We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Got a really good deal for 3 nights over labour weekend. This hotel is right in the town centre and as it was a wet weekend, easy to go back and forth.
Very clean. The room we were in was a bit dated and toilet light took 5 seconds to come on (not that it's a big deal)but if you were desparate...
Very nice restaurant attached called the Baillaze ( I think) with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Im glad you enjoyed your meals in Bailiez and our friendly service. My aplogies about your bathroom light, we have since fixed this issue. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 571 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night and was imoressed by reception. Stayed in lower floor room, appears to have been built in the 80s and not much has changed since. As long as you dont expect much, this is an okay place to stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank peterjdaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Have stayed here twice now with tour groups, the manager, Paul, and his staff has made everyone feel welcome. Nice big rooms excellent food from either the buffet or from the bar/restaurant. The awesome location is right in the heart of town and a very short walk to the Lake

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Im delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found your roooms spacious and meals excellent. We look forward to welcoming your tour again in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was a really nice place to stay , we had booked a standard room but were upgraded to a superior room and had a living room with 2 toilets ...clean rooms , toilets ...It has a very happy staff always ready to please ,,Fernanado in the reception quietly helping ,Jeff of the housekeeping and the breakfast rooom was warm with the staff ever so corteous and obliging .
I would higly recommend this hotel...only drawback the internet does not work well

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rsm1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and experienced our warm southern hospitality. I will pass your comments onto Geoff, Fernando and the rest of the team. I trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was a weekend break in Te Anau and through a special offer on Wotif. A comfortable hotel in the centre. Small gym and laundry facilities are a good bonus. The only down side is that there is no view of the lake!!!!! Rooms are well appointed with all basic requirements.

Room Tip: Look for special deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dippy_sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Im glad you had an enjoyable weekend away and your room catered to all your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

As soon as we walked into this room I had to ask my partner what the date was, because it felt like we'd stepped back in time to 1982. After a few seconds to adjust to the decor, we realised that no, it was still 2013 - it was just that some of the stuff had been here for thirty years. If there's a hotel in the waiting area between heaven and hell, you can bet that the rooms are probably something like this.

Horrendously coloured walls (some kind of faded peach on anaglypta you're more likely to see on the walls of a rehab centre than in a Qualmark four star hotel), a faded bedspread with patterns straight from my grandma's couch, a carpet from a 1970s airport departures lounge and a TV stand/drawer/cupboard arrangement in a vibrant yellow with a matching bedside table - these all made for a depressingly average room, which, at least, was clean, although the cleaners were fighting a losing battle against the aging fixtures and fitments.

This room wasn't what we booked. We actually booked a Superior Hotel room, which "are comfortable studio rooms featuring two double beds and ensuite bathroom with shower over bath." What we actually got was probably a Standard Room, "studio style with one double bed, many offering a single bed in addition. Ensuite bathroom with either shower over bath or shower only." There was only one double bed and a single bed in our room. I'd had a day's travelling, so we didn't realise that this wasn't what we booked. If we'd had known, we would have said.

Funnily enough, as well as there being only one double bed, there was only one of something else as well - one bedside cabinet, which was a real pain because on my side of the bed I had to put stuff on the floor where it could be stepped on. And there were no actual bedside lamps either. Instead the "bedside lamps" were mounted in the ceiling. Worse still, someone had seen fit to put into these lamps really bright, really white lights that were whiter and brighter than the main room lights. So when you turned off the main room lights and put these on, you felt like someone was shining a spotlight on your face.

The beds weren't exactly comfortable either. I've had better beds when I was a student. The whole thing felt like it was put together as cheaply as possible in 1985, with as little maintenance done as possible since then.

The bathroom was pretty average too. A very small arrangement with the same tired old look about the fixtures - including a shower head that wouldn't move and an extractor fan above the shower that didn't work, so by the time you'd finished in the shower the tiny little room was filled with steam.

And as if to just pile on what was depressing and terrible about the place, we had a TV with a huge chunk taken out of the top (how do you do that? Attack it with an axe?) that had somehow stretched a 16:9 picture beyond the edges of the screen (although to be fair this seems to be a fairly common thing for chain hotels to do - I've stayed at Hiltons and Mercures with TV pictures with the same problem. It's not an excuse though).

Distinction claim that "Exceptional service, superb facilities and an emphasis on true kiwi hospitality set our NZ Hotels apart from our competitors." So it's a bit galling to get something like this in Te Anau, because although this was a spring rate, we know what the prices are like in summer and how hard accommodation is to find. It's not like this is an out-of-the-way hotel that never gets business. It's a place with a lot of visitors and it's owned by a Kiwi chain - which also makes it a bit embarrassing that they serve up this kind of stuff to visitors to our country.

Aside from the fact that this wasn't what we'd paid for, even if it was, then we'd be disappointed. Distinction must try harder. We're going to avoid them as a whole in future. Some Kiwi operators are giving us a reputation for being a rip-off country, and it's worrying to see Distinction being a part of that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed three nights, perhaps a little too long for a small town. It's true the location is very good with free parking, close to everything including restaurants, supermarket and the visitor centre for real journey tours. Personally the amenities inside the room e.g. sufficient toilet paper, were only corrected after our second night and only by chance as the housekeeper (a lovely lady) happened to come by to service our room whilst we were there.

Request feather pillows if you prefer a pillow that doesn't sink into the bed and leave you with a crook neck. Don't believe front desk when they tell you all the pillows are the same.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbKennedy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 22 in Te Anau
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $118 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing