We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly, but not luxury..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Thistle Cottages
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly, but not luxury..”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a nice clean place to stay with friendly hosts ( though some reviews are a bit OTT ) .
Pricey for what it is but good to be able to self cater. Described as "luxury" on the sign is pushing it though.
Upside: Out of town location and on the road to the Sound. Good space, tv and wifi
Down side: Spongy beds and very basic supplies ---i.e. one small coffee sachet for a large coffee plunger and no milk...(at these prices would be nice to be more generous). No oven just microwave and two electric rings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konichiwalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexterteanau, Owner at Blue Thistle Cottages, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We as a rule don't respond to reviews, but felt this one needed addressing. Firstly, we have no record of this person ever having stayed here, and having sent them a letter via this site and never having a response we definitely question it. To say that other comments are OTT is insulting to our other guests. And to say that we are expensive is obvious that they have never travelled far. Considering that a very large portion of our business are either repeat guests or guests wishing to extend their stay speaks for itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    28
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
163
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is such a great place, you want to stay forever. Peter and Annette have created this peaceful and beautiful environment to relax and chill at, after your days outing. Cottages are fantastic, with all the comforts of home. nice size with comfortable finishes and a kitchen that has all the basic essentials. Positioned just outside the town centre of Te Anau ( less than 3 min drive), allows the peacefulness, yet easy accses to town should you need it . Will definitely stay again .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013

What a find. We were only going to stay one night, but ended up staying three. The hosts Peter and Annette made us so welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The cottage was just what we were looking for, with good size living area the kitchen was great, we were on holiday after all and had no intention of cooking main meals, there were plenty of places to eat in Te Anau.The bedroom was lovely with a very comfy bed and everything was spotless.
The views from our cottage were stunning and we were only about 5 to 10 minutes from the town.
We would highly recommend Blue Thistle Cottages to anyone looking for home comforts and have already told loads of our friends about this wonderful find. If we ever go back to New Zealand we will be staying again at these cottages

Room Tip: I All cottages are well situated and are of the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3147sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexterteanau, Owner at Blue Thistle Cottages, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Its people like you who make it all worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Loved our stay was ready for a more personal type of accomodation would highly recommend the Blue Thistle to anyone who dislikes corporate accomodation . Cottages are beautifully turned out felt instantly at home in ours .Hosts were extremely accomodating left feeling as if we had been staying with friends. The animals are great and would be a bonus if you were travelling with children. Scenery is idyllic not that far out of town you do need a car though , cooking facilities are adequate you are on holiday who wants to cook a big meal! Bathrooms and bedlinen are lovely and quality products supplied.Will definetly recommend to friends and faily and if over that way again would certainly look to stay with them again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne-Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorian
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

These cottages were in a beautiful picturesque location with well maintained gardens. It was great that the WiFi router was in the cottage (ie. very good signals) and the Sky TV included the movie channels. The only qualm we had was that the cooking facilities were very limited. The only cooking appliance is an electric frying pan (and a microwave), so there is no stove to cook separate dishes.

Room Tip: Don't expect to be able to cook a full meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayMaker859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The cottages are specious with a great view, each has a big living room with kitchen, very nice bedroom and bath, the hosts are very welcoming and friendly, who will help in information or action, gave us a ride to the DOC to start our Milford track. We stayed there for 2 nights before the track and another after, and we enjoyed every minute of it. It is a little out of town, so one would need a car. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Thistle Cottages for 2 nights on our honeymoon, as a base for a trip to Milford Sound. The cottages were built by the owner Peter, and ours was cozy and warm on the rainy afternoon that we checked in. Blue Thistle is less than 5 minutes drive from town and the cottages have a beautiful view of the mountains. Peter and Annette are great hosts - they provided fresh milk from their dairy cows - Peter even stopped by to let us take a look at his day old calf - and the cottage was impeccably clean! We wish we could have spent more time in our cozy cottage!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.8 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
1.8 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
2.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
1.8 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
1.8 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Thistle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Thistle Cottages

Property: Blue Thistle Cottages
Address: 168 Te Anau- Milford Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9640, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious well appointed cottages with superb views set on 10 acres, 1.5 Km from Te Anau on the road to Milford Sound. Cottages are self-contained self-catering. All cottages have free WiFi, all sky (cable) channels. Quality linen and fluffy robes. A very friendly german shorthaired pointer will greet you..And we have 2 cats and several friendly Dexter cows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Thistle Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Thistle Cottages Hotel Te Anau
Blue Thistle Cottages Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing