We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable hotel”
Review of Aden Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aden Motel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed one night on our way to Milford Sound - heaps of room, lovely host. Easy parking outside ground floor unit, free wi-fi. Te Anau a lovely place to spend a few days exploring the lake and surrounds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mean121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thankyou for your review yes a short stay with us but its nice to read that you now know there is so much to offer here in Te Anau and a longer stay would have been great. Perhaps you will return to see more of our lovely Fiordland and visit Doubtful Sound next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 273 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stopped two nights in the queen studio and loved our stay. We had a double bed, single bed, bedside tables, wardrobe, mirror and comfy chairs to chill out in. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment and boasted a full cooker with oven, microwave, toaster and fridge-freezer. There were also patio chairs which allowed us to sit outside and eat our lunch in the sun. Part of the winter special meant we got a free breakfast too. This comprised of toast, spreads, cereal, fresh fruit and orange juice. As backpackers we loved having a TV, which also had a few satellite channels available. There are a large range of books and DVDs available for you to borrow from reception. Irene our host was extremely helpful; we highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chatterboxmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IreneBenfell, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thanks Kindly for the review it was lovely having you to stay and yes over winter we do have some really great specials and Milford Sound can be most beautiful with the snow. We like to make guests feel at home and comfortable as much as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed in a 2 bedroom unit (No.4) for 2 nights.

Pros:
-Parking space outside unit
-Free WiFi - username & password listed in unit.
-Located in a quiet part of town
-Friendly manager - Irene
-Reception contains leaflet rack of local attractions, plus a book swap.
-2 metal chairs and a table, plus ashtray in front of unit.
-Our unit was accessed via a large sliding glass door. The front section of our unit contained a single bed, 4 chairs & a table, telephone, 2 upholstered tub chairs & low table, LG widescreen TV, wall heater and a kitchen area (cooker/hob, sink, storage with plates, bowls, glasses, cutlery etc, fridge, microwave). Bedroom with double bed, storage with hanging area & shelf, 2x mirrors, twin bedside cabinets & lamps, suitcase stand, TV. En suite bathroom with shower, toilet, sink, towels.
-DVDs available to hire - $2 from Reception.
-Umbrellas available to use.
-A small selection of adapters are available to borrow.
-Children's play area
-Guest laundry - washing machine $3 per load, dryer $4 for a 40 minute cycle.
-It's a 3 minute walk to Lake Te Anau. Use the cut-through walkway opposite/slightly-right of the motel. When you see the lake there's also a bronze sculpture of Quintin McPherson McKinnon, discoverer of the Milford Track.
-There's a nice paved lakeside path from the above McKinnon statue to the Te Anau Boating Club. A walk there and back would take approx 30-45 minutes. The path is lit at nightfall.
-It took me 11 minutes to walk from the motel, via the lakeside path, to the large-scale blue model of the Takahe bird at one end of the main street.
-Turn left at the above McKinnon statue and 30 seconds later you'll see the Fiordland National Park Visitor Centre.

Cons:
-Checkout 10am, although this time wasn't uncommon in NZ.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IreneBenfell, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Both of you were fantastic guests to have and really enjoyed your company at a very quiet time for some unknown reason people dont come in winter when both Milford & Doubtful sounds are showing their best look with snow on the mountains, lots of waterfalls etc. We did actually have you in a lovely 1 Bedroom Apartment which is soon to be refurbished but yes guest tell us our rooms are great and our beds are very comfortable some even try to take our pillows as they like them so much !!.. Thanks for all your help as a guest with my poor wee dog she doesnt go far anymore. Your both very special people and Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Te Anau was a really friendly and scenic place to spend a few days.Our self contained room was very warm and well equipped. Irene was a perfect host. She not only provided a delicious breakfast each day but also confirmed our excursion bookings and provided us with great suggestions for dinner and day trips. Te Anau is an ideal base for day trips to Milford and Doubtful Sound

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paloma057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IreneBenfell, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

The best part of this job is the guests and having wonderful guests like you make my job so enjoyable and local knowledge is a great advantage when booking Trips, places to eat, etc. Te Anau is the perfect place to relax and catch you breath on Holiday. Its a shame when guests are only here for 1 night as should be a 2 night min as there is alot to do here in Te Anau. We do like our guest to be at home with us and relax. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Aden motel was a delight. Out host Irene was warm and extremely helpful. Her knowledge of the area was terrific. The room was slightly older but very warm and comfortable. If you were looking for a laid back and cosy place to stay, you'd do we'll to check this motel out.

Room Tip: Ring manager directly rather than use website. She will have a better idea of your needs and go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IreneBenfell, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thanks Ruth for a great review it was lovely having you to stay are rooms maybe a bit dated but they are warm and cosy as we have only been in Motel since Oct 12 we are slowly working on redecoration in our winter season. Yes we do have different room styles so its great to be able to suit the guests needs. Hope your holiday went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Needed a place to crash for a night after hiking Kepler and Aden was recommended to us by another lakefront hotel. We wanted a unit with a kitchen as restaurant prices in New Zealand are...absurd. Irene offered us a very competitive rate for a studio unit and it had everything we needed - comfortable bed, large kitchen with a real stove (not a hot plate!) and a reasonably sized bathroom. She was extremely helpful and suggested several activities in the southland region for the following day.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Denver373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

You were a lovely couple to have and Thankyou for the lovely review we do try to make your stay with us the best we can. Electric Ranges are in 10 of our 12 Apartments the other two I would like to replace the hot plate perhpaps when we are re-decorating might be able to talk the owners of the motel into replacing them. Enjoy the rest of your holiday in NZ and tell everyone to come to Te Anau its worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Really liked this place for its location, friendliness, garden seats and free internet (well done – one of the very few in NZ). It's located in a quiet part of town yet is only a short walk to the main street of Te Anau where all of the shops and restaurants etc are to be found. There is also a handy little cut through that takes you straight to the lake front. The owners are really helpful - they even phoned Real Journeys for us to confirm the 3 trips we had booked with them.
One of the best places we stopped on our whole trip and we would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCMike54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thankyou for your review not perfect but like the guest to feel at home and have a wonderful time with us but a lovely feedback. Please we were able to make your stay perfect for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aden Motel

Address: 57-59 Quintin Drive | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $101 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aden Motels have 12 ground floor Apartments with 1 & 2 bedroom plus studio Apartments.Free Wifi. Quiet location with ample parking even for a boat. Childrens playground, BBQ area, Guest Vege patch,guest laundry. Chemical Free and eviromentally friendly. "Come and rest and relax". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aden Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing