We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Motel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Free wifi (worked well), heated bathroom floor and towel rack, very handy in the cold. Close to all amenities, clean and comfortable. Satellite tv was also a bonus! Overall, a great place and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    126
    45
    9
    4
See reviews for
53
205
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster East, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very comfortable accommodation and a good location in a quiet street.. Neat and clean with many facilities. Had all cooking facilities and were able to cook meals and have our own breakfast. WIFI was free with no limits, one of the few places that offered this service. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayCeetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in February. The motel was nice and clean, our room was big and had a really modern bathroom and the staff were really friendly and helpful providing us with a map and restaurant recommendations. The motel is in a great location and its easy to walk from there to the main shops and restaurants. Definitely worth a stay if you're visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessh1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent two nights here on our way around NZ. The perfect place to stay, only 2 hours to Milford Sound. Good sized rooms with kitchen, under floor heating in the bathroom (luxury) free internet ( the only free one we had in NZ). Parking at your door. Enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Anchorage is a great motel. We had a one bedroom apartment which was very spacious and clean. There was a little patio out back with a barbecue so we took advantage of the opportunity and picked up steaks and veges at the local Fresh Choice supermarket. The motel is located in a very nice area and within a 5 minute drive to the town centre. Free internet was a plus. Good location for touring the Milford Sound as our tour bus picked us up right outside the motel. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The motel is in a mixed residential and tourist motels area. About 5 minutes drive from town center with restaurants and a Fresh Choice supermarket (Australians note: Just like a Safeway Woolworths, with plenty of Australian goods and Woolworth's Home Brand inside).

Not only the rooms are large, they are also very bright, all with large ceiling to ground windows and sliding doors.

Beds and furnitures are clean. They also have kitchens, with stove, microwave oven, and also pots and cutlery. For families with kids, you can make your own meals to save money if you like.

All rooms are on ground level, easy access to your car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azzsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Free wifi is a significant advantage after staying in a Queenstown hotel. Anchorage Motel is very clean and not far from the lake and shops. Also it has a little garden space to sun yourself and eat.It is ideal for a preparing a leisurely trip to Milford Sound 242 km round trip from Te Anau without intermediate petrol stations.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cymro39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#7 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Property: Anchorage Motel Apartments
Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing