We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fiordland Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$129
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$118
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Motel Te Anau(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$70
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bella Vista Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$68
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arran Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$69
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakefront Lodge(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$103
$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$74
$57
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$42
$36
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveler rating
292
39
2
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
39
2
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog cabinexecutive suitepre dinnerstunning viewsmanager andynew zealandbreakfast and dinnergreat wine listmilford soundhuge fireplaceour honeymoonsouth islandlake and mountainsamazing locationother guestsgreat roomcommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 344 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Our stay at Fiordland Lodge was truly magnificent. We were treated like royalty by the manager, Andy, and his two assistants, Lou and Jo, yet at the same time they made us feel like family. They struck just the right chord. Our meals were prepared by a gourmet chef and were the best of our entire two-week New Zealand trip. The views from our room and the dining room were stunning. Andy was very helpful in organizing a day-trip to Milford Sound from the lodge - a do-not-miss experience. I cannot speak highly enough about how wonderful our time was at this lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

6 km out of Te Anau town. Built in 2002 on a ridge, featuring natural timbers & uninterrupted stunning panoramic views of lake and mountains. All rooms including the Great Room/lounge, restaurant and bedrooms capitalise on the views. Flanked by farmland with sheep, cattle; an organic garden provides vegetables for the restaurant. Deluxe room on the second level had superb views. The small restaurant provides dinner from 7 PM, offering 2 choices for entree and 2 for mains as well as several desserts: exquisite meals match top restaurants in Auckland (for example). Menu features local ingredients: the wild venison was perfect. Overall ambience: relaxed quiet luxury with excellent attentive staff. Breakfast from 7 AM was great. High-quality fittings. Expensive but fully justified (cost includes dinner and breakfast, canapés, pre dinner drinks, mini bar). Minor niggles: low shower pressure and only one accessible power plug in the room. A pure NZ experience.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms maximise the stunning views. All rooms look across the lake.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conferencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is the sixth stop on our two week family trip around the South Island and as the old adage says it is by far and away the best place we have stayed in NZ.

Ostensibly this was meant to be a two night stop-over in order to visit Milford Sound but it has become a real experience in itself. The Lodge is not big, 10 bedrooms and 2 log cabins, but the service and standard is really 5 star. We - me, my wife and two teenage sons - stayed in the two bedroom log cabin which is secluded and very comfortable indeed. The Lodge itself is impeccably designed and I is entirely wood constructed. The main lounge area is truly spectacular with floor to roof windows facing out onto Lake Te Anau, the Jackson Peaks and the Murchison Mountains. What a place to relax at the end of the day with a glass of Cloudy Bay watching a beautiful red sky sunset.

The level of service is truly world class and highly personalized. We felt so comfortable here and that is hugely thanks to Andy, Jo and Lou to make this happen.

The food is also outstanding - how many times I could use this word about this place. It is fine dining in the evening - and both evenings the menu changed and the food was beautifully presented. My eldest son is vegetarian and they catered for him extremely well as well. Great choice of NZ wine to boot.

Before dinner there is also complimentary cocktails and canapés to start off a great evening as well.

Apparently Peter Jackson booked the entire place out when filming The Hobbit locally. That should tell you something as well. Recent guest also include Sir Ian McKellon and Andy Sirkis for you LOTR maniacs as well.

We stayed two night s and I could I have stayed a month.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacation472, Manager at Fiordland Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Gary and family,
Thank you so much for feeling inspired to post your review to share your appraisal, we are delighted Fiordland Lodge lived up to your expectations and it was a pleasure to have your family here with us as you concluded your holiday to New Zealand. We were pleased you enjoyed the stunning scenery and pristine wilderness surroundings of Fiordland Lodge.

The difference between a good and great experience is very important to us - in fact it's what we strive for and I really appreciate your kind comments regarding the staff and your comments regarding meals are most appreciated. Our small kitchen team pride on themselves making sure all dietary requests are catered for and craft individual guest menus to accommodate all tastes and requirements.

I enjoyed our chats and good luck in support of your team Liverpool in the EPL, 1990 is a long time to wait since your last premiership title. Have a safe journey back to Scotland and all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Wonderful lodge with super scenic view, very nice room, i love the bath room.
Delicious food and warm service. We travelled in December, but i would like to revisit over winter. Either way I will definately comes back again...

Room Tip: Forget not to try NZ' s famous chardonnay *Cloudy Bay*
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Fiordland Lodge was the top accommodation (by far the best) that we had during our 1 month trip around New Zealand. Andy and his staff were very warm and welcoming and the service, food and room was wonderful. The lodge and property itself and the surrounding area is just unbelievable and we were very sorry to have to leave after 2 days. We could have stayed forever. We highly recommend the Fiordland Lodge if you are in the Te Anau area, and make a point to visit there if you haven't already done so.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews