We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory but probably better choices in town”
Review of Village Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Inn Hotel
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
QLD, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Satisfactory but probably better choices in town”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

The Village Inn was clean, quiet and comfy enough. Had a double room for 2 nights through a "Last Minute" online site and tariff was very reasonable. This property is quite dated so don't expect ambience. Our room had 2 double beds which made it rather crowded, however the bed we used was OK. Everything was very clean and for those who like to soak - the bathroom set-up is shower over bathtub.
One thing let this property down - the guest laundry. The Hotel charges $5 per load of laundry and $5 per dryer cycle - more than double any other property over 3 weeks - plus I had to wait until Hotel staff finished using it as supplement to the main laundry. Consequently declined to use any facility other than room so cannot comment on quality of restaurant which offered breakfast and dinner.
In short this property is adequate for a night, maybe two, but I'd try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugarmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    45
    42
    10
    9
See reviews for
12
73
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
714 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Booked on line via Wotif - stayed two nights 10 & 11 Feb 2011
Very clean, comfortable room - slept well - no room safe - reception assisted when required

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAC6917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

A very unique hotel, well more like a motel as all the rooms are single story cabins made to look like a village street with each room being a different business such as a hairdressers, General store, Post office, Bank etc' . The food in the restaurant is quite good (table d hote) although served as if it was Basil Faulty's hotel. Nothing to complain about & we thought it great fun. Stay there if you are light hearted and not picky. By the way its a great base for a trip to Milford sound & Fiorjdland. The town has an absolutely stunning lake surrounded by mountains and is worth an hour or two's stroll along its shores

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidPMessingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

The only issue I had with the Inn was the lack of internet. Rooms were a great size , every thing worked, attached restaurant was real good , the bar had every thing any one would want. It is close to the CBD if you would want to eat some place else or shop. Te Anau is a good stop over between Queenstown and Dunedin. Nice place give it a try and you will not be disappointed .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kincardinepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We arrived in the pouring rain, but were greeted by a smiling receptionist. What an unusual concept for a Motel. Great we thought. Room was spacious and clean if a little tired. Loction excellent. We picked Te Anua to break our drive to Milford Sound from Queenstown and to visit the glowworm caves. Unfortunately our trip to the caves was cancelled as they were flooded.
Not a lot else going on in Te Anua. Very unusually there was no internet available at this accommodation

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonySouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,021 reviews
413 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

For a first class tour this hotel was the pits! It was certainly the worst hotel we stayed in. I don’t know what they charge and it may be great for the price, but for the kind of expensive tour we were in it was not good. It was clean I have to say. The food was pretty bad also. Out rour company claimed it was the best in town and they stayed here not to have to go back to Queenstown. For the town sake I hope there is a better place.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

Abingdon, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

This is by far the worst stay of our three week trip around NZ. It was clean, central and with plenty of parking directly outside the room. However, it was very dated and the kettle was broken, this being the only appliance we ever seem to use! We also got very bitten by sandflies, but this is a hazard of the location.

When we checked in, we were encouraged to book for the restaurant, but there is no need if you want this. There were many great places in town, only a small walk away.

It is hard to say more: it was ok, and as you will probably be visiting Milford Sound and the glow-worms there was not a lot of time spent in the room. I've seen worse, I've seen better.

  • Liked — Free parking(?)
  • Disliked — It just wasn't great, all round.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manic_curls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
#23 of 23 in Te Anau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 23 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn Hotel

Property: Village Inn Hotel
Address: 9 Mokoroa Street | P.O. Box 195, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern and unique hotel creates a feeling of 'stepping back in time' with its carefully recreated Pioneer Village facades and is within walking distance of the lake shore and town centre. Options include studio rooms, deluxe rooms, family units with kitchens and inter-connecting rooms, a disabled access unit and luxury penthouse honeymoon suite complete with spa bath and stereo system. There is also a laundry room for guest use, restaurant and bar and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Village Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Te Anau
Village Inn Hotel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing