We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel”
Review of YHA Te Anau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Maffra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great place to base yourself. From here you can do day trips to Doubtful and Milford sound, Plus a lot of great hikes. I stayed in a four bed dorms. its a nice sized room. Walls quite thin but with ear plugs I got a great sleeps. Great kitchen, lounge, drying room and t.v room.

Did have a problem with one of the washing machine. After a couple of days hiking was looking forward to clean clothes. But after a cycle my clothes come out smelling of oil and with oil spots. Showed staff, but they were not too concerned and asked if I had oil in my pocket that I forgot to take out(dont often carry motor oil in my pockets). After washing clothes again in other machine at my own cost, got most of the spots and smell out. Guessing a seal in the machine had leaked.

Would stay there again

Room Tip: I stayed in 4 bed dorm on bottom floor. 2 rooms from t.v room, was ok. Wouldnt be happy sharing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    107
    31
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
75
64
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Perfectly situated, great value, very clean, super helpful, big well equipped kitchen perfect for cooking a massive post tramp/hike feast while sharing your experiences with other intrepid adventurers!

They even went to the trouble of posting my Scarpa hiking boots I left there back to Australia for me which I never dreamt they would have time to do. How generous! I'm so grateful! Thank you thank you thank!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clinton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a share house next to the main hostel. Great value and very clean. We had our own room and just shared the main living area, kitchen and bathroom with another two people. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hildy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in Te Anau as it's the best base to do a day-trip to Milford Sound. I also managed to fit in the glow worm caves close to town on the same day.

This YHA is perfectly situated in a quiet street close to the centre of the village and the lakefront. All of the communal areas and facilities are clean and functional, the staff were friendly and I found the 6-bed dorm to be comfortable and spacious enough for 6.

OK, they do have the dreaded bunk beds but somehow I was able to get a bottom bunk despite being the last to check-in. That said, the bed was comfortable enough for a good night's sleep.

I would happily recommend this hostel as a good option if staying in Te Anau, which is a pretty little village with some good bars & restaurants.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a total of three nights before and after completing the Kepler and Milford Tracks. Although the hostel is in a small town, it's fairly large which allowed people to spread out. The kitchen gets a little hectic around dinner time - but start early (which we learned!) and you'll have the place to yourself!
The staff were all very friendly - even when we called in from the Kepler and came in a day early.
There is a great laundry room and even better - a lot of storage space to leave your stuff while you're out hiking. They provide open storage as well as lockers you can pay to use.
We stayed in two different rooms - #11 and #5, both were super clean and quiet!
Overall, a great hostel and place to relax before and after trekking!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Callie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hostel as it is super clean. The beds feel like king singles. The kitchen is terrific. The deck area is so nice to eat at. We will come back here. Only bad part was a lack of things to do back in town really.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We are a family of 4 so the room in the 'cottage' was very small for us, however, next door we had a separate building with showers, toilets & a kitchen (no stove) & dining table (with little TV) that was for the 4 cottage rooms only. Great facilities in the main house with full kitchen, dining area, lounge and separate TV lounge. Nice outside tables for the short time that the sun showed up.
Only suggestion is that as separate cottage facilities include a limited hot water supply so shower early, or go to the main house.
For the hostel I'd suggest a little shelter between the cottage & facilities as we got soaked every time we stepped out.
Thanks for finding my camera & ringing so promptly so we could still come back & pick it up.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titirangifern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Te Anau

Property: YHA Te Anau
Address: 29 Mokonui Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Te Anau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of the Fiordland National Park, YHA Te Anau is the perfect location to access some of the world famous New Zealand tramps. This Qualmark 4+ star rated hostel will impress you with its homely atmosphere and cosy accommodation just a block from the shores of Lake Te Anau. Our lounge has a fireplace and offers plenty of couch space to sink into with a book or while watching one of our free movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Te Anau Hotel Te Anau
YHA Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing