We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly unremarkable”
Review of YHA Te Anau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2009

There's not a great deal to do in Te Anau besides the glow worms and Milford Sound, but both are well worth it and this place is a great launching pad for those activities.

This is a clean, friendly, very quiet hostel. This is no party hot spot, but that suited me fine!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripVisorAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 228 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2009

This hostel is located 2 blocks over from the Intercity Bus stop. Service was fast but quite impersonal. Room was small and quite bare, but there was a heater. Only one shower for females on the entire floor, which is not enough. Convenient laundry.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank endilwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

My husband and I (both over 60) stayed at the YHA in October 08 for 4 days. In that time we drove to Milford Sound and went on a cruise. That day was overcast but it had been raining and the trip was well worthwhile, got lots of pics. Don't forget to do the walk around the boardwalk circuit while you are at Milford Sound, an opportunity for more good pics. Mirror Lakes are well worth a stop on your way back from Milford Sound.On another day we did the little circuit walk at Lake Manapouri, very pretty. Nice leisurely strolls in Lake Te Anau, don't forget to have a look at the bird sanctuary too. The YHA was great, it was clean and well run, the kitchen was good, all facilites like laundry, lines, dryers, internet, TV lounge is separate and location was central . Definitely worth a visit.

1  Thank froghollow20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

One of the best hostels we've stayed at in over 6 months of traveling. We checked into the YHA Te Anau as a stopover before heading in Milford Sound. We only stayed one night, but it really made an impression on us.

The staff were professional and helpful. The rooms we booked didn't have an ensuite (two private doubles) but they were quite large and comfortable and included free linen. As a previous reviewer mentioned there was only one shower per floor which was odd but not a problem for us at all.

The backyard is great... they have a huge patch of grass (where we played croquet, soccer, volleyball, etc). The kitchen is probably the highlight as it's huge and very well stocked. There's a great supermarket in town and we were able to put some pretty good things together. This is always a highlight for us.

Te Anau is a charming little town, with mini golf, and great water front walk and free bird park and all within short distance of Milford Sound. If you're only spending one day in Milford Sound (we spent almost 3) then it would be best to base yourselves out of Te Anau as the Milford Sound lodge isn't nearly as nice as this.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank losttravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

We stayed here the night before walking the Milford track and the night after. We stayed in a cottage out the back with very comfortable beds for 6 girls. What a great set up. Lovely and clean, quiet and included a wee kitchette and table and TV. We did cook one night and used the big kitchen in the main part of the hostel which had everything you could ever want and more - excellent. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Slim pickings in Te Anau led us to a very quiet (except at 1am with four very loud and rude American girls outside our room) YHA which was warm and tiny - although the room was reasonably sized and near the toilet. Not bad and actually the cheapest place we stayed in throughout our entire trip (about £22 a night!). A decent money-saver.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

The YHA in Te Anau is the cream of YHA's. Clean, well-run, incredibly helpful and friendly staff, quiet, great facilities and perfectly located on the doorstep of Milford & Doubtful Sound. I would strongly recommend basing yourself here to explore Milford Sound as there isnt really anything in Milford and Te Anau is only a 2 hour drive away. Bunk beds are queen size which was a huge treat.

If you're a girl or a group of girls travelling then I HIGHLY recommend booking the female ensuite "dorm". The dorm is actually a totally self-contained cottage thats separate from the main building. It comes complete with large fridge/freezer, kettle, microwave, toaster, toastie sandwich maker, tv, DVD player and separate living/sleeping area (although the living area does have one of the bunk beds in it.). The only thing it doesnt have is a cooker. You can rent a DVD in reception and settle down with a bottle of wine in essentially your own little apartment!! Fantastic!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank intrepudtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Te Anau

Address: 29 Mokonui Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: $24 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Te Anau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of the Fiordland National Park, YHA Te Anau is the perfect location to access some of the world famous New Zealand tramps. This Qualmark 4+ star rated hostel will impress you with its homely atmosphere and cosy accommodation just a block from the shores of Lake Te Anau. Our lounge has a fireplace and offers plenty of couch space to sink into with a book or while watching one of our free movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your YHA Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Te Anau Hotel Te Anau
YHA Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing