We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's like in a brand new home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's like in a brand new home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

We were lucky to be upgraded from 1 bedroom to 2 bedrooms. The facility was recently renovated all modern design, clean and spacious. The design of the kitchen was a bit funny that you had to bend behind a cupboard for the stove but we did make good use of it. Loved the bathroom so much - large bathroom and heated towel racks and finally a proper showerhead that you could hold onto. There were flat screen TVs in every room and lots of power sockets. Walking distance to beautiful lake and town center. We drove so it was even more convenient.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    137
    47
    11
    5
See reviews for
63
218
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

We were here between doing Doubtful sound and Milford Sound. It was an impeccably clean motel room that was set up to be used as an apartment, complete with all kitchen utensils and utilities you would ever need. The heating was very much appreciated. It was close to town, on the street that looks residential and is very quiet, but seems to have all the motels on it. Check-in was efficient, check-out even more so, and they were helpful at the front desk when asked. Overall, even if it lacked a bit of character, it was a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanuckabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2009

we only booked one night , so bearable,the motel rooms may have been updated , but the cottage which sounds quaint is not good value for money old and tired,nothing nice about it1

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HamiltonWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

After an overpriced and small room in Wanaka this place was happily the exact opposite. A clean, spacious room with all that we needed for $95 (or thereabouts) a night. 10 mins walk into town and very helpful owners. I would happily stay there again. I think all the recent reviews of the Anchorage are very accurate.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pooley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

We too chose this accommodation based on reviews here but Trip Advisor didn't let us down.
We found the Motel to be very clean,comfortable,spacious and newly renovated. It had everything we needed and more- the kitchen was very handy and well equipped.
Well priced and in a good location,in walking distance to the lake and town.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

I chose this motel based on Tripadvisor's reviews. Clearly, I was wrong to follow the "ratings". So I am here to correct this. I've noticed a few things that are not so perfect as some reviewers seem to think.

I noticed blood stains on the bed sheets which was quite shocking. The bathroom has an odour of some sort, probably due to dampness or lack of cleaning agent. And the toilet cover was broken, please fix it!

Shocking.... and I am surprised they got 4 and 1/2 stars (Qualmark).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1_foodiedoodie_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smalltownlad, Owner/mamager at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review, October 26, 2009
We are sorry that the guests did not enjoy their stay with us. Our rooms are cleaned to a hight standard as mentioned in other reviews and apoligise that to these guests that it was not up to their standard. Also regarding the broken toilet seat, we were not awear of this and if it had been brought to the management's attention, it would have been replaced/fixed straigh away. We do not have broken toilet seats left in rooms. As far as the blood stains on sheets - all our laundry is done on site and by myself personally and in ten years, I have never had this. Every sheet is washed/dried/folded and ironed, all of which ensures a high standard. I can assure guests that this has not happened before and am at a loss to explain why the guests found a stain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

My wife's idea was - Looks like the owners made a note of all the things that they found incovenient when they stayed at other places, and avoided each and every one of them at Anchorage Motel.
Our stay here was the best accommodation experience we've had for a long long time. Keep it up Nigel and Fiona.
We stayed only for 1 night. But, the next time around, we will plan a longer stay here :) .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasTux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Property: Anchorage Motel Apartments
Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing