We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the 6 motels on our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Best of the 6 motels on our trip”
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Our party of four stayed three nights in this well located and friendly motel. The two bedroom chalet offered acceptable quality fittings and comfortable accommodation whilst equipment, parking and furniture were all very good . The management and cleaning staff were excellent, helpful , friendly and efficient. The motel has a good choice of free DVDs, extensive literature about local attactions and good laundry facilities. It is a Golden Chain motel so guests should get a loyalty card for 10% off rates. The location of this motel is very good, being just a few minutes walk from the lake itself. The lake features a very extensive Information Centre, with lots to take the interest on a wet day. Continuing past there is an enjoyable lakeside walk leading to the famous Kepler Trail. Te Anau is a great base from which to explore Fjordland and Milford Sound in particular. From here you have the advantage of being much nearer to the fjords than Queenstown so the opportunity to be flexible with trips there (and beat the weather) is much better.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    138
    47
    11
    5
See reviews for
63
218
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Friendly owners and quiet comfortable clean rooms. One block back form the Lake front 3 - min walk, Stay in Te Anau for the Glow Worm Caves and so you can pick your day for the trip to Milford Sound- be warned it rains 2 out of 3 days at Milford!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MABris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

My new wife (of 3 days!) arrived at the Anchorage after researching the local accommodation fully. We chose the Anchorage for its great reviews and also the fabulous looking rooms. On arrival we had been moved into the adjacent 3 bedroomed cottage, which was nothing like what we had hoped for. The cottage was very tired, in fact I wouldn't have stayed there as a backpacker, as there was an odd odour. Eventually the owners wife moved us to a new studio, after much discussion, even though other members of the wedding party were staying there for 2 nights as well. The whole episode left a rather bad taste, and the owners said that they had emailed us 1 month before, to explain they had overbooked. We had received no email before we left, and had only been in New Zealand for 2 weeks. Nice units, very disappointed with the atitude initially of the owners. Would not chose to stay again, as looking at some other reviews, other people have had a similar problem. I have to say that this was the only problem with accommodation in New Zealand in 3 weeks.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review, January 27, 2010
Just a short answer - yes we were overbooked and asked these guests about relocating to the cottage via e-mail.- The cottage adjoins the motel and we do not promote as being at the same quality level as the motel. The guests did not answer the e-mail so it was assumed that they were O.K with the transfer. Upon checking in - they were not happy with it and we spent quite a bit of time relocating a couple of other guests so that these guests could stay in two units located within the motel block. They did not have a problem with the standard of accomdation we offered at the motel and this report is not a fair reflection on the motel. The cottage is maintained a a three star plus level however is not at the 4star+ level of the motel and is promotes as such. This is always explained to guests who book it and was explained to them in the e-mail they were sent(address provided with their booking).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

clean, bright, well equipped and well maintained
friendly staff
nice quiet location

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hickton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Nigel upgraded us at no charge from a 1 bedroom to a 2 bedroom. This was nice as our son travels with us (he is 35 so he doesn't fit into any "traveled with" category). This is the first time I've seen an LCD TV in each bedroom and a large one in the lounge. All three of us could watch what we wanted at the same time. The galley was very well equipped and the appliances were top notch. The bathroom was also very nice and modern. Very nicely done renovations and very clean.

When the renovation was carried out they had to work with the existing structure. The only deficiency was lack of closet space in the #1 bedroom.

There was a charge for wifi access and it would be nice to see it included in the room cost.

If we ever return to Te Anau we will certainly stay here. The Anchorage was in a good location for us as we took both the Milford Sound cruise and the Doubtful Sound cruise (second time in each case - great weather for prior visits and lousy weather this time).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandriver125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Good clean room. The spa bath was very welcome after a long day at Doubtful! Our only complaint was that the WiFi charges were very high compared to other places we've stayed - we went to the library for free WiFi instead.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We were lucky to be upgraded from 1 bedroom to 2 bedrooms. The facility was recently renovated all modern design, clean and spacious. The design of the kitchen was a bit funny that you had to bend behind a cupboard for the stove but we did make good use of it. Loved the bathroom so much - large bathroom and heated towel racks and finally a proper showerhead that you could hold onto. There were flat screen TVs in every room and lots of power sockets. Walking distance to beautiful lake and town center. We drove so it was even more convenient.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Property: Anchorage Motel Apartments
Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing