We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable”
Review of Aden Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aden Motel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Aden Motel is comfortable and non-pretentious. It is situated alongside other motels in a peaceful street. The owners are very approachable and friendly and we would definately stay here again. The kitchen was ample with 2 hotplates and a microwave as most people would probably dine out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    83
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
133
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Comfortable with helpful staff. Part of the Golden Chain motels which offer a 10% discount if you stay in other GC motels.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We stayed here for a night before heading off to Milford Sound. It was alright for a night's stay. The room was basic & really small with not much space to maneuver around, this could be due to a 3rd bed in the living room which we didn't need. Heating in the room & shower was not very good given that we came to Te Anau on a rainy cold day. Lucky for the electric blankets.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deminet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights. The owners of the is motel are very helpful and friendly.
the rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. The actual kitchen is dated but functional. the living area was quite nice and comfortable.

The location however lets this place down. It really is too far from the main street and as we had a young child with us we had to drive when we went out to eat. To be honest there are plenty of motel/hotels on the lake front and nearer the main street and if If i'd know how far this place was I would have got the travel agent to change it for sure.

That said the owners were lovely and it was peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blah-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

They were very accomodating and friendly, but this place is very old. There were many much more modern places across the road from the lake, however, I remember when researching our places to stay over NZ that I had a little trouble keeping to my budget in Te Anau. It was a bed for the night and was comfortable, We took a walk along the lake and ordered in chinese. We stayed in a one bedroom unit .My husband was impressed with the shower head as it was new but that was about it in the unit.

I used the wifi and this was cheap and had good service.

All in all ok and did the k=job but there were better.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I checked into this motel intending to stay two nights and stayed three. The following week I was back because I had enjoyed it so much. The people who own it are very helpful and friendly - nothing is too much bother. The rooms I stayed in were clean and had everything you could want for a holiday. Lovely view of the mountains to look at while dining and to cap it all they discounted the cost for me both in the first time I stayed and also when I stayed the second time. If you want to go to Milford Sound for the day this is the place to stay overnight. They can do the bookings for you if you want to go by coach and they will also book the cruise at Milford. It all goes on your bill and you pay the whole lot at the end which is great instead of paying bits and pieces all over town.

Very easy walk to the town centre if you wan to eat out but if you want to stay in there are full facilities in your unit. I was in a studio unit and it could not have been bettered. Well done Aden Motel!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwi59York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

It is as it shown on the Internet. The motel is a number of chalet style rooms with a kitchen including a microwave and 2 ring hob. The décor is a bit dated however, the rooms are clean. The location is very peaceful and as Te Anau is a small place everything is within walking distance.

A word of warning, if you are in Te Anau and like Indian food – don’t use the Indian in town (Indian Summer) it has to be the worst curry we have ever purchased. Try the fish & chips just outside of town (towards Milford) it was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aden Motel

Property: Aden Motel
Address: 57-59 Quintin Drive | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aden Motels have 12 ground floor Apartments with 1 & 2 bedroom plus studio Apartments.Free Wifi. Quiet location with ample parking even for a boat. Childrens playground, BBQ area, Guest Vege patch,guest laundry. Chemical Free and eviromentally friendly. "Come and rest and relax". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aden Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing