We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here as part of a coach trip. As a single traveller was used to getting the small out of the way rooms, but not here. Large room with two double beds, plenty of space and a modern, spotless bathroom.

Evening meals and breakfast were lovely and the views over the lake from the restaurant were breathtaking, especially as the sun was rising/setting. Shop over the road selling all the usual basic groceries, postcards etc.

Would stay here again if in Te Anau.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to be spacious and modern. Hilights restaurant does indeed have great views over the lake which is spectacular during sunrise and sunset. Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    234
    145
    29
    15
See reviews for
95
306
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We got a deal for the Luxmore on a Grabone deal so it made it really good value for money. I can understand why there are mixed reviews on Tripadvisor for this hotel as it's really just a tourist stop over (by the bus load) and the hotel is pretty dated.

However, the upgraded room that we got was pretty good for the money. We're certainly not talking 5 star but you've got to take the price that you paid in to consideration.

Te Anau is a nice place but its really just a gateway to the South West and that's what you should see this hotel as. A stop over rather than a place to escape to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our second visit in the past 12 months and not a lot has changed. We used the hotel again as we knew the service and rooms were good. We also wanted an early breakfast on New Years’ day as we had booked a trip to Doubtful Sound and had to be on the boat at 8am. The breakfast started at 6.30am which gave us plenty of time to eat a relaxed breakfast and still get to the boat on time.
All the staff that we dealt with were courteous, knowledgeable of the area and polite.
We are not on the internet for hours at a time, so the free internet in the lobby was adequate for our needs - to check emails.
This hotel is a great place to stay to explore the Fiordland area.

Room Tip: If you are not on a B&B package book your breakfast at reception when you check in - it's mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Im delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that our service levels were consistent during both your stays with us. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team. Once again, Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Having read the previous comments about this hotel we didn' t expect the professionalism in service and facilities. We could not fault this hotel and thank Kevin, the Manager, for his courtesy and consideration. We have travelled widely both in New Zealand and overseas. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We wanted to stay somewhere nice for our anniversary, and chose the Luxmore because of it's central location and because we could get a breakfast package (handy for us because we travel with a baby). We travel to Te Anau a couple times a year and this is the first and last time we will choose Luxmore. Upon checkin, we discovered our room had almost no toilet paper left (less than a 1/4 of a roll). The TV did not work. Worst of all there was someone else's used underwear hanging up in the wardrobe. This left us a bit worried about what else hadn't been cleaned before we arrived. A visit to reception and all these problems were fixed quickly, although reception weren't interested in even giving us a perfunctory apology. The room was comfortable but pretty basic, and dated. In the morning we went to have the buffet breakfast which we paid for as part of a package. We got there at 8.55 am and this was the first time we were told that breakfast closes at 9 am. Fortunately, the buffet staff were very friendly and let us stay and have breakfast with our little one. The breakfast was pretty good. Back in our room I double checked the compendium and there is no mention that buffet breakfast closes at 9 am. Reception and / or the compendium should really be letting people know the closing time, it's earlier than any hotel we have stayed at, plus we had already booked breakfast when we booked the room. When you stay in a hotel it is nice not to have to worry about things, and all these little problems added up for us and left a sour taste. We were pretty frank on the customer feedback form so hopefully someone sharpens up their act and saves the Luxmore from further bad reviews. Interesting to see how many other people had similar experiences.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah_C368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review about your stay with us. I am extremely disappointed about your stay experience and our shortcomings. We have had discussions on the points you have mentioned and made necessary changes. I understand there is very little i can do now to change things, but i can assure you, your feedback will go a long way to help us enhance future guests experiences. Please contact me directly on kevin.d'souza@distinctionluxmore.co.nz if you are making your way to Te Anau in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind Regards,

Kevin D'Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We checked in on New Year's Eve so I phone reception beforehand about booking buffet dinner (4 pm) and was told not necessary. After checking in I tried to phone from room to no avail so I again asked reception to b told to call at 6 as they open at 6.30. We just went there to see it closed at 6.45, so asked at bailiez to be told it was closed and a table at bailiez would be a very long wait. So we walked down the street to a better place, in the pouring rain! The girl on the desk just shrugged her shoulders. The next day we found out that they were closed all week for dinner! Then when we tried for breakfast buffet, we missed it coz it closed at. 9am! Basically all they cared about was tour busses. The little things were not good... Gym room had a broken walking machine, hairdryer was tiny, Internet was only 30 mins per day and was only available if you sit in bailiez restaurant or the lobby which is filled with people doing the same. We stayed 3 nights and it rained almost the entire time, not their fault but the only salvation was lcd tv and movies. I know it is cheap but there are things they could improve upon at very little effort.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaEstella71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I suspect that it's excellent location in the centre of town and as an ideal stopover to get to Milford Sound has made it complacent about customer service. The receptionist was rude and abrupt on the 4 times we dealt with her. One shampoo for 2 guests?? Reception area was freezing cold. Half an hour or 25mb of wifi per room per day, not per guest, is derisory and not even long enough to do a TripAdvisor review!! Let alone upload scenic photos, or check emails and Facebook etc.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 121interviewcoaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am extremely dissappointed to hear about the service you received at reception. If you can please contact me on kevin.d'souza@distinctionluxmore.co.nz I would like to discuss this matter further and come to a satisfactory conclusion for yourself.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Kevin D'Souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 23 in Te Anau
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Property: Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing