We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value for money anywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Motel Apartments
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best value for money anywhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

For about AU$125 a night we weren't expecting much so were delighted with this accommodation. I was expecting one of those 70s stlye rooms with an old TV bolted onto the ceiling but that wasn't the case. I shuddred what the 'spa bath' would be like. But overall we were pleasantly surprised. The room was fairly modern (plasma TV, nice kitchenette etc), the spa bath was fantastic. There was Sky (about 40 channels), free wi-fi and real milk! None of that UHT stuff. It's also one street back from the lake, so about a two minute walk and about a five minute stroll from the main street.

Room Tip: There are only 13 rooms, all ground level so I imagine they're all much of a muchness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronza255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    137
    47
    11
    5
See reviews for
63
218
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed in a standard studio for 1 night. I did not want to spend much money as I needed accommodation just for 1 night on my way to Milford Sound, and travelling solo the studio seemed like a good option. I got what I paid for so I am not complaining. However, when I see the travellers' pictures of other rooms, there seems to be quite a difference in standard - I am not talking about size here. The furniture in my studio was quite tired, the kitchenette was not very clean and the vinyl floor was sticky. The shower had just a curtain with stains all over it.
My studio was the very first on the right hand side, across the reception. If you want to stay in this motel, I would avoid that room and pay up for 1-bedroom apartment.
The motel is situated some 10 minutes walk from the main street which I think was quite far considering the size of Te Anau. The lady in the reception was not very welcoming, she did answer the few questions I had but it was quite clear that she wanted to go back to whatever she was doing before.
I can't say I would not recommend this motel at all - but I would definitely take one of the larger rooms as the standard studio seems to be a bit neglected to me.

Room Tip: I would avoid standard studios (at least the one at the very beginning of the terrace, across the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

excellent and welcoming motel of a high standard.
Well located near the centr and the shoreline.
Sky T.V.+ free DVD loan.
5Ft bed and good accomadation/ cooking arrangements.Well worth staying.
Travel to Milford Sound and the 'Glow worm' caves from here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJ49BridgnorthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Qld
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed at the Anchorage Motel for 2 nights in a spa unit and found it to be one of the better motels we stayed at in NZ. The room was quite big, comfortable and was equipped with a kitchenette and had a spa. We paid extra to get the spa in the room but it was still excellent value at under A$100 per night. Also there are guest laundry facilities just metres from the motel rooms available for a minimal cost so it is a good place to do some washing if you are on a road trip. The only problem was that on the first night we were there they ran out of hot water when we were halfway through filling the spa so the spa wasn't really hot at all - on the second night this was better though so you are probably best to have a spa quite early if possible.

A good quiet place to stay and we found it an ideal base for visiting Milford Sound.

Room Tip: Spa rooms are good for hikers - helps with the sore legs after a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is what you can expect a motel to be, parking in front of room, small courtyard. We checked in about 8pm and were given 2 bottles of milk.
Our room was a studio (NZ$115, Room no.9) in the far corner from the reception. The door and windows were soundproof with thick glass. Inside the room there's one queen bed, kitchen, bathroom. The motel offers full kitchen so that was nice but one of the kitchen light kept turning on and off by itself.
All bathroom amenities were there along with towel warmer, heater. However, the handle on the tap of the sink came loose so we had to always put it back on.
Free parking and wifi.
Overall it's a standard comfortable motel which could do with some maintenance

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tultleist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

A very comfortable motel, pleasant stay. Recommended for everyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooh_tyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We loved this accomodation. It was cheap and simple but decent. As we were two couples travelling together we stayed in the nearby house, so we had our own loungeroom and kitchen. The furniture was quite old, but it didn't bother us and was really comfortable.

The best part was when I noticed a sign saying 'free bike hire' and when we enquired I was delighted to choose from several Electra Cruisers which was a GREAT way to ride to town, or even better along the lake.

They might not advertise the free wifi, but it exists - you just have to ask for it.

Room Tip: If you've got a few people, definitely choose the house! It works out to be cheaper if there'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KfromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Property: Anchorage Motel Apartments
Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing