We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turn off the fridge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
South Pole
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Turn off the fridge!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We finally found the real i-site (with a green I and not the travel agents using a red i to dupe visitors) and they offered a deal for a Superior Double.
The hotel is located right in the main street of this little town, and so handy to stroll to the lake front, shops and places to eat.
By design this is a large, generic hotel catering to tour groups making one night stopovers. We drove ourselves and made use of the free parking.
The chilean staff were very friendly and welcoming and also helped us connect to the free-for-30-mins Wifi in the lobby. There was no Internet offered in the room. [Internet connectivity is not New Zealand's strong point]
The room was large and warm. The fridge was an older model and made quite a bit of noise turning itself on and off regularly - so we turned it off to get some sleep.
There is a gym room, though we didn't use it. No pool, spa or such items were listed.
The morning breakfast was handy. There are options for a small, hot $10 option or a smorgasbord for twice the price.
It was fine as a place to sleep-over.

Room Tip: Ask for the wing with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soundsverygood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our central location and dining options. Te Anau being a popular tourist destination does thrive on tour groups which we have staying with us as well. We do however, pay special attention to our individual travellers like yourself and make it as personal and welcoming. I will pass your comments onto Fernando (Our Chiliean Receptionist)
We currently do offer free WIFI in the lobby and restaurant and are in the process of getting it spread across the entire hotel. Im sorry to hear about the discomfort the fridge caused you.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Te Anau.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    231
    145
    29
    15
See reviews for
94
304
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

You get what you pay for with this hotel, its simple and dated, but everything you need is there. Value for money wise its hard to get a better location, there is a supermarket across the road, a bar downstairs and up the road, and one of the towns best restaurants is just around the corner (Redcliff Cafe). Overall a good place to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travellingfreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the fantastic central location. We do strive to provide great accomodation at an affordable price. Thanks again for leaving your feedback as it helps us to constantly evaluate and improve our product and service.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Rooms were average and dated, although beds were comfortable. No bed warmers though. Bathtub didn't work as the water plug was missing; towels and toiletries were provided.

Staff did not seem interested to entertain you, and service was somewhat poor. We had 3 people to a room, but only 2 towels were provided. After inquiring with reception, we were told that an additional towel would be sent to our room, but even after 2 reminders, the extra towel didn't come.

Other than this, probably the only good thing about this hotel was its location to town center (which wasn't open much anyway while we were there early October), and the restaurant (which we didn't try).

Probably wouldn't stay here again, unless I have no choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scizorsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your insights and they will help us to further improve the experience for our valued guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location which is very convenient for exploring the Te Anau township. We are very disappointed however, to have not met your expectations and we are very sorry for that. Please be assured that your concerns are currently being addressed and we have put proactive measures in place to eliminate such issues reoccuring in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Big rooms, cheap price, comfy beds, friendly staff, nice breakfast its a $10 bargain, handy location. Close to the lake, shops over the road. I'd suggest this as a place to stay.
give it a go, easy to find, only shortfall, is no undercover parking which is a pain when the weather is bad, it rained when we were there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harem32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We often get compliments about our central location and warm hospitality. Glad you enjoyed it and had a comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here with family on our trip to Milford.

The room was very roomy, quite bright and smelt good even though it was a little dated. The TV remote control actually worked properly for a nice change. There was a great sitting area with a large bay window where family played cards and a full length mirror opposite the table.

There was huge bench space for all our luggage and the I didn't disappear into the beds. There was excellent lighting too.

The location in town was really handy to dinner, mini golf, convenient stores, restaurants and drinking holes!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinctionluxmore, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us.It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of our handy location. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Checked in here for just one night on the way back from Milford Sound. It's off season so the hotel seemed completely empty! The receptionist was unfriendly and unhelpful. I asked for a recommendation on somewhere to eat and he suggested the hotel restaurant (not somewhere you would chose to eat!). Wouldn't chose to stay here again, but it served its purpose.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G-M-Byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We bad à bedroom paid 75nzd. Really happy because it was clean and WARM!!! It is not Always the case here in NZ.
Bathroom big size, free internet in the lobby (30min) it helps...
We spent only one night in this hotel and we were satisfied of our journey.
We were 2.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeh-Ready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Property: Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing