We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel. Exterior is deceiving!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Expected this place to be a typical motel. The exterior looks old but the rooms are new. It looks like they refurbished the place. They've done a great job because the room is modern, clean & comfortable and has everything you need. They have free wifi and the shower is really good. Little touches that we noticed was that they heated up the room before we arrived, gave us a bottle of milk instead of the little mini single serves and gave us two extra towels. If you're stopping in Te Anau, you should definitely stay at this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chongette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 354 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had a great stay at the Anchorage for 2 nights in early May 2012. The weather was amazing, and it was a great way to break the journey on the way to Milford sound. The drive from Queenstown to Milford was nothing spectacular as compared to the other drives we did in south island. On some parts of the road it was particularly sunny with the mid-day sun beating down upon us sharply as we drove onto Te Anau, Sun glasses a must!

1. Booking - We booked directly on their website and got what I believe is the best deal. We had a 2-bedroom apartment, and we paid NZ $ 135 per night which was good.

2. Location - it is located on a quiet street, but then all of Te Anau is really quiet anyway! The street in fact has a lot of motels in it, and once you reach the end of the street, turn left, and you are bang in front to the beautiful lake! A further 3-4 min drive gets you to the city centre. Too far to walk, but then you obviously have a car..

3. Mainly Seafood - at The lake - This is a car-stall parked just across the lake near the garden, Amazing Blue cod fish, not to be missed. NZ$ 8 for a big piece. Highly recommended!

4. The apartment - Excellent. Clean, milk was provided upon check-in. The host was a little laid back kind of fellow, but helpful. TV in each room, tea/coffee/hot choc provided with full kitchen amenities. heater in each room + the bathroom. Excellent toiletries used of Nature Earth, extra towels provided, heated towel rails... this was a superbly furnished apartment! Free DVD collection at the reception was an added bonus. A travel adapter was also given for charging out phones etc.

5. Garden - there's a small garden in the middle with a fair sized trampouline. My kid had a blast jumping upon this!

6. Internet - FREE internet! Password and log in mentioned in the room.

7. Milford Sound - we did the milford cruise with Jucy, We had their car so we got one free adult ticket on their boat! It was an excellent ride, and it doesnt matter which boat you go on. They're all pretty much the same, but I would recommend Jucy. The coach is also fine which picked us up from the Anchorage and drove us to the Milford sound with lots of stops. Simon was the coach driver, excellent chap. Great collection of Kiwi Boys music! Hahaha...

Finally, if you are going to Milford from Queenstown, it is highly recommended that you stop for 2 nights at Te Anau. And the Anchorage is a great place to sleep. Cozy and comfy.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Carry sunglasses and sunblock!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RainmanMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and used it for a base to do the Doubtful Sound day cruise. The motel was very well appointed, with bed was great, the kitchen had everything we needed to self cater and the room was really warm with lots of heating options, air conditioning, electric blankets, under floor heating in the bathroom and a heater in the bathroom. Nigel, the owner was helpful with local information. Would definitely stay again and recommend this motel to all friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneb24412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, which was clean ,warm but basic. The motel is in a quiet area a couple of streets back from the lake,it takes about 5 mins to walk to the lake. The staff are friendly and helpful. I would recommend if you wanted a basic motel away from the lake.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindadownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Thanks to reading the reviews we ended up at the Anchorage and it was just great. Very clean, very warm, very friendly, and excellent value. We will be back. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyne47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Considering the price you've paid, this is the best choice to stay in Te Anua. Complete facilities that you need for a good stay and relax - Sky TV, DVD player and DVD for free rent, complete kitchen for good cooking, modern toilet and shower and etc. Location is a bit outside but within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t000n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We took 2 rooms here, one with a spa bath and one regular double room. The rooms were both very nice and the bath was amazing. The staff were friendly and helpful. It's not a lake side motel but it's very close to the lake view. Seemed like excellent value for money. Would recommend to anyone visiting Te Anau

Room Tip: get the spa bath, it's awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $108 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing