We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot in Te Anau!”
Review of YHA Te Anau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great spot in Te Anau!”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Although a little pricey (but seems on-par for Te Anau), this hostel has it all. Huge, fully stocked kitchen. Clean facilities. Nice and clean bathrooms / showers (with hot water). Town is wicked small, so walkable to anywhere. Staff is great. Able to leave bags when away for a few days trekking. Internet is through Global Gossip, so ridiculously overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    107
    31
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
75
63
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at the Te Anau Hostel for one night, and was one of the best hostels in the South Island! Loved the huge kitchen, great recycling and plenty of space to cook, store food and swing a cat or two. Large garden to enjoy a wine, bbq or chillax. Comfortable beds and a great stay overall.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whyhellothere2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Very tidy but the rooms are a bit noisy with the slamming of doors. Also our room ( room 9) was below the toilets so knew every time someone flushed the toilet, so not a great sleep.

Have lockers so you can leave gear herd while you do the walks.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GM007_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I have stopped at this yha in a variety of different accommodation (female shre, double and single private) and found this yha was possibly one of the best yha's i have ever stopped in. Share accommodation was better than expected (ended up in a self contained cottage), single private and double were in main house but there was never a noise issue. kitchen and bathrooms were clean as was the whole hostel. Staff were extremely helpful and hostel is in good location. would definitely stop here again.

Room Tip: If in share accommodation try and see if you can book the share accommodation in the separate cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniet_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

It's a homy, clean and luminous place, with an extremely, extremly friendy and helpful staff.
More than recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lagarrapatasimpatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in the deluxe double room with shared bathroom. Room is so small that we could barely walk. And the walls are thin. They were so thin that I could hear someone from the next door hanging their clothes or plugging the plugs.

Kitchen is quite clean. Service is also average. However, location is good.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilngern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Good location in the small town of Te Anau - short walk to shops and to lake. Good place to stay when heading out to Milford sound. Helpfulness of staff seemed to vary depending on who you spoke to but were generally nice. Stayed in double ensuite room. Quite spacious and clean. Good sized kitchen which was clean as well. Free parking.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leolion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.4 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Te Anau

Property: YHA Te Anau
Address: 29 Mokonui Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Te Anau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of the Fiordland National Park, YHA Te Anau is the perfect location to access some of the world famous New Zealand tramps. This Qualmark 4+ star rated hostel will impress you with its homely atmosphere and cosy accommodation just a block from the shores of Lake Te Anau. Our lounge has a fireplace and offers plenty of couch space to sink into with a book or while watching one of our free movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your YHA Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Te Anau Hotel Te Anau
YHA Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing