We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Aden Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aden Motel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights while we toured around Milford. Not the fanciest motel but great value and a friendly owner. Our room was clean and had everything we wanted, including a great shower - perfect after a hard day of hiking!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Alex thanks for the great review yes we may not be the flashest motel but we are cosy, comfortable and clean my 3 C's. In Te Anau we want you to enjoy our surrounding and not have to sit all day in your rooms but people tell us our beds are very comfortable and place feels homely and we try to make everyone feel as comfortable as possible. Do come back and do another hike !!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    83
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
133
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very competitive price with breakfast included and a most magnificent host with a lot of local knowledge of a beautiful part of NZ meant our stay was comfortable, enjoyable and memorable.
The motel room was pretty basic and very clean but we were not there to live at the motel!
A very comfortable bed in a warm room ensured sound and refreshing sleep.
Highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenandJohnMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for the Review Helen & John a pleasure to have you stay with us. We do our best to make all our guest stay homely and friendly we like to see our guest having a lovely time in Te Anau if we have happy guests that makes us happy too. When people are on holiday we like to make them feel the way we would if we were staying somewhere lovely and relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights with family and I am so glad I booked at Aden Motel. Irene is an excellent host, very friendly and knowledgeable. The Motel is a 5 min walk from the lake Te Anau, which is beautiful by itself. I suggest you head over to the lake just before sunset. The motel has a car wash area, so you can give your car a nice rinse if you are on a road trip.

Te Anau is a small, friendly town and a nice stop over on the way to Milford sound.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hdmello76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Great to see our guests reviews on how much they enjoyed their stay with us and how much they enjoyed Te Anau at least with two nights you get to see the real Te Anau and have time to relax on your holiday. There is so much to see and do around the South Island that some help with local knowledge can help with some special places. Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed one night at the motel after visiting Milford Sound and the Glow worm caves. The room was large and clean, the two single beds had electric blankets and there was also a heater in the room. TV was modern and had some channels of Sky. There was also a fully equipped kitchen with complimentary coffee and tea. Everywhere was spotless although the beds were slightly too soft for our liking. The innkeepers were also extremely friendly and helpful.

Would definitely return to this motel during my next visit to Te Anau!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
It's really great to get such a nice review it make all the hard work to run a motel 24/7 worthwhile to read a lovely review although all my reviews have been great. Guest we have been very lucky to have had such wonderful guests to stay with us. Beds are always a chellenge but we have a med quality bed so to some its too soft but others love it and reckon its there best sleep on there hoilday but very pleased you had a great stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed one night on our way to Milford Sound - heaps of room, lovely host. Easy parking outside ground floor unit, free wi-fi. Te Anau a lovely place to spend a few days exploring the lake and surrounds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mean121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thankyou for your review yes a short stay with us but its nice to read that you now know there is so much to offer here in Te Anau and a longer stay would have been great. Perhaps you will return to see more of our lovely Fiordland and visit Doubtful Sound next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
237 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stopped two nights in the queen studio and loved our stay. We had a double bed, single bed, bedside tables, wardrobe, mirror and comfy chairs to chill out in. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment and boasted a full cooker with oven, microwave, toaster and fridge-freezer. There were also patio chairs which allowed us to sit outside and eat our lunch in the sun. Part of the winter special meant we got a free breakfast too. This comprised of toast, spreads, cereal, fresh fruit and orange juice. As backpackers we loved having a TV, which also had a few satellite channels available. There are a large range of books and DVDs available for you to borrow from reception. Irene our host was extremely helpful; we highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatterboxmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IreneBenfell, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks Kindly for the review it was lovely having you to stay and yes over winter we do have some really great specials and Milford Sound can be most beautiful with the snow. We like to make guests feel at home and comfortable as much as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
672 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 877 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed in a 2 bedroom unit (No.4) for 2 nights.

Pros:
-Parking space outside unit
-Free WiFi - username & password listed in unit.
-Located in a quiet part of town
-Friendly manager - Irene
-Reception contains leaflet rack of local attractions, plus a book swap.
-2 metal chairs and a table, plus ashtray in front of unit.
-Our unit was accessed via a large sliding glass door. The front section of our unit contained a single bed, 4 chairs & a table, telephone, 2 upholstered tub chairs & low table, LG widescreen TV, wall heater and a kitchen area (cooker/hob, sink, storage with plates, bowls, glasses, cutlery etc, fridge, microwave). Bedroom with double bed, storage with hanging area & shelf, 2x mirrors, twin bedside cabinets & lamps, suitcase stand, TV. En suite bathroom with shower, toilet, sink, towels.
-DVDs available to hire - $2 from Reception.
-Umbrellas available to use.
-A small selection of adapters are available to borrow.
-Children's play area
-Guest laundry - washing machine $3 per load, dryer $4 for a 40 minute cycle.
-It's a 3 minute walk to Lake Te Anau. Use the cut-through walkway opposite/slightly-right of the motel. When you see the lake there's also a bronze sculpture of Quintin McPherson McKinnon, discoverer of the Milford Track.
-There's a nice paved lakeside path from the above McKinnon statue to the Te Anau Boating Club. A walk there and back would take approx 30-45 minutes. The path is lit at nightfall.
-It took me 11 minutes to walk from the motel, via the lakeside path, to the large-scale blue model of the Takahe bird at one end of the main street.
-Turn left at the above McKinnon statue and 30 seconds later you'll see the Fiordland National Park Visitor Centre.

Cons:
-Checkout 10am, although this time wasn't uncommon in NZ.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IreneBenfell, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Both of you were fantastic guests to have and really enjoyed your company at a very quiet time for some unknown reason people dont come in winter when both Milford & Doubtful sounds are showing their best look with snow on the mountains, lots of waterfalls etc. We did actually have you in a lovely 1 Bedroom Apartment which is soon to be refurbished but yes guest tell us our rooms are great and our beds are very comfortable some even try to take our pillows as they like them so much !!.. Thanks for all your help as a guest with my poor wee dog she doesnt go far anymore. Your both very special people and Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.0 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 23 in Te Anau
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aden Motel

Property: Aden Motel
Address: 57-59 Quintin Drive | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aden Motels have 12 ground floor Apartments with 1 & 2 bedroom plus studio Apartments.Free Wifi. Quiet location with ample parking even for a boat. Childrens playground, BBQ area, Guest Vege patch,guest laundry. Chemical Free and eviromentally friendly. "Come and rest and relax". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aden Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing