We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and very nice hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Thistle Cottages
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location and very nice hosts”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent two nights with Peter & Annette and thoroughly enjoyed our stay - great operators. The cottages are very comfortable and a great place to stay if you like a little bit of country close enough to the township.
If you enjoy boats Peter will spend some time showing you the boat he is building - good luck Peter with the final stages of the build.
Suggestion - a good sized casserole dish would be handy for future guests.
If we are in Te Anau in the future we would stay at Blue Thistle again.

Room Tip: If you do not have to be in the middle of town this is the place for you - very peaceful and only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    28
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
163
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Blue Thistle cottages was a fantastic place to stay in Te Anau, and the perfect base for exploring Milford Sound. Peter and Annette are lovely hosts, and a lot of fun. The cottages are like new, cozy, well appointed, and have amazing views of the area. I would go back any chance I had.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelin_dave095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our second stay at Blue Thistle in 9 months. We loved it so much on our first stay that was only 2 nights long, we had to come back. This time we stayed for 7. Peter and Annette are absolutely the biggest reason for our return, as well as, the peace and comfort of the cottages and their surroundings. On both visits we were greeted like old friends. The warm and welcoming atmosphere of the cottages and Peter and Annette truly makes it feel like home. Each time we were there Peter and Annette helped us make arrangements with some of the local businesses for fantastic tours and adventures. Their experience and familiarity with Te Anau and the surrounding area allows them to make excellent suggestions for everything from dining and shopping to site seeing and relaxing. We discovered that Internet was hard to find or pretty expensive in New Zealand, but Peter and Annette offered theirs for free which made it nice to connect with family back home during our stay. We have every intention of returning again, hopefully someday soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_and_Deb_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Blue Thistle. Peter welcomed us warmly and brought over fresh milk for our coffee. He answered questions we had about staying in Te Anau, which was a great place to visit in NZ. The best part of our stay was the view from our patio - we enjoyed drinking coffee and wine on our patio and taking in the tranquil surroundings. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the heat lamps in the bathroom were fabulous during cool nights... though a bathtub may have been even better. The self-contained kitchen was great for preparing quick and easy breakfasts - but lacks an oven and cooktop so cooking is limited to basics. Word to the wise - we learned the hard way that check-out is at 10 am!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesssince83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our favorite accommodation on our 2.5 week stay in New Zealand. Excellent location outside of Te Anau on your way to Milford Sound. The cottages are adorable and have a lovely view. We had take aways for dinner each night and ate at our private picnic table overlooking the lake/mountains - it was so lovely, we did that both nights of our stay! The bed and bathroom were top notch and there is free wifi/sky channels. The owners are so nice and helpful. I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Blue Thistle over the new year period 2012/13 for 3 nights. Peter and Annette made us feel more than welcome in one of their fantastically renovated cottages where your left to relax at your own pace surrounded by all the comforts of home. When your ready to tick off some activities Peter/Annette are more than helpful with arrangements, as we found out especially when Milford Sound was closed due to poor weather (thanks again Annette for the Doubtful Sound tip - much appreciated). Highly reccommend staying here, you wont regret it for one minute.

Room Tip: All the cottages are fantastic just different bed configerations - and all will receive a friendly v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I had Cottage #3 and the view from the front verandah was stunning, looking over a few cows and over to glimpses of the lake and onto to snow topped mountains. The Cottage was well appointed with a great bed, linen, very fluffy robes, excellent toiletries and the cable TV was a bonus. We also enjoyed several visits from Paris the dog which made it even more like home. Peter was a very friendly host. Even though there are four cottages, we felt like we were the only people staying there as it was very quiet and private. I would highly recommend these cottages if you are looking for self-contained accommodation in Te Anau.

Room Tip: I can recommend Cottage #3 as it is on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.8 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.8 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
2.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
1.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.7 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Thistle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Thistle Cottages

Property: Blue Thistle Cottages
Address: 168 Te Anau- Milford Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9640, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious well appointed cottages with superb views set on 10 acres, 1.5 Km from Te Anau on the road to Milford Sound. Cottages are self-contained self-catering. All cottages have free WiFi, all sky (cable) channels. Quality linen and fluffy robes. A very friendly german shorthaired pointer will greet you..And we have 2 cats and several friendly Dexter cows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Thistle Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Thistle Cottages Hotel Te Anau
Blue Thistle Cottages Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing