We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveler rating
158
145
51
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
145
51
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the heated bathroom floor the kitchen milford sound quiet street town centre spa bath little things well equipped kitchenette bedroom apartment new zealand nigel motel lake bathrobes microwave accommodation nz
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 375 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

The Anchorage Motel was excellent for what we required.
The unit has everything you need for a short or longer stay- very comfortable bed, additional heating available for winter, kitchenette and own BBQ if you wanted to eat in, sky-tv and DVDs available to borrow, full bathroom amenities and great shower.
The main reason we stayed was a base for going to local attactions- milford sounds, glowworm caves. The motel is a short, flat walk away from all stopping points and many nearby cafes/restaurants/shops/the lake.
Only downside was a lack of storage in the bathroom- however it was more than made up for with plenty of storage in the main room.
The owners were great at recommending where to go and more than happy to offer advice.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine201886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thanks for your review - we do try to provide those little xtra's and aim to make the stay enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Filthy stained carpeting, stained bedding, all kinds of hair found throughout room. This establishment (as do many motels on the South Island) leaves the windows open in the unit prior to arrival. I can only assume to “air” it out, which can leave you with a room full
of flies or in this case moths....
So dirty, we laid the bathroom towels in the floor in order to navigate the room without feeling to grossed out.
Te Anau is a very underwhelming, almost run down little town. There is absolutely no reason to go there other than as a stopover for Milford Sound. In the future I would suggest taking the airplane ride or hiring a coach for the drive. We would have been more comfortable doing the extra drive to Queenstown than staying in Te Anau. NZ tourism industry is just pushing this one!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank Briana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thanks - I don't know what more I can say other than to apologise for hosting your group. Obviously our motel and Te Anau did not live up to your expectations. I hope the rest of your holiday was more enjoyable and suited to what you wanted. I have passed your concerns onto my housekeeping team. They are gutted about your review also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Stayed at the Anchorage Motel although some of the reveiws were a little mixed, as we wanted an overnight room before a three day trek on the Hollyford Trail.
The room was large and clean and kitchen very good and I feel some of the reviews are a little harsh. It isn't 5 star and neither are the prices it's a motel and does that job very well.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenevieveMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thanks for your review. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2018

The Anchorage Motel provided excellent accommodations for a good price in a convenient location. We stayed at a one bedroom apartment. It was clean, spacious, with a well-appointed kitchenette and a private yard with a bbq grill. The bathroom was clean, with lots of hot water with good pressure and fine eco-friendly toiletries. The motel was within walking distance to town and the lake/marina. The reception staff was kind, courteous and willing to help.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

We love hosting guests from all around the world and wish you could have stayed longer also. Thanks for your review and enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2018

Interesting, most of the hotels on the street start with an "a" this one included. We were here for three nights as a base of operations to visit both the Milford and Doubtful sounds. Room was clean. You park right in front of your door, partly roofed so dry. Good wifi. We had our travel agent book this place and had a unit with a kitchen, as we could then go to the food store and prepare it at the room.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thanks for your review. All the motel business in Te Anau have been around a while and when they were named, paper directories were the only way a motel could be found - pre-internet days hence everyone wanted to be first in the directory and named their business with a name starting with A.... Just a bit of history. We hope you enjoyed your NZ holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews