We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Establishment! Perfect Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Establishment! Perfect Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here one night during winter on our 18 day tour of New Zealand. It was very quiet. The rooms were clean and the view was amazing. Within an easy stroll to town centre. It was nice to come home to a very comfy lounge after a long day driving and sightseeing, probably the only place we stayed throughout our 18 days that had a decent comfortable lounge. It was also the only place along our travels that provided the Australian favourite Milo sachets along with tea, coffee and sugar. The complimentary bathroom supplies were the nicest we had found too, they were from the New Zealand West Coast and they had a lovely feel. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: My tip - choose this motel, you wont be disappointed. Oh and choose a top floor room for a better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank little_darln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    124
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
255
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay very much. Amazing views and rooms are of a good standard presenting value for money. Staff on check in were most helpful including suggesting places to eat and booking our Milford Sound cruise. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandE_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
181 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

When I walked into my first floor apartment an saw the view of Lake Te Anau I was amazed! What a view! The living room/dining area faced the lake and was all glass. Wow! The place had a full kitchen, dining area, living room, bathroom and bedroom. The place was updated and the bathroom was spotless and beautiful. The room was very quiet. The free WIFI worked very well and was appreciated. There were plenty of places to plug in. There was an easy, flat walk into the small town with shops, restaurants, dairy (grocery store) and the Relaxing Journeys boat to the glow worm caves. I felt safe walking back to the motel after the caves even though it was dark. The walk is well lit with sidewalks on each side of the street. As a solo female traveler, I felt pretty safe in the room. It was on the first floor with sliding glass door entryways and the lock was very stiff so there were issues locking the door. The owner did assist in making it functional but I am always a bit leery of the safety of sliding glass doors. The location was perfect for my exit out of town when I departed on the Naked Bus since the stop was next door. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean rooms, friendly staff, free wifi and amazing views of lake Te Anau all at a good proximity to town centre. We had quite a small kitchen but i was still able to whip up dinner for the wife and young fella. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling with a family.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Skillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay there very much, we found the staff friendly and helpful. We had booked an upstairs apartment and it felt like a home away from home, very cosy and warm and with amazing views of the lake. Local supermarket very close, within walking distance and that made it easy to make ourselves dinner and breakfast. Would stay there again

Room Tip: They have a laundry room which provides washing powder, there are quite a few machines so if its qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkLady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The room was a mini-apartment so it was nice because there was a lot of room to breathe. However, the carpets were old (green and retro) and the room was a little dingy. The TV in the bedroom was very small so one had to squint to watch it and the bed was a little uncomfortable. However, the view from the apartment was spectacular and the kitchen had everything you needed if you wished to cook your meals. All in all, it served its purpose. Don't expect luxury - it was an average but comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AM17_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

In our three week travels of NZ, this was by far my favourite motel. The room was bigger than my first apartment! The little kitchen is fantastic, great bathroom with separate toilet (which is a nice change) and big lounge. Amazing views of the lake too. Hosts are also very friendly and willing to help in any way. Perfect.

Room Tip: Pick the top floor, why not :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
1.8 mi away
Blue Thistle Cottages
Blue Thistle Cottages
#9 of 24 in Te Anau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Property: Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Address: 42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments have been recently refurbished, has Ample Heating, Flat Screen LCD TVs with Sky television and Telephones in every apartment. The Bathrooms include a Shower and a full Bath with a separate Toilet. Free wireless internet and 24 hour guest laundry. All trips in the Fiordland Area can be arranged at no extra charge. Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Campbells On The Lake Hotel
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing