We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed here for two nights on my way to Milford Sound. It is three bedroom house. The kitchen is modern and the bathroom is quite nice. Bedrooms are big and tidy. And there are five heaters in the house. I am sure you won't feel cold.......The dining room is very big, too. And it is about 1 hour 45 mins from here to Milford Sound. At lease five restaurants and one big supermarket in Te Anau Central. Only 2 mins drive from here. Very handy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    138
    47
    11
    5
See reviews for
63
218
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on our way up to Milford Sound. We love this place - room was spacious, bathroom was huge, kitchenette was very well-stocked and self-sufficient. The last part was actually quite important as we had to make our breakfasts (no breakfast included in room rate) and packed lunches during our trek around Milford Sound. So the well-stocked kitchenette was very useful. What's great is that housekeeping also cleaned our used dishes and glasses. There was also free in room wifi and cable tv. Location was just a short drive from town (walkable as well, but we preferred to drive at night). All in all, the room felt very homely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trueillusion02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Excellent location, close to town. Comfy beds and top quality amenities. The ideal bookend to our Milford Track experience. Owner very accommodating, allowing us to leave our vehicle at the motel while we walked the track and quick to track us down when we left our cell phone behind! Will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Clean modern rooms. Great toiletries!! All the mod cons including free DVDs to hire. It really impressed us for the very affordable price we paid. Excellent!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OshXman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

A traditional motel layout with a fairly small Studio room with Queen bed.
Clean and modern with new appliances and all the necessary mod cons.
Located one block back from the lakefront and a flat 5 minute walk to town and a wide range of restaurants, cafes and shops. Recommend a riotous time with the Italian owner of La Doce Vita, and great food, also a good steak at Keplers.
Stayed 2 nights separated by the Milford overnighter and left the rental car on the road outside the motel - all good.
Would recommend a good, regular sweep up of the concrete areas to clear away cigarette butts, dust, leaves, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busselton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Exceptionally clean and comfortable modern rooms. Close to lake and restaurants.
quality amenities, excellent value

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Anchorage served us just fine. The location of our room within the motel (in a corner of the L Shape) was probably not the best within the complex but heavens, no worries we enjoyed our stay. The room was very good it had every thing we needed and it was in good shape. Free Internet was useful. Also the man at receoption was very helpful and having access to the bicycles on our first afternoon was a pleasant surprise. We peddled a good few kilometres around the lake front. After the ride we relaxed in the sun on the motel lawn, specifically on the very comfortable loungers with a bottle of wine and biscuits and dip. It was good. We enjoyed our stay at The Anchorage. The standard of accommodation in NZ is very good, this was just another good choice we made with the help of Tripadvior, thank you to the relevant reviewers. The only thing that we really did not like about our room was that the reverse cycle heating did not seem to work but it did not cause us a problem. I should have mentioned it to the manager, that is, for his information.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Property: Anchorage Motel Apartments
Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing