We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My experience here was very good,on arrival I was greeted by friendly staff, my room was presented as good as any, this Hotel in my opinion is great value for money and the attached Restaurant with its friendly staff with its array of Wine and Beers and superb food I think would be hard to go past ,as well as its positon on the main street which allows you to walk to the Lake or the length of the main shopping area. Will definitely stay there again and would have no hesitaton in recommending it.

Marty H.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know we met your expectations, its something we work very hard towards. I will make sure your comments are passed on to the rest of the team. Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    227
    143
    28
    15
See reviews for
92
298
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here in 2010 and at the time I wrote a review recommending that you look elsewhere for accommodation.

So when the time came to book again in Te Anau, we did a lot of research but came to the conclusion that we knew what the issues were with our last stay, so at least our expectations wouldn't be unrealistic. Well, this time, we did not have any of those problems, although being out of season, some of our options were reduced.

We stayed in Rooms 114 and 112 on the ground floor, both rooms had two queen beds (but were not interconnecting). The rooms were near the gym and laundry facilities. The gym did not seem to have been updated in 2 years so some of the equipment (1 cross-trainer/eliptical, 2 rowers, 1 treadmill and a stationery bike) was looking a little worn.

Because we were there out of season, only one of the two onsite restaurants was open. Baileyz had a much better range and quality than our last visit. I really enjoyed both our dinners there. The breakfast options were also really good and the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming.

The hotel's location on the main street makes it easy to walk to most shops and the lake.

The downside is that the internet access was only working in the lobby, which made planning our visit to Milford Sound a little tricky. Although the reception staff were more than helpful in giving us details of the road conditions (Homer Tunnel had been blocked by snow a few days earlier, so we were a little concerned).

In the end, my opinion of the Distinction Luxmore has improved as a result of this stay to the point where I have recommended it to friends who were visiting Te Anau.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InfrequentFlyer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review about your recent stay with us. Im delighted you decided to give us a second chance and that on this instance we managed to meet your expectations. Customer feedback is the only way we can gauge how we are performing and highlight areas we need improvement. Perfection is something we are continually striving for. We have changed our menu in Bailiez and im glad you enjoyed both your meals. Internet access to guest rooms is one area we are currently working on and hopefully we will have this sorted in the near future. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good tidy room with everything you need for overnite stays, comfy beds, good showers & bathroom facilities. Great having Enviroment friendly shamoo & laundry service. Handy to shops/Cafe's & Resturants.
Value for money for all types of travellers beit on a small budget or larger budget.
Beds are comfy and warm & also the rooms are warm. Quiet heater.
handy having breakfast resturant with in the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, end of corridors are good as no one walks past your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibbs5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Im glad you enjoyed our central location and environmental friendly facilities. We pride ourselves on providing affordable accomodation with great, friendly service. Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We finally found the real i-site (with a green I and not the travel agents using a red i to dupe visitors) and they offered a deal for a Superior Double.
The hotel is located right in the main street of this little town, and so handy to stroll to the lake front, shops and places to eat.
By design this is a large, generic hotel catering to tour groups making one night stopovers. We drove ourselves and made use of the free parking.
The chilean staff were very friendly and welcoming and also helped us connect to the free-for-30-mins Wifi in the lobby. There was no Internet offered in the room. [Internet connectivity is not New Zealand's strong point]
The room was large and warm. The fridge was an older model and made quite a bit of noise turning itself on and off regularly - so we turned it off to get some sleep.
There is a gym room, though we didn't use it. No pool, spa or such items were listed.
The morning breakfast was handy. There are options for a small, hot $10 option or a smorgasbord for twice the price.
It was fine as a place to sleep-over.

Room Tip: Ask for the wing with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soundsverygood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our central location and dining options. Te Anau being a popular tourist destination does thrive on tour groups which we have staying with us as well. We do however, pay special attention to our individual travellers like yourself and make it as personal and welcoming. I will pass your comments onto Fernando (Our Chiliean Receptionist)
We currently do offer free WIFI in the lobby and restaurant and are in the process of getting it spread across the entire hotel. Im sorry to hear about the discomfort the fridge caused you.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Te Anau.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

You get what you pay for with this hotel, its simple and dated, but everything you need is there. Value for money wise its hard to get a better location, there is a supermarket across the road, a bar downstairs and up the road, and one of the towns best restaurants is just around the corner (Redcliff Cafe). Overall a good place to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travellingfreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the fantastic central location. We do strive to provide great accomodation at an affordable price. Thanks again for leaving your feedback as it helps us to constantly evaluate and improve our product and service.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Rooms were average and dated, although beds were comfortable. No bed warmers though. Bathtub didn't work as the water plug was missing; towels and toiletries were provided.

Staff did not seem interested to entertain you, and service was somewhat poor. We had 3 people to a room, but only 2 towels were provided. After inquiring with reception, we were told that an additional towel would be sent to our room, but even after 2 reminders, the extra towel didn't come.

Other than this, probably the only good thing about this hotel was its location to town center (which wasn't open much anyway while we were there early October), and the restaurant (which we didn't try).

Probably wouldn't stay here again, unless I have no choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scizorsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your insights and they will help us to further improve the experience for our valued guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location which is very convenient for exploring the Te Anau township. We are very disappointed however, to have not met your expectations and we are very sorry for that. Please be assured that your concerns are currently being addressed and we have put proactive measures in place to eliminate such issues reoccuring in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Big rooms, cheap price, comfy beds, friendly staff, nice breakfast its a $10 bargain, handy location. Close to the lake, shops over the road. I'd suggest this as a place to stay.
give it a go, easy to find, only shortfall, is no undercover parking which is a pain when the weather is bad, it rained when we were there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harem32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We often get compliments about our central location and warm hospitality. Glad you enjoyed it and had a comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 24 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Property: Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing