We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cosy, warm and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aden Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aden Motel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy, warm and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Aden motel was a delight. Out host Irene was warm and extremely helpful. Her knowledge of the area was terrific. The room was slightly older but very warm and comfortable. If you were looking for a laid back and cosy place to stay, you'd do we'll to check this motel out.

Room Tip: Ring manager directly rather than use website. She will have a better idea of your needs and go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IreneBenfell, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks Ruth for a great review it was lovely having you to stay are rooms maybe a bit dated but they are warm and cosy as we have only been in Motel since Oct 12 we are slowly working on redecoration in our winter season. Yes we do have different room styles so its great to be able to suit the guests needs. Hope your holiday went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    74
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
118
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Needed a place to crash for a night after hiking Kepler and Aden was recommended to us by another lakefront hotel. We wanted a unit with a kitchen as restaurant prices in New Zealand are...absurd. Irene offered us a very competitive rate for a studio unit and it had everything we needed - comfortable bed, large kitchen with a real stove (not a hot plate!) and a reasonably sized bathroom. She was extremely helpful and suggested several activities in the southland region for the following day.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denver373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
You were a lovely couple to have and Thankyou for the lovely review we do try to make your stay with us the best we can. Electric Ranges are in 10 of our 12 Apartments the other two I would like to replace the hot plate perhpaps when we are re-decorating might be able to talk the owners of the motel into replacing them. Enjoy the rest of your holiday in NZ and tell everyone to come to Te Anau its worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Really liked this place for its location, friendliness, garden seats and free internet (well done – one of the very few in NZ). It's located in a quiet part of town yet is only a short walk to the main street of Te Anau where all of the shops and restaurants etc are to be found. There is also a handy little cut through that takes you straight to the lake front. The owners are really helpful - they even phoned Real Journeys for us to confirm the 3 trips we had booked with them.
One of the best places we stopped on our whole trip and we would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCMike54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thankyou for your review not perfect but like the guest to feel at home and have a wonderful time with us but a lovely feedback. Please we were able to make your stay perfect for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ledbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

the room allocated to us was very pleasant, opposite the garden and the kitchen was extremely well equipped. The bathroom was small but quite adequate and the new owners were extremely friendly and helpful. All in all I would recommend this motel as being good value for money. I wish we had had an extra night in the area.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms as I think some were larger than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Owner at Aden Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for you lovely review of our Motel and yes alot of people say they wished they had another night or two in Te Anau its a quiet place to stay with so many things to do and see and one day is never long enough we just have to educate travel agents to let guests stay longer in Te Anau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent two nights at the Aden Motel, our greating was friendly and advise where to visit was helpfull,glow worm caves a must.Our room was a good size and clean nice comfy bed.
The town was not to far to walk,the lake even closer.We had a problem when we washed our
clothes as the people before us washed something fluffy or box of tissues,the owner was was
brill when we told her she took all our clothes and rewashed them in her own machine and gave them back to us the next day in perfect condition.A big thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms were of good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris194789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
To Chris a big Thankyou and we try very hard to make sure our guests have the best stay possible and leave us with great memories of their stay and going away with clothing covered in white fluff isnt nice so it was no problem to re wash and dry the clothing for the guest its called giving service and we take pride in looking after our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the aden motel. It's very close to the lake but is very quiete located. The rooms are spacious. On our last evening there was a problem with a heating pump, making noise on the roof of our apartment. The lady from the motel called a plumper to fix it and after 30 minutes everything was solved and we could have a quiete rest that night.
Thank you very much for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra999B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Owner at Aden Motel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thankyou to my lovely guest please you found our service helpful and friendly as we try to make our guest feel at home and offer as much help as we can to make there stay a very enjoyable one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
232 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent only one night at the Aden Motel but wished we had planned for more. Our 2 bedroom family unit was large and well appointed. Nice size rooms, perfectly adequate kitchen and large bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean. The hostess was friendly and very helpful.

If you go, enjoy the glow worm cave and the beautiful lake. The town is small but has a couple of lovely eating establishments like the SandFly Cafe and the Olive Tree.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Owner at Aden Motel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Comfortable yes well that is our aim to make people feel at home on holiday and make people as comfortable as possible and our room are a good size thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#7 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aden Motel

Property: Aden Motel
Address: 57-59 Quintin Drive | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aden Motels have 12 ground floor Apartments with 1 & 2 bedroom plus studio Apartments.Free Wifi. Quiet location with ample parking even for a boat. Childrens playground, BBQ area, Guest Vege patch,guest laundry. Chemical Free and eviromentally friendly. "Come and rest and relax". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aden Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing