We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Zealand Coach Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Taree
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Zealand Coach Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

A great Hotel in a wonderful small town . The lake nearby was a great place to take a stroll. A good shopping centre. The hotel was very welcoming, with friendly efficient staff, very clean and spacious & bright rooms with comfortable beds . The Restaurant was very well set out with coloured serviettes denoting which tour group were at which tables.

Room Tip: Any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Seasons Greetings!!

Thank you for your glowing review about your recent stay with us. I am glad you experience our southern hospitality and found your room to be spacious and comfortable. Once again, thank you for your review and i trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    227
    145
    29
    15
See reviews for
93
299
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The room was enormous and again we had the use of a bath. It surprises us how hotels in the same chain can differ. We would have loved a plunger coffee pot and coffee but no real complaints.

Staff was helpful, especially at reception where we experienced difficulty with the wifi. I must say it is a bit if a pain only being able to access wifi in the lobby however we had plenty of time and downloads so we ended up happy.

Te Anau is only a small place and so the hotel was central to everything. MIT was great to be able to take a lovely hot bath, put our feet up and kick back after a long day on the coach from Queenstown to Milford sound and back to Te Anau.

Room Tip: Any roo would be suitable because of access to the elevator. Maybe not choose a room on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Seasons Greetings!!

Thank you for your reveiw about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and found your room spacious and service forthcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

If you're heading up to Milford Sound, odds are you're going to have to stay in Te Anau as there aren't too many lodging options up in Milford. Distinction Luxmore is a good option if you're just there for a quick stay which is what my wife and I were doing. It was clean, spacious, and had an ensuite bathroom. Albeit the room was a little dated but that's really secondary for us.

My only minor issue with the hotel is their wifi is terrible. It doesn't work at all, even in the lobby. The lady at reception told us they had to upgrade their system. Not a big deal for us but if you absolutely need an Internet connection to book something or whatnot, it could be a problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scallywag81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Seasons Greetings!!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found your room spacious. We are in the process of upgrading our WIFI and my apologies for any inconvinience. Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Good central location in a small town , great view of the mountains from the bedroom good location to visit Milford Sound, good food , pleasant staff , short walk to the lake and all the amenities, plenty of free WIFI too.

Room Tip: Tray and get a room with a Mountain view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TezFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your reveiw about your recent stay with us. Im glad you found your room comfortable, food delicious and service friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had trouble finding accommodation in Te Anau but eventually discovered this Hotel. Nothing special but good ,friendly service, reasonable rooms and restaurants. Comfortable but TV and WiFi poor reception.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Im glad you found your room conductive to your needs and service friendly. We are in the process of upgrading our WIFI services, my apologies for any inconvinience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

First impressions were good,the facade & the reception area were really nice and stylish, the staff were lovely and helpful, the hotel is large and spacious, parking is good and it is located right in the center of town.
The room (ground floor) was huge, had all the things you would want plus more - a sitting area, desk, large cupboard. However is was so dated, this hotel desperately needs an upgrade to make it more modern, and it needs exhaust fans in the bathrooms please !!!
The beds were a bit old and saggy in the middle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Awsumegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Im glad you found our central location handy and our service warm and friendly. I have noted your comments about your bed and will certainly look into it and get them replaced. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
174 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Rather large family room but really looks like eighties, not that well maintained. Also totally unsuitable for business usage, no table/desk at working heigth whilst there would be plenty of space. No WiFi in rooms and very limited WiFi (only for smartphones, 100 M package for 2 hours) in restaurant and lobby.
Friendly staff, good dinner in cafe downstairs, quite limited buffet B'fast upstairs: e.g. no fresh fruits at all, only breads are pre-toasted and hence cold slices of bread. B'fast would even be more 2 star than the promised 4 stars. Location excellent, so if one can get at a 2-3 star price why not...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, August 29, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 24 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Property: Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing