We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice "apartment-like" motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very nice "apartment-like" motel”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This motel is more like an apartment with bedroom and bathroom set behind the kitchen/living/eating area. The main area looks over the lake with beautiful views to the mountains. It is situated on the main road through town, but because the bedrooms are in the back of the unit, they are very quiet. The kitchen area is well-stocked with a nice-sized dining table. It was nice to had a doorway between the sleeping area & living area; so an early riser/late nighter doesn't disturb a sleeping partner. The motel is situated close enough to town to be able to walk for restaurants, etc. It is very clean and comfortable. We stayed here 2 nights. The first day, we drove to Mitford Sound, and the second day headed back to Queenstown to fly to Sydney. TeAnau is nicely located from which to travel to both Mitford & QT without spending all day in the car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuchessKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    131
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
68
281
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a room on the first floor which seem larger than those on the ground floor. Loved the balcony with great views of the lake, and the really comfortable leather recliners .
Small kitchen had all we needed.
The room is really large with a separate lounge to the bedroom. Huge bed which is very comfortable.
Nice extra touches like free wifi and free use of washing machine including washing liquid.
Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7CherylK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Comfy, spacious & very clean motel with spectacular views over lake towards mountains. Spent 3 nights in first floor accommodation on tour of South Island. Ideal! Large living/dining area (including 2x leather reclining chairs!) with comfortable partitioned off bedroom area. Well kitted out kitchette with provision of tea/coffee making facilities including ground coffee for cafetiere, renewed daily! Continuous external balcony at first floor level with bench seating, to take in scenery. 5-10 mins walk to town centre - 2x supermarkets, restaurants, other shops, etc. If loaded up, take shortcut down side of motel. Te anau ideal location for walks along lakeside, visiting Lake Manapouri (short drive) & Milford Sound (try www.fiordlandtours.co.nz).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed for 6 nights, came to Te Anau for the peace and tranquility and was not disappointed... I could not fault the service that I received from the staff.
The unit was downstairs and my view from the lounge was fantastic, to be able to sit and have breakfast each morning and soak in that view was magical.
I could not fault the unit, it was very clean, and serviced each day. All my trips were organized and all I had to do was sit on the seat in the morning outside the motel for the bus to pick me up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 202M202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments in January/February 2013 as part of a nine week trip round NZ. Although the motel benefits from a good location and lovely views across the lake, the furniture and décor were a hotchpotch and the rather odd partition between the room entrance and the bedroom made it impossible to block out external light at night. The shower was also poor and suffered from low pressure. Room servicing was very poor with beds left unmade and the rubbish not always removed . On the plus side, the room included a safe and the kitchenette was good. Use of the washing machines was also included and the daily Internet allowance was good. We stayed in more than twenty motels and houses during our tour of NZ (almost all of which were of a high standard) and although this one was one of the most expensive, it was not one of the best. Overall, it provided mediocre value and we would not recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with our friends.
On booking the Motel, they offered to book any tours for us free of charge.
They booked the Glow Worm tour, the Milford and Doubtfull Sounds tours.
The staff were very helpfull.
The rooms are clean with big bedroom, large lounge room and bathroom.
A short walk to the main street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The ratings descriptions are not so helpful. I rate this as 'average' as that is exactly what it is...typical of the mid-priced accommodation available in NZ, which is usually quite good. This establishment ticks all the usual boxes being clean, well equipped and cheerful, helpful staff. Lake front in a 'hotspot' such as Te Anau, I guess the price of $240 for 3 is not unusual. So, whilst I'd happily stay here again for a night or two, it's 'perfectly good' but not 'very good'.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xk140fhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Property: Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Address: 42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments have been recently refurbished, has Ample Heating, Flat Screen LCD TVs with Sky television and Telephones in every apartment. The Bathrooms include a Shower and a full Bath with a separate Toilet. Free wireless internet and 24 hour guest laundry. All trips in the Fiordland Area can be arranged at no extra charge. Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Campbells On The Lake Hotel
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing