We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional format motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Traditional format motel”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

A traditional motel layout with a fairly small Studio room with Queen bed.
Clean and modern with new appliances and all the necessary mod cons.
Located one block back from the lakefront and a flat 5 minute walk to town and a wide range of restaurants, cafes and shops. Recommend a riotous time with the Italian owner of La Doce Vita, and great food, also a good steak at Keplers.
Stayed 2 nights separated by the Milford overnighter and left the rental car on the road outside the motel - all good.
Would recommend a good, regular sweep up of the concrete areas to clear away cigarette butts, dust, leaves, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    138
    47
    11
    5
See reviews for
63
218
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
busselton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Exceptionally clean and comfortable modern rooms. Close to lake and restaurants.
quality amenities, excellent value

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Anchorage served us just fine. The location of our room within the motel (in a corner of the L Shape) was probably not the best within the complex but heavens, no worries we enjoyed our stay. The room was very good it had every thing we needed and it was in good shape. Free Internet was useful. Also the man at receoption was very helpful and having access to the bicycles on our first afternoon was a pleasant surprise. We peddled a good few kilometres around the lake front. After the ride we relaxed in the sun on the motel lawn, specifically on the very comfortable loungers with a bottle of wine and biscuits and dip. It was good. We enjoyed our stay at The Anchorage. The standard of accommodation in NZ is very good, this was just another good choice we made with the help of Tripadvior, thank you to the relevant reviewers. The only thing that we really did not like about our room was that the reverse cycle heating did not seem to work but it did not cause us a problem. I should have mentioned it to the manager, that is, for his information.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Anchorage is one street back from the premium Lake Shore drive location but is still conveniently close to the lake, shops and restaurants. The management is very helpful and the rooms are roomy, well maintained and very clean. There is good quality FREE WiFi and a full range of cable TV channels available. This was easlily the best value I have so far found during a two week tour of the South island. Parking spaces are a little cramped for a larger car or 4WD but there is plenty of room in the street outside if required.

An ideal staging point for a visit to Milford Sound and I would be very happy to return there if in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. Our aim is to provide a quality expierance and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and noticed all the extra's that we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great location, close to the lake. We got a 1 bedroom and it was ok, little dated and the one we had was not like in the photos on the web. Porter cot was not set up so we had to wait for the guy to get it and once it was delivered I had to set it all up myself. Room seemed pretty quiet. If you just want somewhere to sleep them this place will meet that

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do have many different rooms with many having their own character hence the slightly different look from the room that was booked throughthe travel agent. The cot was delivered to your room straight after you arrived which is our policy. We always check with guests on arrival as some request get a bit confused when booked via travel agents and it can be a bit embrassing when a cot is set up and the customer did not want one. We do let guests set up the cots themselves as this way they can make it up and place it where they want it and make up the bed with the bedding they think will suit their infant. Pleased the you had a good sleep and found it quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The Anchorage is located one street back from the lake. It is an older motel which seems to be the norm in Te Anau. Although the room was generally quite clean, I noticed some areas that were missed -- a couple of hairs in the sink, and dust in the kitchen. The public areas of the motel -- walkways and reception area -- needed a good sweeping and vacuuming.
The kitchen was well-equipped and the wifi and TV worked well -- appreciated after a windy day on Doubtful Sound! The motel staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Marigoldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We have used your review for further staff training and to remind the cleaning staff about these issues. They were also not happy that you found a couple of areas that needed attention and take pride in their work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We have been in NZ for nearly a month and stayed in about 15 motels in the Golden Chain group, and this one has been the best. All amenities are just a bit better than the others; including dishes, soaps, towels, TV and the most important, FREE wifi. After having been charged at every other, but one, it was a nice benefit.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windy455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is always good to hear some positives and we are pleased that you found us good value. We do try to provide a quality expierance and provide little extras for your enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Property: Anchorage Motel Apartments
Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing