We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Routeburn Track

Routeburn Track
Book In Advance
More Info
$204.08*
and up
Full-Day Routeburn Track Guided Hike from Queenstown
Ranked #3 of 47 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Great Walks season is October - April (see website for exact dates). Outside this period facilities are greatly reduced and there are additional safety hazards to consider. Always check the website for changes that might affect your trip. See website for the price of accommodation on this track.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

A fantastic and flawless experience. The track and huts were great and Easyhike relocated our car to the end of the track for us making the whole trip entirely hassle free. Great service, we highly recommend!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    48
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Beautiful scenery on Routeburn Track and easy to arrange with Easyhike”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The 4 of us originally set out to walk the Routeburn Track, and it was awesome, great hut facilities and beautiful scenery! We arranged a car transfer between the Divide and the Routeburn Shelter which all went to plan, and also was even easier when one of our team had to return home and got a ride with easy hike back to the airport!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lou141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikato
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Buckleys Transport”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Loved the Routeburn Track!! (My review is more about the Transport to and from it. ) I would recommend staying the night in Queenstown or Te Anau before hitting the track. We had a long day, driving 1 and 1/2 hours Auckland Airport, flying out at 7am, being picked up by wonderful Mr. Buckley from the Queenstown Airport and then taken to the Divide to start the Track!! Yip, and then walked to Lake McKenzie Hut, BIG DAY! But, the transport made it all worth it, with Mr Buckley stopping for us to see and take pics of The Kingston Flyer going along the tracks, stopping at a lovely Café for lunch, and the best part, Mr Buckleys homemade Russian Fudge with Ginger pieces in it!! We wish we had taken more for the whole trek! We were picked up at the end and we had a lovely stop at the Glenorchy Pub where he even brought us some hot chips, Mr Buckley stopped along the journey back into Queenstown for us to take a photo of Lake Whakatipu. If you are looking for a great personal relaxed transport experience, the Buckleys are the one!! And nothing is too much trouble.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank luv2travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great IF the Weather Cooperates”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This trek can have great views and the huts are very well built compared to other ones I have done in foreign countries. However, you take a very high risk if you commit to this trek as the weather is very unpredictable. We met another couple who had done this walk on three separate occasions and had poor weather on every visit. My wife and I were EXTREMELY fortunate in that we had 3 days of clear weather. The views for the side trips of Conical Hill and Key Summit are absolutely breathe-taking on a clear day and well worth the time to do. You can do this entire trek in a single day if you start early and can trek quickly, but it's probably more preferable to do it in 2-3 days. I would recommend staying at Routeburn Falls Hut if you do it in 2 or more days or more and are NOT bringing a tent. The reasoning being that is the most scenic part in my humble opinion.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekker R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic walk, lots of variety”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was an excellent walk. We were warned that you have to expect at least one day of bad weather, but the rain never lasted for long and the clouds only added to the spectacular views of and from the mountain summit (at conical hill). The scenery was really varied, and each day was totally different to the one before. I would highly recommend this walk to anyone of average fitness (though there are some very steep up/downhill climbs toward the Lake Mackenzie hut that it's worth being aware of).

We also used Easyhike, who transferred our campervan from one end of the track to the other. Considering the bus costs about 90 dollars per person, it's definitely worth using them if you're walking in a group. They were very helpful and friendly, their system was straightforward and everything went off without a hitch. We arrived at the other end to find our campervan ready to go and with enough petrol to get us back to Te Anau. Again, I'd recommend using this service because the walk is one way only and it's great being able to just leave your car at the start and find it again at the end.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daveharto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Routeburn Track also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Routeburn Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing