We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“need to improve”
Review of Fiordland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fiordland Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We spent 2 nights at the lodge. It was a beautiful location with stunning fiordland views. However the staff (reception notably) were very unfriendly and I was astonished at their disinterest in our requests or questions. We would NOt stay here again - it was our only bad hotel experience in New Zealand over a 4 week trip. Pity as it was also a very expensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank brusselstravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 317 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2007

Splendid views of Lake Te Anau and Fiordland, but very remote, which makes it difficult to use anything but the in-house restaurant.

Strangely for such a highly regarded lodge with a long waiting list, we did not enjoy our stay because of the staff. Don’t know if there had been a row, but there was an atmosphere you cut with a knife, total silence and not a smile between them. The seats in the lounge were arranged back to back as if to prevent conversations breaking out, you could hear a pin drop. We couldn’t understand why they needed to have a log fire in mid summer, but laughed to ourselves that it was probably to thaw out the frosty atmosphere.

Consequently we didn’t enjoy our evening meal in the restaurant, everyone was whispering and there was certainly no laughter, except us of course, laughing at the staff taking themselves so seriously. It is apparent that significant profit comes from the wine list which, whilst superb, is on the expensive side. I decided I wouldn’t be able to consume a full bottle of wine, so plumped to buy it by the glass @ NZ$17 instead of NZ$140 for a bottle which retails at NZ$28 in the local shops; that was mistake number one, all I got was a third of a small glass, so thinking it was a taster asked for the rest, that was mistake number two, from then on service deteriorated and they couldn’t get us out quickly enough.

Notwithstanding the atmosphere the place was fantastic. It’s as if the Architect got the scale wrong on the drawings, everything about the place is scaled up and huge, the joinery appears to be made from solid logs.

The rooms are large, there is no air conditioning, but free standing fans are supplied and the ground floor doors open onto a lawn. The en suite shower room was very nice.

In conclusion; a fantastic location, fantastic building, fantastic views, but spoilt on this occasion by complacent sulking staff. Maybe the staff incident was a one-off, let’s hope so, in which case I would highly recommend Fiordland Lodge, but the place is expensive by NZ standards and as a result of my personal experience I’m going to suggest you save yourself some money and go somewhere that appreciates their customers.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2007

We were on our honeymoon (in late Nov) traveling throughout both islands and this was one of our 2 favorite lodges that we stayed at. We ended up staying in a two room suite with high ceilings and a balcony off the living room (that also had a fireplace). The bed was very comfortable and although it was chilly out with much rain, we didn't have any trouble with warmth (and I'm always cold). The balcony over looked beautiful Te Anau Lake. Really everything was perfect and there were too many good things to list them all.

The lodge is beautifully set up with the common living area split amoung two levels. The bottom floor with a GIANT fireplace, the most comfortable lounge chairs and couches and the tall, tall windows with the incredible view of the lake and mountains behind the lake. After our long drive to get to Te Anau, sitting in a lounge chair with a glass of wine taking in the view hit the spot! The upstairs loft-like room (overlooking the downstairs and still having the nice view of the lake) had a nice library and more seating. As I'm typing this, I realize that one might think that there are many rooms, but there are not. There is just a lot of space to spread out and relax. The breakfast/dinner area is right off the downstairs room and also has that same perfect view of the lake. Having dinner with the sun setting behind the mountains was a dream.

We found the staff very nice and accomodating. We had asked about hikes in the area and they spent 15 minutes or more discussing the many options with us (we had questions regarding good bad weather options etc...). The lodge is convienently located just off the hwy outside of the town (don't worry no noise to speak of!) and was an easy few minutes drive into town. Great place to base yourself to explore the Fiorland Park.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scoobytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2006

We stayed at the Fiordland Lodge as part of our 3-week honeymoon in the South Island. We stayed in about 10 different lodges/hotels on our trip and this was one of the very best.

We loved the building and its interior and the attention to luxury in the bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast and evening meal was included in our rate and we were impressed with the quality and range offered. We had a great stay with the staff and owners (and labrador!) making us feel very special on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkMember-Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2006

Others on TripAdvisor have written about the beautiful architecture and location of Fiordland Lodge, so I won't repeat that. One reviewer called it "cold", but he meant it with reference to the interior temperature at the time of his stay. (While we were there in January, it actually was very hot, and they would only turn on the a/c in the dining room.) But to us the place was "cold" anyway in the sense that most of the guests drawn there (and who can afford to stay there) were aloof and self-important. Our verdict: great building (albeit given to uncomfortable temperature swings inside), great view, high prices, cold and unwelcoming atmosphere.

Stayed: January 2006
5  Thank Wyomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2005

Outstanding architecture and design of rooms and lobby with wooden beams, central fireplace and lots of windows. Excellent view of the lake and the Mountains. Basically there was not eating in the hotel a part from the fireplace in the lobby and a small water heater they brought to our room after we complained of the cold. Corridors were cold like cellars and even the dining room was cold. The front doors of the hotel are made of wood and the was a big gap between the two so cold air could come in very easily.
I could not understand how this hotel has an air conditioning system but not a centralized heating system. Considering the prices they are charging for a room, I cannot accept such a deficiency.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ermejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2005

Fiordland Lodge is a terrific place to stay while enjoying the spectacular scenery of the Sounds and surrounding parks. Everyting was first rate -- the lodge itself, the food and the staff. They went out of their way to be helpful and responsive. After a great day of touring or just sitting back with a good book, you can enjoy the surroundings with an espresso or a drink. The wine tastings were a wonderful way to learn a bit more about some of New Zealand's great wines and enjoy the company of other guests. Dinners and breakfasts were excellent.

We'd definitely go back and have enthusiastically recommended Fiordland Lodge to friends who are planning trips to the South Island.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxwell327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
3.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
3.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
3.7 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
625 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
169 reviews
3.6 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lodge

Address: 472 Te Anau Milford Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9679, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: $552 - $866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fiordland Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fiordland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel Te Anau
Fiordland Lodge Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing