrival set the tone for a great stay. It's a beautiful location where all rooms have a stunning view of the lake. Perfectly placed to visit both Milford and Doubtful Sound, the motel offers spacious accommodation with everything you could need.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trinketgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This place is excellent.

The positive experience was started by a very friendly welcome we received from the person on reception.

The apartment was big, clean and well appointed. It comprised a bedroom, bathroom, lounge-room and kitchenette. The bed was huge, comfortable with an electric blanket. There is a television in both the bedroom and lounge-room. The kitchenette has a microwave, two hotplates and a good selection of quality cooking utensils. Towels and toiletries are provided. 200MB of free WiFi is allocated to each guest.

The uninterrupted view of the lake and mountains from our ground floor room was fantastic. It is only a five minute walk into town along the waterfront.

Next time we are in Te Anau we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt7668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and were impressed by the views and great staff. The rooms are plenty big with balconies overlooking the lake and mountains. When visiting Milford and Doubtful Sounds it really is worth staying in Te Anau as it is MUCH closer than Queenstown.

Room Tip: I think best views are probably from 2nd floor--although first is probably fine--all face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mntraveler4648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 22 in Te Anau
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Address: 42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $147 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments have been recently refurbished, has Ample Heating, Flat Screen LCD TVs with Sky television and Telephones in every apartment. The Bathrooms include a Shower and a full Bath with a separate Toilet. Free wireless internet and 24 hour guest laundry. All trips in the Fiordland Area can be arranged at no extra charge. Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Campbells On The Lake Hotel
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing